We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and hot tub!”
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location and hot tub!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We truly enjoyed the lodge and our stay. Simply can't beat the adjacency to the gondola and the hot tub / pool area was a wonderful apres ski area. Great price for a great stay. The skiing was incredible, although the difference in the weather from base to peak was quite an adjustment. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    10
    14
    9
See reviews for
38
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I spent a week in the Lake Placid Lodge in January. It was a good location, opposite a ski lift and about 6km from Whistler Village. There is a good bus service outside the door and the facility has a heated pool and spa, perfect for winter. Restaurant options are more limited than the Village.

The apartment was a one bedroom with pull out sofa bed in the lounge.There was a small patio, dining area, kitchen and a comfortable lounge with gas fire. The limitation of the apartment was the lack of a washing machine and dryer, although there was space and fittings. This is a serious omission for a ski venue.

There is a trick to arriving smoothly at the Lodge. Read the fine print in your booking and you will see that there is no concierge or check in on site and you must travel back to Whistler Village. Not a big issue if you have a car, but if like many, you arrive by coach(a stop 100m away) it is difficult to haul luggage back and forth. Seeking clarification via the intercom provided is a waste of time as it puts you into a message loop that simply hangs up on you. Very frustrating.

Trick and washing machine notwithstanding, this is a comfortable and accessible Lodge.

Room Tip: Read the fine print about check in, it is not on site and when booking, request an apartment with wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We arrived at the condo a little early to inquire what time we can check in and found out that we have to go to the upper village to do that. This is very inconvenient especially when you have two tired little kids with you. When we finally got into the condo, the first thing I noticed was how cramped the room was. The kitchen was very small and the oven was very poor when cooking your meal. The bathroom sink knob was not properly working when switching from hot to cold. Next the bed was very uncomfortable to sleep in. The only thing this place has is the location other than that I will not come back or recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Arcadia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Whistler was a beautiful place to visit; but staying at whistler Vacation Club at Lake Placid via Resort Time was quite disappointing;

First, to check in, there was no Registration at the resort we stayed; we had to drive about 3 miles north to Twin peaks Resort, the Registration office was hard to find with No Sign at Entrance for direction.

2nd, there was no Street address or Resort Sign posted at Parking Entrance, the front Entrance was locked, it was very confusing for trying get in the Resort.

3rd, we were charged $ 111.00 cleaning/ amenities fee upon Check in for 3 night stay that no one will come to clean our room; plus, we had to take out trash and start dishwashing machine upon check out, or we will be charged ADDITIONAL $ 125.00 Extra Ordinary Housekeeping charge.

We are frequent travelers, we have stayed at many resorts and Hotels, there was not one time that we had to take out trash upon check out, plus, there was housekeeping service at least 1-2 times if not everyday;

What bothers us the most is the letter was given to us upon Check in, it threaten us that we could be charged ADDITIONAL FEE of $ 125.00 if we don't take out trash and started dishwashing machine upon check out, it DID NOT make us feel good.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having travelled to Whistler by bus we had to find one hotel to pick up info about how to get the keys to the apartment in snother part of the village. All info that could have been emailed to us.

The apartment was basic but that was what we expected, we also expected a washing machine of which there were none. The kitchen could have been doing with a thorough clean also.

We were woken by the people upstairs thumping and generally being noisy at around 3:00am this continued for at least an hour. We called the front desk and were told to call the police as they didn't manage all the properties. Unfortunately we still have another night here.

Not really sure what we're paying for here but next time we'll stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woosoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were a big family group of 9, even though the apartment was an excellent place for us all to stay. We would have liked more living room area & also a bathroom on the top floor would have been handy for the two bedrooms on that floor. It was value for money for our large group. Even though we had family who were familiar with TV's & DVD systems we were unable to use these, either not working or too complicated. But who needs TV when on holiday?? This is a holiday rental not Hotel, overall we were happy with our holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivrose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We booked a vacation rental here and thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay. We stayed across the way at First Tracks Lodge years ago, but found this place had better value for money. The location is excellent, so close to the Creekside Gondola. The unit we rented was updated and very comfy. The hot tub is huge, not something you get at other places, where you are crammed into one tub that holds only 6-8 people. We regularly used the outdoor BBQ for our meals. We will stay there again, for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends
Legends
#11 of 49 in Whistler
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Evolution
Evolution
#18 of 49 in Whistler
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
First Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Lodge
#14 of 49 in Whistler
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,836 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Property: Lake Placid Lodge
Address: 2050 Lake Placid Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Placid Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing