We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turning negative into positive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I accidently booked my Partner for the wrong night for a conference in the Winter and when realizing what I had done - was unable to change the night, so had to book at another property for the event. The room I had booked was a non-refundable on-line special - but the Fairmont was good enough to allow me to have a credit on his account and to use it for a future event - which I now am doing (shoulder season is cheaper - so I still have a credit for him to use up). I have also stayed at this property for a business event and other Fairmont properties around Vancouver and Calgary. You always get a certain level of service at all their properties - never disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent experience at The Fairmont Chateau Whistler. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make alternative arrangements for your partner and that you were still able to use your credit towards a getaway. Thank you for being such a loyal Fairmont guest, we value you!

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Our every need was met by the very attentive staff. We enjoyed the casual dining options available on the property. It was our first visit to Whistler and the staff made sure it was a great one. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tupelohoney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Rocky Mountaineer rail journey. This is yet another high class Fairmont Hotel, with all the usual facilities you'd expect for a 5 star hotel (with price tag to match). Room was great, very modern and comfortable. All the other facilities were just as good. The proximity to everything Whistler / Blackcomb has to offer was excellent including ski lifts for those who like to ski or mountain bike. The little restaurant attached to the bottom of the hotel complex was great for breakfast. Our tip is to sit by the open fire in the lobby for a drink or snack - worth the money and a nice way to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for providing feedback on your most recent stay with us. We are happy to see that you found our location convenient to everything like skiing and mountain biking. Portobello Market & Fresh Bakery is a favourite among our guests and locals alike, it does have the best breakfast!
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience, especially Afternoon Tea! Our Tea menu is new this year so it is great to hear that you enjoyed it! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our food and beverage team.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place will nickle and dime you for every thing $15 a day for wifi ?

Restaurant is way too expensive, parking cost $35 a night, house coats are extra.

You can do better and fund more value some where else.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeWCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay.

Please know that our loyalty program, the Fairmont President's Club is a great opportunity for our staff to get to know you. This program has benefits such as complimentary high speed internet service, priority check in/out and upgraded amenities.

I truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Whistler fairmont is outstanding!
Centrally located and beautiful views, within walking distance of everything

June was perfect summer weather and the crowds have not arrived. Enjoyed so much. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Btaylor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent visit. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed our location, close enough to the main village for shopping and far enough away to feel like a retreat!
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Just loved the Chateau at Whistler, everything about it was positive from the magic staff to the unbelievable view from our bedroom window, grounds OMG I could waffle on forever but in a nutshell you will never be disappointed with this Hotel..But wait, I didn't tell you about the amazing breakfast, so many choices & cooked to your liking, by far the best of our whole Scenic Tour of the Rockies.

Room Tip: Windows are all triple or quadrupled paned so there is no external noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay! We will be sure to pass your comments along to Christopher and our Wildflower Team to ensure that they know you loved our breakfast offerings! We think our buffet is beyond compare, with so many delicious items, it's the perfect way to start your day in Whistler.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

There is gold in them thar mountains. Fairmont Gold! Booked a regular room and on check in it was suggested that we might enjoy upgrading to Fairmont Gold. Celebrating a thirty third wedding anniversary warranted an upgrade! Sure there is a price to pay, however from the moment we stepped foot from the elevator on the eighth floor and walked through the double doors into Fairmont Gold we knew there would be no going back.

Daniel and his staff were on hand at all times to ensure we had all we needed to make our stay memorable. From the eighth floor up there isn't a bad room in the house. That's not to say there are bad rooms below the eighth floor. I highly doubt it. Ours was complete with a great North mountain view. Amenities were not spared.
Fairmont Gold ensures you the best of the best. From the in room safe to gas fireplace, a selection of in room magazines and a very large bathroom with separate tub and shower and double sinks, there was no way one could be uncomfortable.

Ah but the best was yet to come. ..... We were advised on arrival as we walked through to the 'gold wing', to get settled into our room and then come to the lounge where we would be treated to a tour and explanation of all that is well and good.

We did. It was! From a full hot breakfast fit for royalty from 7-10:30 am there was no way one couldn't find something to start their day off wonderfully. A selection of water, soft drinks, tea or coffee or specialty coffee was always fresh on hand through until 10:30 pm every evening.
5:00 -7:00 pm found us back in the lounge to enjoy h'orderves and if one so desired an honour bar stocked with only the finest wine and spirits. Jesse made us feel very comfortable and did an excellent job of ensuring we wanted for nothing.

As a presidents club member (just sign up) it will only get you great specials and an occasional email with excellent offers world wide, we had access to complimentary BMW bicycle rental and took full advantage of the offer. Jay in the rental shop made sure our equipment was exactly what we needed and that all worked well. Great guy!

Did I mention Fairmont Fridays? A bit anticlimactic after an evening in the Fairmont Gold lounge however should you choose not to upgrade, know that in the main lobby lounge and patio 5:00-7:00 pm will get you free appetizers and $5.00 wine, beer or a select cocktail. Seems they come from far and wide so be sure to arrive early. Excellent live entertainment tops it off.

Dinner reservations and anything else you need can be arranged through Daniel and his staff on the eighth floor. One's own private concierge. A real delight.

A good nights sleep was not overlooked. The king bed was incredibly comfortable and the linens all first rate. Noise in the hall? None.

I am unable to comment on the in house restaurant as we chose to dine out.

Booked a massage at the spa. It was Ok. The only aspect of the stay that, although the actual massage was fine, where I expected a level of decor and ambiance equal to that we found in Fairmont Gold but found it just good. Don't get me wrong however. You will not leave disappointed.
Check out was the only disappointment. Disappointing in that we didn't want to leave! Again Daniel and his staff made the process easy and seamless.

Parking in Whistler is at a premium at the best of times. I suppose this is why one is faced with a premium fee for daily parking at the Fairmont. $35 for self park seems somewhat over the top however. Ask a local where to park. You will save nearly enough for the upgrade. Thanks for the very enjoyable weekend. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal day.

Our Fairmont Gold is in the top 5 of our international company and truly is the ultimate in luxury Whistler hotel accommodations.

Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. Thank you for your kind words about Daniel and our Fairmont Gold team, we will be sure to pass along your review to them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Sincerely,
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
2,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £184 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing