We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacked a holiday feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here during a skiing trip for 11 nights in February/March 2014. The hotel is perfectly situated for quick access to the gondola and Whistler village. The room was very well equipped with an enormous bed and kitchen area with a full oven, microwave and dishwasher. There are a number of shops in the hotel along with a restaurant and bar. We found the food in the restaurant to be of a good standard but the restaurant lacked ambiance. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice but was very pricey. The hotel was clean and nicely decorated but felt more like a conference venue than a holiday location. The ski vallet service was useful and we loved that the guys come and collect your skis at the base of the mountain. All in all it's hard to beat the location and room facilities but the ambiance doesn't compare with hotels such as the Fairmont Chateau where we'd stayed previously.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank forty-somethingUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

100 yard walk over to the adjacent Whistler Gondola and ski school building. All rooms have a well appointed kitchenette, so stop by IGA for groceries and skip the overpriced breakfast buffet. All the staff were extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The front desk has a few snow toys like sleds to lend out for the kids. Only complaints are the most expensive parking in the village ($34/night; double the other hotels in the village), and the ski valet ($9.50/day/person) which is only really one-way. They will pick your skis up at the bottom of the mountain; IF they have set up already (they weren't there at 3pm one day). Heading to the lift you have to carry your skis from the hotel ski shop. It may sound petty, but you can valet at the Longhorn Saloon for the same price, or less if you book for a week... and they are much more convenient.

Other than that this is unbeatable ski resort hotel with a lovely indoor/outdoor pool area, and an excellent use of SPG points (12k/night).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geterd0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
Raglan, New Zealand
1
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
Stamford, Connecticut
1
Reviewed 19 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It's not like the place is falling apart but it's definitely showing a bit of age. Drawers in our suite bedroom were pretty non-functional. Housekeeping is good but over a 6 night stay our sheets were never changed (maybe I'm supposed to chalk this up to being green) and there were some spots on our sitting area sofa. All said, though, you can't beat the location (particularly relative to ski school drop off) and I'm not sure there's a better option for families in the village. We attempted to ask the concierges for some recommendations on a few occasions and they were all just not that helpful. Their answers were rushed and, in one case, incoherent Check-in took forever and had its own set of issues. We'd visit again - it's not a bad value - but with adjusted expectations of service and luxury.

Room Tip: The third floor doesn't have any laundry facility. Don't let the front desk tell you otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Edgingin,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. It was a pleasure to welcome your family, and I'm pleased to see you enjoyed our location made your stay better. I apologize for the laps in service from our Concierge Department. I will follow up on your comments with the team. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Stay well,
Lisa McCormick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A true gem in the heart of Whistler. Minutes to the gondola, and all the restaurants. Walk out your door and there you have it. Completely convenient and marvelously cozy. Staff are polite, helpful and attentive.

Rooms are beautiful. Ours had fireplaces in both adjoining rooms. Beds are fabulous. Full kitchen if you don't want to go to the restaurants. Great with kids because we could microwave snacks and store extras in the fridge. Housekeeping staff were amazing. Very very very nice experience all round.

Room Tip: The staff put us away from the elevators as a suggestion. We had adjoining rooms so my husband and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchemNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#6 of 49 in Whistler
909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#6 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £144 - £1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing