We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, decent enough hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South West France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great location, decent enough hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

I liked the Fairmont Chateau. The rooms weren't the best I've ever stayed in, the food isn't the best I've ever eaten but neither of them gave me cause to complain or detracted from the fact this is a well-located hotel with excellent facilities and staff with a great service attitude particularly for the price. No ski-ing for me, this was all business, but in the spare time I had it was easy to relax here and sitting by the outside fireplace at night with a brandy was a real pleasure. I'd choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,096
    667
    243
    87
    49
See reviews for
947
1,090
78
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

This is the second year running that we have chosen the chateau as our hotel accomodation when skiing in Whistler. The Hotel is located in possibly the best place for in/out skiing. At the end of a day as you come down the mountain they even have ski consierge who will take your skis and poles from you whilst you take a much needd drink at any of the local bars/restaurants. The Hotel is not on whistler mountain but Blackcomb otherwise known as the upper village... a little bit more grown up than Whislter village. Now back to the hotel. The srevice is first class all the way. They really cannot do enough for you. The outside hot tubes of which there are 3 are fantastic they even opened them early for us Brits who were jet lagged on the first few mornings... 5:00am. Great for our little girl who was desperate to get in one of the swimming pools. They provide complimentary coffees and teas from 5:00am onwards which was great to take out to the pools early in the morning. Our hotel room was a deluxe slopeside and although the rooms are pretty simple in terms of ameneties and layout, the view was spectacular. Although I am sure all the rooms have a good view even if they do not face the mountain. On the down side.... there has to be something. Breakfast although fantastic in ever possible conceviable way... the cost was extreme to say the least. You cannot book in for bed and breakfast and there have to pay on top of your hotel room cost which is already a pretty hefty price. At the end of the week we had added an extra $400. to our bill just for breakfast... shame on them! Oh and one other thing they need to work on the locker facilites. A hotel this size and then the mad dash for boots and skis in the morning with everyone else hats coats boots skis etc... a bit of a bun fight. The cope really well and always with a smile. Are we going back... you bet!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

My wife and I went to the Chateau for our honeymoon hoping that we would have the trip of a lifetime and we were not dissaponted. Everything about the hotel is 10/10, the staff are the friendliest we have ever experienced and were only equalled by the staff at the Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver. The location was great with whistler village only a 10 minute walk away from Blackcomb, great after a night out to let your food and Kokanee beer go down (local beer that we both loved), its a really nice footpath as well, crossing over the river.

The service really was second to none, everyday we would go down the adventure centre to collect our skis and boots and at the end of the day the valet was there to take them back to the hotel for us. The adventure centre was really helpful in organising other activities as well for us e.g. dog sledding (which we would definitely recommend). The concierge couldn't do enough for us and the food was excellent. This hotel isnt cheap and there are a few hidden extras that can add up, but you definitely get what you pay for and more.

In fact we were so impressed with the Fairmont hotels that we have signed up to the Presidents club as we can not wait to go to another of their excellent hotels. Also, having spoken to many locals in Whistler, they all thought that the Chateau was the best of the best.

Dont consider anywhere else - book this hotel!! The spa and pool area alone is worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eurotripnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

I stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler from April 15-19, 2009 while travelling on business. I was lucky enough to get a great rate ($99/night) through the Chateau's 20th anniversary promotion. Upon arrival, we were promptly greeted by a valet before we even walked up the front stairs! He relieved us of a heavy ski bag and promised to get its remaining contents back to us promptly (which he did).

Check in was somewhat slow but once it was our turn, the front desk attendant was pleasant and efficient; he even upgraded us, giving us Room 458 which featured a king bed, a small "balcony," a spacious bathroom with separate tub and shower and plenty of closet space. The friendly and efficient tone lasted throughout our visit, making this a very enjoyable trip that lived up to Fairmont's well-deserved reputation for excellence.

The Chateau is located in the Upper Village, which someone described as the "suburbs" of Whistler. But I was glad to be out of the fray, as I'd feared when I booked that the hotel might be noisy, given that my trip coincided with the Telus Ski and Snowboard Festival. It's just a short 10 minute walk the Village, at most.

If you do plan to stay, you should know that parking is expensive ($27 self-parking or $32 valet). Wireless Internet is not free. But housekeeping will deliver and pick-up a "cot" (which looks more like a single bed) at no charge. Also, if you're there in the near future, the Wildflower Dining Room is running a $10 early dinner special, with a different dish each night of the week (including selections like prime rib and salmon); be sure to make dinner reservations to avoid disappointment.

Overall, the Chateau represents excellent value for travellers on all sorts of budgets. I would definitely stay again, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Go2Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed for three nights last weekend, one adult and two teens in a double room. For the rate we paid (we booked a non-refundable rate from their website) I felt we got terrific value.
Pros:
Everyone working at the hotel, without exception, was extremely friendly and helpful.
Can't beat the staff at the ski storage downstairs, and the ability to ski right to the base of the Blackcomb lift.
Beds were very comfy.
Loved the eucalyptus steam room, pool and jacuzzi areas.
The Portobella cafe was great for breakfast.
Nice, tasteful seating areas in lobby and bar area.

Cons:
The restaurant was pricey (to be expected) and our meals were not consistently good.
I thought $12.00 for internet use was over the top.
Maid service was not what I expected from a hotel of this caliber. First day all was OK except that they didn't restock the coffee bar and I had to request more cream and herbal tea. However, the 2nd day, they had not cleaned the room by the time my son came down from the mountain at 3:30, and showed up just as he was getting into the shower. He asked them to come back a little later. They returned at 4:30 but by then we were all relaxing after skiing and didn't want to vacate the room to have it cleaned, beds made, etc. So, they exchanged our towels and that was that.

Overall we had a very relaxing and nice experience here and I would recommend the hotel, especially with a good rate.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rainsoaked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

We got a very good deal from the Hotel and made a last-minute decision to go to Whistler.
Unfortunately, deal to reasons beyond our control, we arrived Whistler really late at 11:50 p.m.. Valet parking was C$32, self-parking was C$27, but you need to get a slip from the Front Desk (or maybe from the Concierge? We're not sure as we headed straight to the self-parking garage, found parking rate at C$38 & went back to the Front Desk to get the parking-slip).
Check-in was a breeze. As we're leaving the following day, we requested late check-out & were able to check out at 2 p.m. (Our friends who stayed at the next-door Four Season Hotel could only get a late check-out at 12 p.m.!)
We have a very nice 2-double-bed room overlooking the swimming pool & the Blackcomb gondola. The room has a tiny balcony (not prepared for you to walk out but the balcony doors could be opened) & the view was beautiful.
Breakfast buffet at the Wild Flower was delicious though a bit pricy (C$32, half price for kids). Service was great.
We're Fairmont President's Club member (free joining fee) & enjoyed free internet.
Tried checking-out via the TV but not successful. However, check-out at the Front Desk was speedy.
Concierge was always friendly & prompt to help.
Everyone at the Fairmont were very friendly & pleasant.
It's a pity we didn't have time to enjoy the swimming pool this time as we've always enjoy it there.
As long as price is much cheaper than Four Season Whistler (50% cheaper this time), we'll always stay with the Fairmont when we visit Whistler.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lraep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

This review is written by a business traveler who frequents Marriott and Hilton-brand hotels primarily throughout North America and elsewhere.

Pros:
- located near the base of Blackcomb, if you are skiing or snowboarding.
- service is fabulous - from check-in at the valet stand to the front desk staff and operators.
- nice toiletries (as per the usual Fairmont standard).
- bar fridge in the cabinet under the TV.
- we had a very nice view of the base of Blackcomb and the ski lifts.
- the "window seat" was a nice feature.
- the bed was a double/Queen in size and very comfortable.
- the sheets and pillowcases seemed relatively new.



Cons:
- 9th floor room was reminiscent of a 2- to 3- star hotel room.
- significantly overpriced for what you receive.
- no curved shower bar.
- very dark in the bathtub/shower - no lights yet double curtains blocking the bathroom's only light.
- very dated decor (I know it's part of the Fairmont brand and style, but cleaniness was an issue).
- old and worn desk, chair, and TV limited seating and use of the room to the bed and bathroom.
- bathroom features very dated (and worn) faucets lights, tiles, tile grout, and toilet.
- wired Internet is $14.95 CDN per night (but this is normal for this class of hotel).
- located in the smaller Upper Village; you will need to walk a bit to get to the "real" activity of Whistler - the main Village.
- dim lighting throughout the room.
- size of room was small, even for two people (slightly larger though, than your typical hotel room in Japan or Spain).
- room was also not fully cleaned before we arrived (housekeepers somehow missed the previous tenant's socks in our room).
- questionable stains throughout the room's carpeting.
- Not sure if being a Fairmont President's Club member really helped...


Overall, my wife and I recommend finding a room in another hotel. Even if we were to pay $99 for the room (the special some people apparently had as opposed to the standard rate), there would be too little value for price.

For those that frequent Marriott and Hilton-branded hotels, this property is similar to one of the very old TownePlace Suites or to one of the older Hilton Garden Inns that have not been renovated since the 1990's.

They apparently have some renovated rooms; however, our request to tour such a room or swicth rooms for the purposes of this review were denied. Our review above thus stands, as above.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canada_Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
2.6 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort

Property: Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Address: 4599 Chateau Boulevard, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#3 Family Hotel in Whistler
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#4 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 539
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of Blackcomb Mountain, Whistler's landmark ski-in ski-out hotel, Fairmont Chateau Whistler resort hotel defines mountain luxury. A classic 12-story Chateau-style resort hotel with Health Club, Spa and the largest pool deck in Whistler - offering indoor and outdoor swimming pools, four whirlpools and breathtaking views of Blackcomb mountain. Situated a five minute walk from village center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Hotel Whistler
Fairmont Whistler
Whistler Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing