We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Whistler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Gorgeous hotel right on the edge of the village, but secluded enough to be peaceful and quiet. Basic guest rooms include fully equipped kitchen, which is great for off-setting the costs of staying in Whistler. Room was compact but comfortable. Only downside a couple of downsides, one of which was the shower, which had a very basic stationary head and (never thought I'd complain about this) too much water pressure! Felt like skin was being blasted off and drain couldn't handle the amount of water. Also as other people have mentioned, the free basic wifi in the rooms is very very basic and incredibly slow. Better than nothing though. Let front desk staff know about the shower issues upon check out. Pool and gym are very nice, though upper pool deck often closed early for events which was kind of bummer. Room service breakfast we ordered one morning was adequate, but nothing special.

In terms of parking, we really appreciated the valet staff letting us know about a free lot on the edge of the village which was perfect because we knew we wouldn't be using our car while we were there. They even picked us up in the shuttle and brought us back to the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear MAT1234,

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad you enjoyed such a restful stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, and are grateful for both the positive and constructive feedback which we will share with our team. I hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,505 - 1,511 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

Usually when u pay the big bucks to stay in a star hotel, u expect everything in order.

Unfortunately, for the first time I had a terrible experience with Westin.
Cons:
1. Platinum breakfast was totally not worth it. They serve you in a bowl - very small portions

of five fruits and yougurt.
2. No westin heavenly shower. The tiny little shower nozzle - powerful speed of water can poke

your skin and u just want to get out of shower asap.
3. No one at the concierge for 45 minutes - we wanted to buy peak to peak gondola tickets and

was waiting.
4. Escalators didn't work for 50 minutes - we were in the 8th floor with an infant + stroller

and were just struck in 8th floor because the escalators didn't work.
5. Valet is very pricey and have to wait for 20 minutes each time to get our car.

Cons:
Location - Best Location in the whole of Whistler.

Room Tip: walking distance to the market - 2 minutes Peak to peak Gondola - 3 minutes by walk Valet Parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay_jay1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear kay_jay1111,

We appreciate your time speaking with our guest services manager to follow up on the details of this review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

When we booked the Westin the web site we used stated that there was free guest parking so I was amazed to find that its £20 a night (30 C$) to self park and even more to use the valet, you find this out the moment you pull into the hotel and the valet leaps at you and wants to grab your keys before you have turned off the ignition. I know some people will call this efficient but after a drive I would have liked a few moments before having to decide things.
Reception is impressive and checkin was good.
Our room, a junior suite was large and pleasant with a gas log fire for winter use and views over the driving range then mountains. Don't accept a room this side in summer as the green keeper starts cutting, leaf blowing and grooming the green at 06.45, which on a holiday is darn annoying to say the least.
Everything in the room was clean and tidy.
Don't but anything from the mini bar or even the washing detergent, it's $5 in the room or 99c at the shop 5mins stroll away.
Overall the hotel is very good for summer visits to Whistler.
The location is great for access to the mountain, restaurants, bars and shops.

Room Tip: Avoid golf driving range side in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essexblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Essexblogger,

Thank you for staying with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your summer visit to Whistler! Please accept our apologies for the miscommunication with parking charges. Can you advise where you saw that it was complimentary? We'll want to ensure that is corrected as soon as possible. You can email me at eric.eikeland@westinwhistler.com at your convenience. Thank you!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

As a regular local visitor to Whistler I've had my eye on the Westin for a few years, we found an excellent deal online and despite arriving in the early morning, the staff were super friendly, providing a key to access the pool and facilities until our rooms were ready in the early afternoon. They stored our bikes and bike rack, the concierge service is excellent and I'll definately be back for a longer stay next time. The bed was so cosy I didn't want to get up in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank IBrown604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear IBrown604,

Thanks for sharing your review! We're glad you were finally able to stay with us and see what we're all about! Our apologies if we spoiled you with the Westin Heavenly Bed. We find that most of our guests aren't able to sleep well at any other hotels after they've tried it once!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stay here if you can when you visit Whistler. The hotel is in the village, away from the centre so a lot of the rooms are quiet. The service from checkin to checkout was excellent. Lots of amenities to enjoy - pool, hot tub, and steam room. The deck chairs are just as heavenly as the beds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpvbc808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear jpvbc808,

Thank you for sharing your review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and got to work on your tan! We're all hoping that the summer will last, so you may even be able to return for more deck time before ski season!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Just got back from Labor Day weekend and had a blast. Close to the village, easy bike storage, good size room and amenities. Room itself has what you need. Stocked kitchen, great bed and pull out for our kid. It's a dog friendly hotel which for us was not what we wanted but the cleanliness of the room didn't alert me to any pets being there before. Had a nice 10th floor room looking at the village/gondola. Lobby is big and getting around involves a fair amount of walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Contenders,

We're glad to have welcomed you and your family! We're glad that you enjoyed the resort and your time in Whistler. Though we do love dogs, we recognize that some guests have allergies so our housekeeping team takes great care to maintain every room to a high standard. We hope we can welcome you back soon!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The bell staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The front desk duty Manager "Sheldon" was terrific. He upgraded us for our anniversary and did something very sweet (wine for our 20th anniversary). When we entered the room we noticed a couple of cleanliness issues such as really dirty finger prints all over the glass sliding door, cobwebbs on the light over the fireplace and tv, a dirty glass with toothpaste in it in the bathroom, the dishwasher full of clean dishes, the microwave was filthy. By the next morning when we went to make coffee we noticed there was no sugar no cream and so we asked front desk. They said we must have overlooked it but would send housekeeping up. When housekeeping arrived we pointed out the issues with the room and that's when we realized that the room was not cleared for a new guest arrival when we were checked into it, but it was simply tidied up under the green program as if for an existing guest. We shared our gratitude with housekeeping for doing a complete and total turnover of the room for us, as the realization that we may have slept on the same bedding as the previous guest became a terrible possibility. We spoke to the duty manager "Daniel" and explained that we understand that this was a simple mix up and that this could happen, but wanted to ensure management was aware! "Dan" did not offer an apology, simply nodded his head to show his understanding of the situation. I would've appreciated a simple and sincere sorry. The staff in housekeeping and the great crew working the bike/golf/parking were so wonderful, and Sheldon's kindness and helpfulness at check in we're worth the stay. We had dinner reservation at Quattro, but changed them to attend and dine At the Aubergine Grill instead for our Anniversary, and the hostess was the highlight of that experience as well. She was friendly, and so kind in seating us, making the res the day before, and personally checked in on our experience. Very sweet.

Room Tip: They are a pet friendly hotel, so remember to ask for a room that does not allow pets IF you have al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayteewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear kayteewoo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such a wonderful occasion! We appreciate all the kind words about our team and are delighted that we were able to make your anniversary special. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies for the mistake with your housekeeping service. Rest assured we have completed a thorough follow up with our team to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again for staying with us, we hope we can welcome you back for your 21st anniversary as well!

Stay well,
Eric Eikeland
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#2 of 49 in Whistler
2,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#7 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#9 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £143 - £890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing