We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
442 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“so beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

outstanding in every way. The locale on the slopes. the design, atmosphere, food, hot tubs outdoors facing the slopes..enough said. In the beautiful ski village of Whistler. The skiing at Whistler is one of the best in the world. It is beautiful in the summer as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review on your most recent stay with us! We truly value your feedback, it is great to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities.
We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,096
    667
    243
    87
    49
See reviews for
947
1,090
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

nice atmosphere in the lobby lounge and bar. Very good fitness and pool facilities. Beds nice and comfortable, great pillows and nice down comforter (if you ask for one). Rooms uncomfortable to stay in as very cold, and heating/cooling system is antiquated: it is so loud and blows warm air only if turned up to maximum, in which case it is unpleasant to stay in the room because of the noise. Bathroom not cleaned properly: when first checked in, had to call the cleaners as urine stains visible around toilet bowl. Maid service completely missed one day (of 4 days over Easter), probably because our room was occupied in the morning during their first round, and hey just never came back to take the garbage out or change towels. I ended up helping myself from one of the maid's carts in the corridor, and I left the trash bin outside the door. On the check out day, waited over 20 min for a bell boy to come with the luggage cart. As they never showed up, we carried our luggage on our own.
Location of the hotel is great if you ski, so I guess that still leaves it acceptable to stay at, but never to pay the rack rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ves01042000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Please accept our sincere apologies and regret in failing to meet your expectations regarding your visit. We were concerned to learn that your heating/cooling system wasn't working correctly and that you found it to be overly noisy. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding the cleanliness of your guest room. I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future.

As a local to Vancouver, we do hope that you are able to visit Whistler again in the near future so that we can restore your faith in our brand and have the opportunity to demonstrate the true, high level of service we are known for. Please email me directly should you wish to speak further. cwrfoleaders@fairmont.com

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week with a friend for a skiing holiday. We were thrilled when we got such a great rate on a highly rated hotel through our British airways booking.
We arrived early evening and were initially put in a double room, despite the original request for a twin.
We were taken to the room, and just as we started settling in we were moved to a twin queen room.
This was just perfect for us, with two huge beds and a view straight on to the slopes and the lift.

The room was nice, with a decent sized bathroom, lovely complimentary toiletries and the great view. The only downside was the heating/air con in the room. Heating was via recirculated air, as was the air con, which gave us both sore throats and raspy coughs. Tho, we are aware that is just the nature of this type of heating system, we just dosed up and carried on.

The ski service here was fantastic. Wv pre booked our ski hire and passes and were thrilled that all this was downstairs in the hotel. We were able to go down In our ski gear, pick up our boots from the valet, then get our skis from another valet, and walk out the doors, straight onto the piste and right next to a lift. Amazing! This close proximity made it very simple for us to return for lunch, or a short drinks break and get straight back out on to the slopes in the afternoon. We will only look for ski on/ ski off hotels after this experience as it was superb!

The bar and restaurants in the hotel were also really good.
We treated ourself one night to the grill house. It was quite expensive but was well worth it. The steak was fantastic and according to my wine officianado friend so was the wine recommended to her. Service here was also great.

We ate breakfast in the adjacent restaurant a few times,but found the buffet robe a little expensive considering we only wanted a European sized breakfast and not the humongous 'all you can eat' extravaganza. The a la carte options were nice and a lot more reasonable.

We ate at the mallard for lunch a few times, and also had drinks here. Again, it was quite expensive but we had very good service and the food was pleasant, with the added convenience of being in our hotel.

The best place to eat in the hotel was near the ski shop downstairs, and served make your own sandwiches. This was fab and very reasonably priced for a monstrous sandwich that would fill any hungry tummy.

We also used the spa on the last day and I must say, I had one of the best massages ever from Sarah. If you go definately ask for her! She found knots I never knew I had.

Overall, we would definately return to this hotel as apart rom it being a little on the expensive side, we would only be in whistler to have an extravagant holiday so you really must just treat yourself, and her you can do it well!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RhianyddS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit as well as all the amenities our hotel has to offer. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments to both our Ski Valet as well as our food and beverage team. The sandwiches at Portobello are exceptional, truly a hidden gem in Whistler and a hit with all of our guests and Whistler locals!

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

While at a conference stayed at the Chateau. It's showing signs of age and in Whistler customer service is always a challenge. The day I arrived there were three trainees at the desk with one trainer so check in was slow. My room card needed re-magnetizing twice. Parking was $35 per night. However, wifi was reliable, (free with presidents club membership) bed comfortable and the food, while pricey, was on time and freshly prepared. Good for conference and event travellers and near the foot of Blackcomb it's not bad for skiers during the Spring season.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Girly-Avanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay here at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler for your recent conference.
We very much appreciate your patience with the training of our new colleagues and apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused during your check in process.
We are pleased to see your comments on the food during your stay, we pride ourselves in preparing our menu with fresh, local ingredients, we will be sure to pass along your comments to our food and beverage team.
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We treated ourselves for our honeymoon and we're not disappointed! Great location ski in ski out and great staff in the ski shop below. All the staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The pools and hot tubs are great both inside and out. The gym is small but who needs that when your on your hols!

Will deffo visit again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWR-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Congratulations on your recent wedding! Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal stay! Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Bc
Level Contributor
188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Typical upscale Fairmont hotel. (I was there for a conference) Big rooms, everything you'd expect on site. Excellent pool & hot tubs. Parking is very expensive. I parked in the free public lot; just a 10 min. walk. Restaurants and bars also expensive (as expected); we ate nearby. Location is much quieter than the main village, but not as convenient either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated Health Club while staying with us during your conference. Its new amenities makes it a hot spot for our guests so we are happy to hear that you had some time to relax!
In regards to dining on property, we would like to recommend you and your family take the time to visit our Portobello Bakery and Fresh Deli on your next visit. It is a great alternative to our fine dining restaurants and offers a hip, casual setting serves up a fresh & fabulous menu selection - Deli-style.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recently stayed at the Fairmont Chateau, firstly what a terrific location with a ski lift within a two minute walk and lots of snow outside the hotel. The Hotel amenities are first class, service very good and they even had an ouside heated swimming pool. Room was perferc, snow covered mountains viewed from the room, twin Queen size beds which were a deam to sleep in, in effect , the room had everything on could want including Starbucks coffee in the percolator. I've stayed in quite a few hotels and this one takes some beating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service and location during your stay. Hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing