We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whistler Placid lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Arcadia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whistler Placid lodge”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Whistler was a beautiful place to visit; but staying at whistler Vacation Club at Lake Placid via Resort Time was quite disappointing;

First, to check in, there was no Registration at the resort we stayed; we had to drive about 3 miles north to Twin peaks Resort, the Registration office was hard to find with No Sign at Entrance for direction.

2nd, there was no Street address or Resort Sign posted at Parking Entrance, the front Entrance was locked, it was very confusing for trying get in the Resort.

3rd, we were charged $ 111.00 cleaning/ amenities fee upon Check in for 3 night stay that no one will come to clean our room; plus, we had to take out trash and start dishwashing machine upon check out, or we will be charged ADDITIONAL $ 125.00 Extra Ordinary Housekeeping charge.

We are frequent travelers, we have stayed at many resorts and Hotels, there was not one time that we had to take out trash upon check out, plus, there was housekeeping service at least 1-2 times if not everyday;

What bothers us the most is the letter was given to us upon Check in, it threaten us that we could be charged ADDITIONAL FEE of $ 125.00 if we don't take out trash and started dishwashing machine upon check out, it DID NOT make us feel good.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    24
    10
    14
    9
See reviews for
37
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having travelled to Whistler by bus we had to find one hotel to pick up info about how to get the keys to the apartment in snother part of the village. All info that could have been emailed to us.

The apartment was basic but that was what we expected, we also expected a washing machine of which there were none. The kitchen could have been doing with a thorough clean also.

We were woken by the people upstairs thumping and generally being noisy at around 3:00am this continued for at least an hour. We called the front desk and were told to call the police as they didn't manage all the properties. Unfortunately we still have another night here.

Not really sure what we're paying for here but next time we'll stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woosoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were a big family group of 9, even though the apartment was an excellent place for us all to stay. We would have liked more living room area & also a bathroom on the top floor would have been handy for the two bedrooms on that floor. It was value for money for our large group. Even though we had family who were familiar with TV's & DVD systems we were unable to use these, either not working or too complicated. But who needs TV when on holiday?? This is a holiday rental not Hotel, overall we were happy with our holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a vacation rental here and thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay. We stayed across the way at First Tracks Lodge years ago, but found this place had better value for money. The location is excellent, so close to the Creekside Gondola. The unit we rented was updated and very comfy. The hot tub is huge, not something you get at other places, where you are crammed into one tub that holds only 6-8 people. We regularly used the outdoor BBQ for our meals. We will stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great location it's close to a grocery store and a fantastic lake right down the street, about a 15 min walk. Plus a real short drive or bus ride to the village. That is the only high point. We were in room #329. It had two bathrooms, kitchen, loft
And pull out couch which I ended up only using one night because it was so uncomfortable. Instead I pulled the smaller couch close to the larger one and made a bed. Pillows too soft so if you need a good pillow bring your own. As well the two blankets for the pull out sofa bed were thick and scratchy definitely only useful for cold winter months.
Gas fireplace a nice touch but
Using the DVD player and surround sound speakers was confusing with no instructions so had to do without. Clean. Because it was the Canada day 2013 long weekend it was hot hot in the room. The fans provided were not very helpful. Pool was a nice touch but the pool area and seating needs to be updated, not enough seating and lots of ants on ground so you wouldn't want to lay down there. While there a guest on the first floor had a laptop stolen when the sliding door was not properly locked. No security or cameras on property.
Next time I will book a place in creek side that is not placid lake lodge. The price and quality is not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't let anyone sleep on the sofa beds. Uncomfortable. If you would like a quieter room choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank StarsgVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Property itself a little tired, and mixed occupancy by time shares, individual owners and even a business or two.
Positives: Across the street from grocery and liquor store. Very close to Creekside gondola, relatively quiet. CLose to main road and gas station - but without any noise or bother. Frequent bus service to Whistler proper. Nice ski storage room.

Rented a unit with kitchen, etc. Not really a hotel, so don't expect hotel ammenities. Hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoons was a nice touch :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dunnrej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We recenly spend a week in Whistler at the Lake Placid Lodge and found it to be comfortable and clean if slightly dated. The Lodge is one of a number of places under the umbrella of "Whistler Places" As Lake Placid Lodge is a strata titled building my comments can only be ascribed to unit #201. This one bedroom unit was very clean and well maintained. New utensils and appliances.Two flat screen TV's with Optik" TV service.In suite laundry facilities. As our visit was between seasons, we encountered very few other guests.
We will not hesitate to stay there again. In fact, we are considering making it an annual visit rather than going to Mexico in the fall.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
First Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Lodge
#9 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#10 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evolution
Evolution
#18 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
2.1 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Resort
Twin Peaks Resort
#29 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing