We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay at Whistler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Only place to stay at Whistler”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We were at the Westin for 2 weeks in a 2-bedroom suite. The Suite is relatively small compared to other 2-bedroomed suites we have stayed in in the past but it is functionable, clean, nicely furnished and acceptable. Nothing the hotel can do about it! Pool area is small too however!
Now all the great things about the hotel.
Good location next to the village and gondolas, but far away from the noise in the evening and night (we were there at the time of the Telus Festival).
Service is exceptional. Anything and everything we wanted was delivered speedily, without hassle and with good grace. For instance, one of our party has a nut allergy and they provided brand new saucepans for us to use. Another example was that our daughter injured her finger whilst skiing and within minutes the hotel had sent up bandages. The service was excellent.
There was a problem with the jacuzzis at the hotel and whilst this was disappointing, they offered us passes to use the spa and facilities at the Hilton next door. Every problem has a solution and they were happy to find them for the benefit of their guests.
We were in a party of 3 families (with kids ranging in age from 5-15) and it is safe to say that they were well catered for and also had a wonderful time.
One gripe is the charges to use the internet. It is penny pinching and unnecessary for 5 star hotel to still charge for this and the sooner this changes, the better.
Overall however, if we would return, we would most definitely stay at the Westin for the service, friendliness and location above all else.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ameliashiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    613
    220
    84
    62
See reviews for
673
640
68
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel is within walking distance from the lifts, and the service was overall great. They take care of your ski gear at the lobby so it is convenient. The Sauna and pool are too small for the horel size. We had a bitter experience, not related to the hotel though. Our skis were gone and never found again in the village during lunch time.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2011

A fantastic experience, right from the parking valet, to the bell person (who put all the items away, in the room, as contrasted to throwing them on the floor), to the concierge who solved a problem, to the ski valets, to all the other staff who kept smiling and exceeding our expectations. The room was on the smaller side, although very nicely appointed. I have stayed at about 2/3 of the properties in Whistler, over the last 25 years, but this truly was the best stay - EVER. Location, value and incredible service with a smile. A cut above anywhere else I have stayed in Whistler - book it, experience it!

Room Tip: West Tower - Backing on the Greenbelt
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeltwhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Spent a nice week at The Westin. Room was a decent size and the small kitchenette was a nice touch for organising breakfast before hitting the slopes. The bed was large and comfortable and the location was great. The stay was pretty expensive and it was disappointing that there was no free wi-fi in the room and no-where to leave your ski boots and poles at the end of the day - these had to be taken back to your room to be stored. I was extremely disappointed by the pool area - not at all enticing, an odd shape so difficult to swim seriously in and always full of kids. There are a couple of hours per day where only adults can use it but these are at awkward times. When last at Whistler, we stayed at the Fairmont Chateau and, while this is a bit more expensive, it is a true 5* with a fantastic pool area and great storage facilities. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay at The Westin but probably would try somewhere else next time - there wasn't really anything to make it stand out.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Dear RedMarch,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. I can see from your TripAdvisor profile that you are very well-travelled, and I’m sorry that we were not deliver an experience that stood out for you. It is always our goal to ensure each one of our guests has a stay that is special and memorable. Your feedback is very valuable to us, and I will share this with our team to ensure we’re constantly improving.

Thank you,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Having stayed here in 2009 we revisited in February 2011. Since the then the GBP/ Canadian $ exchange rate has deteriorated considerably (-20%) so nothing seemd very good value in the resort and hotel.

However, we again enjoyed our 10 nights at Whistler Westin and after a couple of room changes managed to find a quiet room which matched our expectations. The hotel really can't be rivalled for access to the slopes and with the Westin Ski Valet service taking the skis back to storage each evening we really were spoiled.

The bar staff in the main bar (Fire and Rock) were just great and we really enjoyed their banter.

The resort itself was very quiet and the ski conditions were exceptionally good.

Would go back to this hotel at the drop of a hat for a very chilled out time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Ellysian,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us! We are delighted that you were able to stay with us again this year, and we hope to see you again in 2012!

Best regards,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/ Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Our 4th visit - you cannot get a better location in the village. Small kitchens in the rooms allow for the kids to eat home from home food. The location is fantastic and the ski hire in the hotel. Service is generally good and the staff great. The kids love this place as they stumble out the back into ski school and hand their ski's into the concierge at the bottom of the mountain at the end of the day. We have looked at the other hotels and always return to this one. It also has a lovely cosy bar.
However, the pool is a few degrees too cold.....and you have to pay an arm and a leg for wi-fi which I find amazing as it's free virtually everywhere else in the village and parking costs a fortune (but then that's true of all the hotels in the village I think)
Would I return? Yes in a heartbeat - free wi-fi is only a quick jog down the road and quick swimming and the hot tubs soon help you get over the cold water in the pool!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcalraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

The Westin whistler is in a great location right at the base of the gondola and maybe thats why its so cramped...upgraded from a junior suite to a one bedroom suite that just happened to but right up against the elevator shaft. So starting at 5am all you here is elevator noise and it is impossible to get a good night sleep. Whoever designed the place needs to have their head examined. The "full size" kitchen is a joke with barely enough room for a 12 pack and a loaf of bread. Room was extremely hot all the time and the thermostat would not work. The whole room was much smaller than is made out to be including the shower which you can barely move around in. Also, didnt like how theres signs all over saying you cant take your skis up to the rooms but then they turn around and charge you to use the ski valet. Pool was crappy and small not a 4.5 star resort level pool. Not worth the money at all. Ended up staying here for a week and would never ever go back and I would go out of my way to make sure no one else goes there. Not up to other westin standards.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Dear drock22,

I thank you for sharing your feedback with us, I am sorry to hear you had such a disappointing stay. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our top priority, and my wish is that we had been given the opportunity to connect with you while you were staying with us so that we could have worked towards a solution to leave you feeling well taken care of.

Once again, my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay.

Best Regards,
Bryce Beatty
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing