We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel in the village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Golden, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family hotel in the village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great hotel for a family to stay at in Whistler. Great pool the boys loved it. It was fantastic to be able to park the car and walk into the center of the village. The restaurant was extremely children friendly as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark1960_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    608
    219
    83
    62
See reviews for
667
637
67
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The Westin Resort and Spa at Whistler is centrally located just minutes by foot from Whistler-Blackcomb mountain. This meant waking up at 8:30am and being on the slopes by 9.

Though the actual room (all rooms at this property are suites) was a bit small, we did appreciate the full kitchen, mini fridge, and large dining table, which allowed us to enjoy meals in-room instead of dining out every night at the pricey nearby establishments. The room itself had a charming cabin feel, and we especially enjoyed the fireplace, which also served dual-purpose by drying our ski gear overnight.

The pool and spa facilities were also welcoming after a long day at the slopes, though everyone else also has the same idea.

Overall, good enough hotel, but the ideal location more than makes up for any shortcomings.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Shrug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Overall we had a nice stay at the Westin. We travel to Whistler often and usually stay in the Upper Village so the Westin's location was a nice change. One huge downside was that we were not told that on Canada Day the fireworks would be let off just outside of or Mountainside Room. It startled my little daughter awake and we basically had to try and tinkly hold our hands over her ears for the duration. It was unpleasant ad really wish we would have been told at check-in and I would have asked for a different room. Other than that, the hotel was fine. I visited this spa and had a fabulous treatment. Only downside there is the 18 percent gratuity that is automatically charged! So even if the service is unpleasant you are still forced to give a significant tip. The pool is great for kids and my husband enjoyed the hot tub during the adults only time. For what we paid this hotel was good, but definitely not worth more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the pool and spa. Please accept our apologies for the disturbance the fireworks caused. We can certainly see how this would not have made for a relaxing evening, and we regret that we didn't inform you upon check in. We hope we can welcome you and your family back again soon.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was comfortable and luxurious with all the facilities you could ask for. Cooking and fridge facilities for the days/ nights you want to stay in the room and eat. Comfortable seating area, with romantic open fireplace and big comfy sofas. Good size TV and stunning view out onto a snow-covered, private terrace, with the gondola only 50 metres away!! Ideal location, in the town centre but on a very quiet street.

Room Tip: Junior suite - book early for a good discount!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear FeeMcRae,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! It sounds like you had the perfect winter getaway. We hope we can welcome you back again soon, perhaps for a summer visit so you can enjoy hiking, biking and all of the other wonderful warm-weather activities in Whistler.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
267 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I am a platinum member that stays at over 75 nights a year at starwood properties throughout the world. I used points for our stay so I shouldn't be complaining for a free stay, however, I would have gladly paid to stay at another hotel. I felt that overall the hotel was dirty. Safe was locked in room and took some time to get it resolved. Deck was filthy and could not use. Room service dishes were in hallway for over 2 days until I complained. Health club was hot as no window treatments to block the sun. No free water bottles in room. The GM did upgrade me to a 2 bedroom suite after I expressed being disappointed over spending additional monies or using more points. Not worth the upgrade as room was poorly laid out. The concierge was good when got through. Took hours before a return phone call. This hotel just creeped my family out. Do yourself a favor and save your points. Book at The Four Seasons hotel. We went over and rooms were a night and day difference over the Westin.

Room Tip: Ask for room that looks over mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firstclass-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear firstclass-TRIP,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and must offer our sincere apologies again that we did not deliver the special and memorable experience that we strive to offer all of our guests. We truly value your business as a Platinum guest, and you have every right to expect the highest quality in product and service from us. If you would like to further discuss your stay I welcome the opportunity to speak with you at your convenience. Please do not hesitate to email me at eric.eikeland@westinwhistler.com.

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had been touring Canada for about two weeks when i checked in to the Westin and had already stayed in a few hotels some of which were just plain basic rooms so i was pleasantly surprised when i booked in and was upgraded from the room i booked.The room was great, a very comfortable bed settee and chair large screen tv and gas fire (which we did not need) kitchen with large cooker fridge and dishwasher.I did not use the restaurant in the hotel as there was plenty of choice in Whistler village which is only steps away from the hotel.The rooms must be well soundproofed as we heard nothing at night and could have been in the hotel on our own.The only downside was the price of parking 30 dollars per night 34 if you valet park, this does not include tax.

Room Tip: we had a room on the side looking out towards the gondola which takes the skiers and cyclists up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed here for one night in February of 2010 and loved the place. Very spacious with all the amenities one would expect.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank editzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Property: The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing