We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel with signs of wear, pricey but reliable amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver BC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Older hotel with signs of wear, pricey but reliable amenities”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

While at a conference stayed at the Chateau. It's showing signs of age and in Whistler customer service is always a challenge. The day I arrived there were three trainees at the desk with one trainer so check in was slow. My room card needed re-magnetizing twice. Parking was $35 per night. However, wifi was reliable, (free with presidents club membership) bed comfortable and the food, while pricey, was on time and freshly prepared. Good for conference and event travellers and near the foot of Blackcomb it's not bad for skiers during the Spring season.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Girly-Avanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay here at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler for your recent conference.
We very much appreciate your patience with the training of our new colleagues and apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused during your check in process.
We are pleased to see your comments on the food during your stay, we pride ourselves in preparing our menu with fresh, local ingredients, we will be sure to pass along your comments to our food and beverage team.
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,224
    705
    251
    89
    52
See reviews for
1,008
1,155
82
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We treated ourselves for our honeymoon and we're not disappointed! Great location ski in ski out and great staff in the ski shop below. All the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The pools and hot tubs are great both inside and out. The gym is small but who needs that when your on your hols!

Will deffo visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWR-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Congratulations on your recent wedding! Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal stay! Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Bc
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Typical upscale Fairmont hotel. (I was there for a conference) Big rooms, everything you'd expect on site. Excellent pool & hot tubs. Parking is very expensive. I parked in the free public lot; just a 10 min. walk. Restaurants and bars also expensive (as expected); we ate nearby. Location is much quieter than the main village, but not as convenient either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated Health Club while staying with us during your conference. Its new amenities makes it a hot spot for our guests so we are happy to hear that you had some time to relax!
In regards to dining on property, we would like to recommend you and your family take the time to visit our Portobello Bakery and Fresh Deli on your next visit. It is a great alternative to our fine dining restaurants and offers a hip, casual setting serves up a fresh & fabulous menu selection - Deli-style.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recently stayed at the Fairmont Chateau, firstly what a terrific location with a ski lift within a two minute walk and lots of snow outside the hotel. The Hotel amenities are first class, service very good and they even had an ouside heated swimming pool. Room was perferc, snow covered mountains viewed from the room, twin Queen size beds which were a deam to sleep in, in effect , the room had everything on could want including Starbucks coffee in the percolator. I've stayed in quite a few hotels and this one takes some beating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service and location during your stay. Hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Fairmont Chateau Whistler staff are ready to make your stay a stress free holiday. The hotel is fabulous, the rooms comfortable and the views out of this world. Business or pleasure, you can't beat the Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rotarycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
It is an absolute pleasure to hear your business visit was a great one. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our Team to inform them their efforts are recognized and appreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to share you review. Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My nineteen year old daughter and I recently enjoyed a three night stay at Fairmont Whistler. The food, facilities, and the excellent staff were all top notch. The entire stay was a real treat for both of us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on your most recent stay with your daughter. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and service during your stay.
We hope you return in the near future.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Welcome home!
This was the note that was left for our family in our room upon arriving at the Chateau Whistler.
We live in Vancouver and make whistler a family destination a few times a year. The absolute best place to stay is the Chateau Whistler and the treatment from the staff is second to none.
From the moment you arrive at the Chateau your greeting with a friendly smile from the valet attendants who are quick to help with your luggage.
The front desk attendants are very welcoming as we'll and if you are fortunate enough to meet the front desk manager Stuart Diminie your stay will be that much more special. We were fortunate to have the pleasure of dealing with Stuart years ago and he has been making our trips to whistler special ever since. Stuart goes out of his way to make sure every aspect of your stay is perfect.
Peter and Leigh in the Wild Flower restaurant always made our visits enjoyable, in fact all the staff always have time to share a warm smile and a welcome back Maxwells!
The grounds are beautiful at the Chateau and they have a large pool that is indoor/outdoor as well as four hot tubs, steam room and sauna. There is also a large fitness club with attire as well.
Easter is a favourite time for us to visit the Chateau as they put on a beautiful Easter presentation for everyone especially the kids..
Upon arriving at the Chateau for our recent visit this April we took our private elevator to our room. Upon opening the door we found inside our room robes for the kids accompanied by a card and chocolate eggs for the kids. This was all done by Stuart " Welcome Home" read the note! Our kids each had their own personal note from Stuart as well . Shortly after a knock at the door and there was a welcoming fruit tray brought to our room. This is the special personal service we get at the Chateau!
The hotel has Easter egg hunts for the kids, tours of the hotel and a banquet room full of arts and crafts, egg making , hat making and a bouncy castle and to top it off the Easter Bunny himself knocking at our door Easter morning accompanied by non other than Stuart Diminie himself!
The Chateau Whistler along with Stuart Diminie and the warm friendly staff is a big part of our annual trip to whistler as a family and we would highly recommend having you and your family experience this truly unforgettable experience!
Thank you Stuart and all the friendly staff for making us feel like we've just come home every time!

The Maxwell Family

Room Tip: Slope side deluxe room over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,
WOW - thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay at our property! It sounds like you and your family had another great time at The Chateau and the fact that you feel at home while you're here makes us feel like we've done our jobs!

Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Stuart as well as Peter, Leigh and our grounds Team to inform them their efforts are recognized. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the hotel for many more years to come.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing