We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too traditional or or just too old..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Service was great. Courteous and super friendly staff. They respond to any requests in a matter of minutes.

Decor- I know Fairmont hotels go for the "traditional look" but I found everything was just too old. Furniture and carpet looked worn out. The wallpaper needs to be updated. Coffee maker looked like it was one of the first invented.
Our fridge was not working so I requested it to be replaced (so we can store water and drinks), they happily brought in a new fridge and put it on top of the table. Then it turned out it was also broken, so we had 2 broken fridges in the room until I called again to get it replaced.
No wireless web but cable internet for $15/day. I suggest you sign up and become a member of their "President's Club" to get free internet. It's free to sign up anyway.
Location is 10mins walk from the village or take their shuttle. It's not convenient for bar and restaurant goers. But great for Blackcomb skiers because it is just right behind the hotel.

I think this hotel is overpriced for what it's worth. I know the hotel is going for the traditional look and service. But I think you can get the same type of service, but with modern style, wireless web at other 5 star hotels. ie. Westin Hotel. Great service and nicer rooms. It is located at the village for the bar and restaurant goers and close to Whistler mountain for skiers. Or take the gondola from here to go to Blackcomb.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gjpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,276 - 3,282 of 3,617 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2009

We have just returned from my son's wedding in the Fairmont chateau in Whistler, where we stayed for a week. We have stayed in many hotels around the world,& I have to say, this is the best one, so far. The hotel itself, is magnificent, & the staff are second to none.They treat you so well, & are prepared to go to any lengths to ensure your stay is perfect. We did 3 excursions while there - the ski limo, which was brilliant, & the dog sled one, which wasn't. If you have a vision of racing across the snow in your sled, pulled by a team of powerful, willing huskies, forget it. When we arrived at the site ( a half hour drive from the hotel, ) the dogs were half husky, half greyhound. They were small, & looked rather under nourished. We didn't think they looked up to the task of pulling our sled with 3 people on it, & indeed, proved to be the case. We hardly ever exceeded walking pace, & the driver had to get off & push more than once, to help the poor dogs. We left feeling sorry for them, because as a dog owner myself, I could tell those dogs were not happy animals. We also went on the horse sleigh/ fon du excursion, which was also disappointing. The sleigh ride consists of going round a track, again, at walking pace, while being " entertained " by a cowboy woth " amusing " anecdotes, & poems. While I'm sure he means well, it'll probably be the most boring 45 minutes of your stay. As for the fon du meal at the end of it,in the Fairmont chalet - we simply couldn't eat it. Raw fish & meat on the same plate put us off for a start. We did try to cook it in the pots provided, but none of us ( & there were 6 of us ) could eat it. However, when we returned to the hotel, & complained, we were given a full refund of the price of the meal. ( in excess of 250 dollars. ) So, in summing up, the hotel is fantastic, as are the staff, but I must give a special mention to Heather on reception. She is such a lovely person, & was so nice, & so helpful to me, that I didn't mind paying the exorbitant car parking charge! ( I know she will laugh if she reads this ! )

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank forfarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

For my boyfriend's birthday we decided to travel to Whistler for 2 nights and really treat ourselves. 3 days prior to our check-in we were contacted by email from the President's Club Staff wanting to verify our check-in details, bedding requests and to see when to expect us. What a nice touch! When we checked in our room keys and everything was ready and it was 12pm - 4 hours prior to the regular check-in time!

Our room was spectacular - we didn't have much of a view but hadn't paid for one either. We spent most of our time trying out all 4 of their Hot Tubs.

On our last day we treated ourselves to lunch at the Mallard Bar. We had a couple of cocktails, appys and lunch and it came out to about $110 but honestly we don't do it too often and it was well worth it. The staff are always exceptional!

Here's a hint to travelers. If you're ever going to stay at a Fairmont make sure you register for their President's Club (it's free to join). Reasons why:

#1 - You get free internet for your stay (sometimes $15/day)
#2 - If you stay often enough you qualify for free room upgrades etc.
#3 - it's just more convienent then having to register your Credit Card each time, they save your preferences and details. Saves some effort when booking online.

Good luck and happy travels!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler from Saturday Oct 11th, 2008 til Monday Oct 13th, 2008. Staying on the gold floor have it's rewards, the service was excellent. I was especially impressed that the staff goes beyond when it comes to providing service for their guests. It's nice to hop on their shuttle bus that takes us from the Fairmont to the village, therefore eliminate the hassle of driving ourselves back and forth.

We asked the gold reception to make reservation for us at The Keg and did a great job. When we got there we didn't have to wait and our table had a high chair and a booster seat for our kids, so that's a plus for paying attention to detail.

The room was tidy and nice looking, the only thing i wasn't impressed with was the dirty debris surrounding the jetted tub. When my kids wanted the jets on, i noticed that alot of residue from previous baths or what have you have floated to the top of the tub. I wouldn't let my kids soak in any hotel tubs again and i would have them rinse in the shower next time.

The lounge on the 8th floor from 5pm-7pm everyday they have snacks for their gold guests. They also have breakfast in the morning from 7am-11am, if you go early you'll see all the choices.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwong2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We elected to stay on the Gold floor with the concierge services and club lounge amenities. We were not disappointed.

When we arrived we asked the bell man where to check in for the gold floor, he directed us and then called the concierge to inform them of our arrival. We were warmly greeted by staff members who we either talked to or just simply passed in the hotel. Very well trained professional staff.

The concierge quickly checked us in showed us the club lounge and showed us our room. Our gold level room had a large washroom with 2 sinks, a jetted bathtub with a separate shower area. 2 terry robes and terry slippers. Also in our room, 2 umbrellas, safe, cozy interior design (really felt like our home) gas fireplace, 2 doors that you could open completely to a mini balcony for some fresh air.
The beds, sheets and duvet were supreme. The room was spotless (and we are picky). A personal welcome note, chocolates and bottled water were on our desk.

The gold floor with it's club lounge was a bit different than most with a cook awaiting to take our omelette order in the morning, a roaring fireplace, plenty of nooks to sink into while reading and some of the better afternoon canapes offered from 5-7. Highly suggest to wait until 6pm as most families and children will arrive at 5pm and leave by 6pm giving a bit more peaceful place to eat and have a drink at the honour bar. The club lounge was large enough to have several servers during the breakfast and evening hours to bring you more items or take away your dishes in a quiet professional manner.

The health club and in/out pool are wonderful to enjoy with whirlpools and saunas at the side. They even offer clothes and ipods for your use while in the health club.

We played checkers/chess and ate some amazing dim sum in their Mallard lounge while listening to a blues musician. It was a relaxing way to end our day.

The only complaint was the room service and their lack of attention to our order request.

If you choose to stay at the Whistler Fairmont and you can get a deal for the gold floor-get it. It's worth the splurge value.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Good location. Nice hotel. Good dining but expensive. Lovely lounge but quite pricey. Ridiculous to pay $25 a night for parking and then another $15 a day for wireless internet.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunwalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I phoned the hotel the morning we arrived and received the BC residents special - $150 per night. The room was beautiful and the king bed was super comfy. We stayed on the 8th floor and enjoyed mountain views out the front. The windows open, but one was broken. Whistler Village was below, but is mostly hidden by trees. The valet would not let us park, even for a minute to check in, without handing over our keys. The phone was broken and our fridge did not work, but we didn't really need either. Someone came and looked at the fridge and claimed that it really was only a cooler and wasn't supposed to be cold like a fridge. Well, what good is a room temp. cooler? I gave up and let it be. The best part of the hotel is the outdoor/indoor pool - you can swim in and out, and indoor or outdoor hottubs. We had the whole place to ourselves at 9 at night! The view was lovely. There's your choice of a steam sauna- I think it was eucalyptus steam, or a dry sauna. Very nice. I still can't believe they were all empty.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MomVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £229 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing