We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more for a fairmont” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected more for a fairmont”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Rooms are not up to standard..The west in in whistler is much more for your dollar.. poolside service ..no..customer service..average..When booking at a fairmont or four seasons,you expect the best..However, I have to say that the Westin here in Whistler far exceeded my expectations in terms of over all value ..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dawn R,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. As a landmark property within the resort, we strive to preserve the classic alpine setting of the hotel along with continuous upgrades and enhancements. Since 2010 we have renovated our guestroom corridors and Health Club as well as 100 guestrooms. We are aware that certain room categories require renovations and are thus targeting a selection of rooms and suites each year.
We do hope that you are able to visit Whistler again in the near future so that we can restore your faith in our brand and have the opportunity to demonstrate the true, high level of service we are known for.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,096
    667
    243
    87
    49
See reviews for
947
1,090
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Amazing hotel in the upper village. Visited again this year for our anniversary and Fairmont Chateau Whistler was once again exceptional. Jr suite on the Gold floor was large and the Gold Team are fantastic. Welcome back and anniversary acknowledgement notes in room from both the hotel and the Gold floor team. Dinner in the Grill Room was amazing. Great service, great food, great dining experience. Will be back next year and again, we will be back at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Lynne R,
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal day - Happy Anniversary! Our Fairmont Gold is in the top 5 of our international company and truly is the ultimate in luxury Whistler hotel accommodations. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our Grill Room team!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler the last 5 days. It was absolutely fantastic! The SERVICE was WONDERFUL from check-in to check-out. We stayed on the Gold Floor (8th) which entitles you to a breakfast and snacks and really superb service. The food is excellent, the location couldn't be better. It is just minutes from Whistler Village, chairlifts, and fantastic restaurants. It is truly a wonderful place and I really hope to go back.

Room Tip: Gold Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Marcie L,
Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler as your destination to celebrate such a lovely and personal day. Our Fairmont Gold is in the top 5 of our international company and truly is the ultimate in luxury Whistler hotel accommodations. Fairmont staff strives to turn moments into memories for our guests and hearing you have fond memories of our resort is rewarding and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the CWR and played the Chateau Whistler Golf Club. The whole experience was fantastic. The resort was awesome, the room was perfect. It was a birthday weekend for my wife and the staff went above beyond our expectations to make her feel special. The golf course was also a fantastic experience. The staff was there for anything you needed and the condition of the course was immaculate. There was nothing about our stay that was negative. We were close to all restaurants and shops and you are just a 10-15 minute walk from anywhere. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to experience first class accommodations and service. Totally beyond our expectations!!! Don't pass on staying at the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Rob S,
Thank you for sharing your Whistler experience. I am very pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. You visited the resort at the perfect time; Whistler's record breaking July was full of sun and not one drop of rain. This surely helped our golf course, it truly hasn't looked better either, what a beautiful time to tee off at our course. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Chateau Whistler; we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel soon.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My friends and I stayed at the hotel only one night with all our requests for side by side rooms with Juliet balcony met without difficulty. The rooms were large and clean as anyone should hope and expect.
Our two days of golfing at the Chateau Whistler Golf Course was a fantastic experience of great course conditions, weather more than cooperative but no wild life sights. Boo! Hoo!

Unfortunately upon departure a personal item of mine was left behind but thankfully when I called the pro shop it had already been set aside. As a resident of Vancouver, the staff member offered to bring this item down to the city when she was coming down in two days. I was overwhelmed by the immediacy of her offer and thanked her very much for the thoughtfulness.

All staff members were courteous and went out of their way to have our experience at both the hotel and the golf course be as pleasant and fulfilling as possible.

Room Tip: This is an excellent hotel so I feel all rooms are clean and with lovely decor. Staff were excellen...
See more room tips
Green Features: This is a non smoking hotel, but two of my friends unfortunately have the habit. The hotel profits a very pleasant out side for smokers.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Bruce J,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

All of the wonderful weather we have been having in Whistler has been great for our Golf Course. Too bad that you didn't get to see any of our resident bears, but that means you'll have to come back soon to see them!

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a work conference. The scenery around the hotel is beautiful and there is tons to do. The hotel itself is pretty nice too, but when I got here it kind of smelled funny in the hallways. I think I just got used to it. The rooms are nice and spacious but not well lit. The pool and gym were nice and the service was very good. Overall for the money, I'd expect better, but still a very nice stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank fsb1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear fsb1904,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. As a landmark property within the resort, we strive to preserve the classic alpine setting of the hotel along with continuous upgrades and enhancements.
We do hope that we can welcome you and your friends back to the hotel in the future and demonstrate the high level of service that we are known for.
Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had an amazing few days at the Chateau Whistler. The staff are so friendly, and really took care of us. the hotel is amazing...great pool area. Park the car and walk everywhere...Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChateauWhistler, Front Office Manager at Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Carol R,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service during your stay. We pride ourselves in providing warm, professional and engaging service to all our guests!

Christopher Smart
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing