We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More positives than negatives!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“More positives than negatives!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks during the ski season and the hotel was wonderful.

The location is excellently placed a little way up Blackcomb mountain, perfect for ski in and ski out.

Whistler is only a 5 min shuttle bus away, but can be a little annoying if you plan to visit the village centre every night.

If or when I return to whistler I will probably get a hotel in Whistler Village, close to the Whistler gondola.

Breakfast is excellent and can be taken to your room (recommended during busy periods).

Tea and coffee is available from the lobby any time of day.

Hot tubs and pool are lovely.

The rooms were really hot at night. A fan is supplied, but I still needed to leave a window open through the night.

Bathrooms were clean and come stocked with lots of toiletries.

My only real issue was the wi-fi. I was on the 6th floor and the Internet was continuously dropping out. Every 5 mins on average.

Beds were comfortable. TV channels were plentiful and the staff were always willing to assist.

Would highly recommend and happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bob_e70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    575
    209
    84
    44
See reviews for
606
465
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is supposed to be ex-Marriott! Must have been a very long time ago and is now like a YMCA facility. Very worn, very tired and certainly not 4 star!! Anything like. I'd pay the extra and go Fairmont if I were you. No Wi-fi either unlike as advertised. Terrible mistake booking here. Don't say you weren't warned!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for Christmas 2013 and booked 4 rooms. It is not within the village but we were lucky that there were free shuttles to the village being offered every 15 minutes. We were pleased with the afternoon tea/coffee and snacks offered. Breakfast was so-so. But was happy that they provided utensils for you to be able to bring breakfast in the room - perfect for my late-riser kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny-COANM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The family had a extremely fun time at the Coast.Fantastic staff(very friendly and accommodating, quick and efficient), great rooms, delicious continental breakfast, convenient location. Overall amazing! I will most defiantly stay here in the future. In addition telling everyone I know that stays in Whistler to go to the Coast!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommakp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I'd love to give this place a strong recommendation and if it weren't for a few easy to fix details I would.

First the positives: The staff is absolutely fabulous, from the front desk staff to the crew running the ski shop. The location is great. Granted it's a short (free) bus ride or a short walk down the slope (I'd walk down and catch the bus back up) to get into the village but the ski-in/ski-out feature is tough to beat.

Now for the negatives: I can't remember the last time I saw a vinyl floor in a kitchen though that's relatively minor. Some in my party found the rooms small. The one thing we all agreed upon was the shoddy broadband service. None of us had to do a ton of work while on vacation but we all wanted to keep up to date on emails and help w/ a few minor things so as not to return to several hundred emails. Stuff that should have taken about 30 minutes/day and been accomplished while drinking a cup of coffee in the morning. Instead broadband did not work in our rooms. We had to use it in the lobby and even down there we still got dropped from time to time. Just frustrating when something that's relatively cheap to fix isn't taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor (4,5,6) with a slope side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuhpertG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalon, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

First, yes, you are farther away from the village, but there is a free shuttle to and from the village every 30 minutes. We were more interested in the ski in/ski out experience anyways. Brought our own food to cook all our meals. Kitchen was perfect and kept very clean! Room itself very clean! Sound proofing between rooms seemed very good too. Sleep comfort, perfect! Yes, this is an older property, but kept up nicely and at a great value compared to the other high end resorts. Two hot tubs, so no issues finding room to soak after a great day of skiing. Ski valet guys are super! Only two small downsides; wireless internet was very slow in our room, but courtesy computer down in the lobby worked great. Would of also been nice to have a real protein/meat with breakfast downstairs before a full morning of skiing. Hard boiled eggs seemed to be it. Great carbs and fruit choices. Even there, we just went to the store in the village and bought some breakfast sausage and eggs to fry up. Awesome mountain and experience! Will most certainly return to this resort for our next Whistler/Blackcomb experience.

Room Tip: Give a few bucks to the ski valet guys, and they will not forget you! They work real hard to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Location and initial impressions
This hotel is a ski in- ski out which is down a nice easy run around 2-3 minute ski from the base of Blackcomb. It is in more of a residential / lodge area rather than somewhere in walking distance to bars / restaurants.
To get to Whistler or Blackcomb there was a bus which ran quite frequently which was FOC, you could also walk down the slope to Blackcomb (5 mins) or download on one of the lifts to whistler village. Easy to get around but nothing on the doorstep to pop out to.
We got a shared transfer up from Vancouver and was impressed when we dropped people to other hotels and a bell boy came out with a trolley and a warm welcome. When we got to the coast there was no such welcome so we dragged out luggage in to the hotel our selves. We were greeted at reception and asked to register and sign a disclosure - I have never had to sign a disclosure at a hotel. It basically informed you that you would be fined for various issues and that the hotel had a quiet after 10pm policy - if you made noise you would be kicked out without notice as it was a family hotel - no problem with this but very strange at a hotel advertised to be of a good standard so I didn't expect to encounter large groups of teenagers paying little, getting drunk and sleeping 20 to a room partying all night. On top of this the disclosure also stated that the hotel was unlicensed - no chance of a nightcap!

Rooms
The rooms are a little tired but well stocked and comfortable.we had a studio which was fine for 2 of us. The kitchen had all you needed but a kettle. The rooms however were noisy - there seemed to be no sound proofing (hence maybe the disclosure!) and we could hear every beep of the lift and every conversation of people going along the corridor - including the delight of children at 6am - maybe an early limit on sound needed to be put on the disclosure too. The bathrooms were fine with baths which is always welcome after a days skiing - if only you could get proper hot water in peak times.

Facilities
There is a ski rental shop on site which is one of the Whistler Blackcomb ones so if you book in advance you can rent from here and save the bus to town. They also store your skis so no need to carry them to your room. There is a wonderful pool and hot tub kept roasting and very good after a tough day on the mountains, gowns in the room and plenty of towels in the pool area make the cold run not a problem. Tea and coffee is available all day in the breakfast room. Breakfast was included in our rate but we didn't bother most days as it wasn't the best selection (cereal, porridge,cold eggs, fruit, yogurt, bakery and waffles) - they would really benefit by having more hot options or mixing it up a little maybe doing something different to waffles each day - pancakes, hot eggs, cheese and meat selection etc There is a small shop and gym.

General information
We had snow - lots of snow - if you are thinking of a late break in the next week or so go, go,go!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D&D_Holiday_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.7 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Property: Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Address: 4899 Painted Cliff Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#18 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Blackcomb Suites is located ski-in, ski-out on Blackcomb Mountain, and offers a unique lodge-style setting. Complimentary continental breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and daily housekeeping are all included in your Coast Blackcomb Suites stay.Relax in the largest outdoor pool and hot tub of all Whistler hotels. Whether skiing in the winter, or golfing in the summer, our studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom hotel suites provide the ultimate in comfort and luxury for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Blackcomb Suites At Whistler Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing