We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Whistler is a terrific town, and we had a great time skiing as a family, with the Westin as our base. We had a group of 10 people, and the Westin's great location made access to the mountain and village really easy. The rooms were clean, up to date, housekeeping service was terrific.

Three issues we had. First, and most important - the ski shop was awful. Of the ten people in our group, six had problems. They didn't have skis my size. Three people had problems with boots. We used their valet service overnight, and they put my kids skis away so that they had to be refitted the next morning. They dont store boots, only skis at the valet, so that you end up dragging muddy boots into your room. Service was surly and not particularly expert

Second issue. We had a one bedroom suite, with a pullout couch in the common area for our kids. The room was nice, but really really small. Not a huge deal, but there certainly wasnt closet space for four people's stuff, especially when you need to bring boots into the room

Third issue, smallest of all. Many other ski resorts - including other Westin properties - have more charming and interesting common areas / bars. Places where your party gets together for a drink or hot chocolate after skiing or dinner. Whistler is such a great village that you dont miss it that much, but its pretty much missing at this Westin

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,038 - 1,044 of 2,093 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Poulsbo, Washington
11
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were told this is a 4.5 star hotel. The room was nice, but that was the extent of it. Very expensive! $30. / day for parking - we were warned. Breakfast buffet - $30. / person. Ski storage - $9. / day. Wi-Fi in the room - $14.95 / day.

Our key only worked half the time. At the end of our trip it stopped working. 3 trips to the front desk to get things (almost) resolved. They sent a guy to the room to fix the lock. After he did he told our son (who was in the room at the time) that we would need to go to the front desk to get new keys. After all the trouble with the locks you'd think they would have left working keys in the room for us.

My wife likes the steam room. Too bad it was broken almost every time she went to use it.

We shared our experience with the service rep that checked us out. He made no attempt to reconcile with us. No offer of breakfast on them, or a day of free parking, or anything like that. I'd save a little money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Normally I wouldn't be bothered about the star quality of a hotel as anything from 3* upwards has very similar beds, and the most important thing is a good nights sleep.
However in this case - it was well worth the money. We were travelling with a 19 month old and a girl about to turn 4 yrs old, and location and amenities was absolutely key for our decision to stay here.
Front of Hosue staff - as good as any in a 5 star resort hotel. What was particularly great was the ability to borrow prams to take the kids around
Cleaning staff - amazing. Too big a credit - no, not really. They cleaned our rooms very well, which was their job - but they also bought and left a teddy for our older girl who turned 4 on the holiday after they saw a birthday card and wrapping paper in the bin.
Food - restaurant is very good and well priced, but in all honesty we tended to eat out more often.
Location - could not be better. Possibly the 2nd closest hotel to the main ski lines, and ski school; ski valet each day post skiing; ski shop in the actual building AND BEST OF ALL FOR FAMILIES, child care in the hotel itself. Why so important? You don't need to dress your kid in ski gear to get them there, leaving more time to go skiing, and far less tears!

We will be booking again!

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room slightly away from the lifts. As people are wearing ski gear and carrying equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed the one night at the Westin with my boyfriend and parents. They had the bedroom, we had the pull out couch, we were very comfortable. Had a gift voucher for this stay, so it was cheap based on that, would have been $290 otherwise! We parked the car in the ski day lot (which is free, google it - local tip!), or if you like $35 hotel valet parking service them go for it!
No in room wifi service, unless you want to pay $14.95 a day to have it. What a money maker ... disappointed that in this age they cannot incorporate wifi for everyone's use. Was very frustrating to have to go to the downstairs public areas to log on.
Whistler is expensive though, we all know that ... so make some money, go spend some money ... Whistler will gladly take it from you ...

Room Tip: Self park your car in the far end of the day lots (free!) Go for the best breakfast in town - Wildw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Well it's Whistler, so you're paying for being in Whistler!
Good hotel, but not spectacular.
Normal rooms, might even be undersized.
Clean (which is important), friendly front desk.
Not cool to be charged around 15 dollars for 24 hour wi-fi in the room and 1 dollar for 60 seconds on their "free" desktops in the lounge area.
Well, each to their own.
I've been to fancier places for less with free wi-fi and free breakfast ... in Canada.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at the Whistler Westin over spring break of 2014. The facility itself was nice with all the advertised amenities. There are some fees for ski storage and internet access that were suprising for a 4 1/2 star hotel. We were in a two room suite. Skis are not allowed in the rooms and a fee of $27.50/night was charged for my family of four. Yes, if you look on their web page it is listed but this is the first time I've seen this at any ski resort at Whistler or anywhere else. I checked with the Hilton, Pan Pacific, and Fairmont and it's included in the room fee. These hotels also provide free in room internet access. At the Westin this was only offered in the Lobby or for a fee in the room and the connection wasn't that fast.
Housekeeping was adequate but after skiing for 6 hours it is annoying to need to call to have your room serviced.
Requested a room on three occasions that was on a higher floor prior to our visit but ended up with a ground floor room with a patio full of melting snow with garbage in snow.

We will not be returning to this hotel with the better options available at the same star rating and price!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Carl,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. Unlike many hotels we do not charge a resort fee, and instead price out individual components so that guests can choose what services they want to take advantage of. We want to offer our guests the best value possible, and we have ensured that we are priced competitively among other Whistler hotels.

I'd like to also apologize that we didn't provide attentive housekeeping service and that we were unable to accommodate your request for a suite on a higher floor. I can see how this would detract from your overall experience.

We truly value your business and would like to keep you as a regular guest. At your convenience, please email me at lisa.mccormick@westinwhistler.com so I can invite you back and personally ensure your next stay is memorable.

Stay well,
Lisa McCormick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just stayed for three nights and three days of skiing/boarding Whistler/Blackcomb. Our room was very spacious and clean. Kitchen was a good size with fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms were quiet. The Westin is within a 2 minute walk to the Whistler Gondola and a couple more minutes to the Blackcomb village lift. Fantastic to be so close. The hotel is very large and has a rental store on level one so that is convenient. Staff were welcoming and friendly. There are some negatives though. One of the very few hotels to charge you each day for your snowboard/skis as you are not allowed to have them in your room. Money grab? Also, the parking is a minimum of $30 per day which is a lot of money anywhere in the world for parking. Your alternative is to park in the day parking lot near the lifts for $8 per day. The hotel charges for wifi which is pretty ridiculous given the room rates you are paying. Again, another money grab.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear AirSchis,

Thank you for staying with us! I appreciate all of your kind comments, and I'm happy to see that our associates made you feel so welcome. We want to offer our guests the best value possible, and with that in mind we don't charge a resort fee, instead pricing out services, like Ski Valet and WiFi, individually. We have ensured that we are priced competitively among other Whistler hotels to provide our guests with a special and memorable experience. If there's anything I can do on your next visit to ensure you have the best stay possible, please do not hesitate to email me at lisa.mccormick@westinwhistler.com.

Stay well,
Lisa McCormick
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,800 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler

Address: 4090 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Whistler
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#6 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#11 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#13 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £144 - £1,031 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Whistler Village just yards from the gondolas and the slopes of Whistler and Blackcomb mountains, The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler is an all-suite, full-service conference hotel and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort And Spa, Whistler
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler Hotel Whistler
Westin Resort Whistler
Westin Hotel Whistler
Westin Whistler
Whistler Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing