We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2010

the room. It can get pretty hot up there. It is still just a free standing unit, but does cool down the room considerably. You are still allowed pets ($25/day) which is nice and the bus to the village is right in front of your door. Parking is $15. There is a trail if you like to walk. Unfortunately all the parking in the village is now pay-parking (even the big day parking areas). The breakfast is included and is really very extensive and good. The daily paper is a nice touch! All considered it is a good place to stay. We enjoy it every year in the summer months. We tried the Peak to Peak gondola this time. It is really a great experience. Stay for lunch on top - the view is free.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmaWestVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so pleased we are your hotel of choice when it comes to Whistler. Make sure you visit us this winter season! On behalf of the entire Coast Blackcomb team, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

Comfy room with excellent breakfast included. Ideally located on scenic slopes above the village. Shuttle bus provides easy access to the services in Whistler. Helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendell58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure you visit us this winter season! On behalf of the entire Coast Blackcomb team, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I knew when I booked this place that it wasn't going to be a high class hotel, but that wasn't the reason we went there.

What this place is is the most 'Ski-in, Ski-out' place I've ever skied in and out of!

It is right on the run that runs down to the Wizard chair. You pick up your skis from the decent in-house ski shop, walk out the door, walk about 10 paces and go! You can ski right into the ski shop when you return to the hotel if somebody holds the door for you! Brilliant!

Don't hire a car. The bus is brilliant. The town is brilliant and the mountains are even more brilliant. The weather is a bit of bear sometimes though. Can there be too much snow?

Anyway, the hotel is comfy, the breakfast is free and nourishing and Whistler is a star. I can't think of a better value way to enjoy it. Recommended.

Jimmy

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank V6Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very proud of the fact we have the best ski in-ski out access on the resort! You are right; there can never be enough snow! We are heading into a fantastic winter season and on behalf of the entire Coast Blackcomb team, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We went to this hotel for the last couple of nights to celebrate our anniversary. We booked it as part of a "last minute" deal on whistlerblackcomb.com, where they don't reveal the hotel until you book. The good part is that we paid just slightly over $100 for a 1 bedroom suite with breakfast included. The price was good, but then you get what you pay for. In other words, pay less - get less.

We got a room on the first floor, which is below the lobby level. It felt like the basement. I agree with other reviewers who say that the hotel could update their decor. The cabinets and wood trim around the doorways look rustic, but not in a good way. The room was quite dark and had a view of the patch of grass outside. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. One of the lights didn't work, but staff fixed the problem the next day. At one point, the satellite TV signal got dropped for several minutes. Some areas of the bedroom were dusty and one panel of the mirrored sliding closet door was not properly on its track. In the living area, the cleaning staff did not remove a beer bottle top that was left by a previous occupant. In the washroom, they only put one cup instead of two even though they knew that there would be two people occupying the room.

The hotel is out of the way. The good part is that it's less noisy than staying in the village. The bad part is that although there's a bus stop right outside for the free bus to the village, the bus may come every half hour unless it's during the afternoon, when it's every 15 minutes. This makes getting to the village inconvenient. It's nice that the hotel has a breakfast (although it's just average), but because it has no restaurants, you have to go into the village to eat or buy food. The only other amenities are the outdoor pool, which was not bad, and the fitness room.

Service was polite, but nothing special. In fact, I was quite disappointed that even though our reservation noted that we were celebrating our anniversary, there was not even a mention or acknowledgement from the staff at all. At other hotels, we've at least gotten a note from the staff. (A previous review mentioned that they got a free bottle of wine for celebrating their anniversary at this hotel, but it was still a Marriott back then.) Another minus was that their original invoice overcharged us, so we needed to get it fixed. At least they fixed it without too much trouble, but still it is not good to overcharge in the first place.

Next time we go to Whistler, we will pay a bit more and go to a hotel in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take pride in acknowledging all anniversaries/ celebrations. This policy remains unchanged since we have become part of Coast Hotels and Resorts. Unfortunately, the notation did not carry over to your reservation and our team was unaware of your special occasion. In regards to your guestroom, I assure you this is not our standard as our rooms are inspected daily to maintain quality.

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We booked a 2-bedroom mountainside suite for 2 nights. The room was well furnished (although looking a tiny bit old) with full kitchen, living room, and 2 bathrooms. Great value for the price.

Pros:
- Beds are comfy and very clean (but don't use the sofa bed: it really is not comfy).
- Breakfast is free and good.
- The 2-bedroom suite was affordable and offered great value.
- Mountainside view was beautiful.

Cons:
- No A/C!!! Although we had the fans running at maximum speed during all of our stay, we had a very hard time coping with the heat in the suite... kids couldn't fall asleep it was so hot. I was very unpleasantly surprised that there were no A/C.
- Hotel is located about a 10-min shuttle ride from the village. The free shuttle comes by every 20-30min. So you need to plan around the shuttle schedule so you don't end up wasting too much time waiting...
- The pool is too small and was crowded. I wish it would have closed later than 10pm...
- Although there's a computer with free internet access in the lobby, the internet speed is so slow it makes it very frustrating to use.
- Wasn't too happy that we had to pay for parking... it should be included.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast, spacious suites with full kitchens and fabulous mountainside views. In regards to your guestroom temperature; all of our rooms have windows that open, full balconies and a fan to help circulate the mountain air. Additionally, we have rooms that offer more shade that naturally cool the temperature in the rooms. Upon making your next reservation with us, please make a special request for one of these rooms.

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at the Coast Blackcomb suites and had a great weekend in Whistler. The room was really clean and had a great flat screen TV. We loved the full kitchen. Beautiful deck and view. The shuttle was great and took us right into the village. The staff was friendly and very helpful! We also enjoyed a hot cont. breakfast in the morning which was a great bonus! We will stay there again on our next trip to Whistler!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaysercare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so pleased we are your hotel of choice when it comes to Whistler. It sounds like you had a great time! We take pride in the fact that we have the ideal location and we are able to offer such amenities as complimentary breakfast, pool /hot tubs, and large patio with barbecues. On behalf of the entire Coast Blackcomb team, we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel during a short stay in Whistler after a week in Vancouver.
The hotel was a ski-hotel and so is ideally located on the slopes of Blackcomb mountain so as skiiers can ski in and out of the hotel during the ski season. However, during the summer the location is still perfect. There is a free frequent shuttle bus from the hotel that takes you right to the main village of Whistler, where all the restaurants and shops are, but it is easy enough to walk down to Blackcomb village from the hotel if not.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and the rooms were large and spacious. A free breakfast is offered to all guests and we were very pleased with the large choice of food offered. There is an outdoor pool and jacuzzi area which was nice and barbecues for the use of guests.
The staff were very efficient and friendly and helped with any queries we had.
We were very pleased with our stay at Coast Blackcomb Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastwhistler, Manager at Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so pleased that we are your hotel of choice when it comes to Whistler! Whistler is an amazing place; with so many activities for all ages! We take pride in the fact that we have the ideal location and we are able to offer such amenities as complimentary breakfast, pool /hot tubs, and large patio with barbecues. It sounds like you had an amazing time in whistler and on behalf of the entire Coast Blackcomb team; we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kim Kelly
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.7 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#9 of 49 in Whistler
1,430 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler

Address: 4899 Painted Cliff Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#18 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £77 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Blackcomb Suites is located ski-in, ski-out on Blackcomb Mountain, and offers a unique lodge-style setting. Complimentary continental breakfast, fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces and daily housekeeping are all included in your Coast Blackcomb Suites stay.Relax in the largest outdoor pool and hot tub of all Whistler hotels. Whether skiing in the winter, or golfing in the summer, our studio, 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom hotel suites provide the ultimate in comfort and luxury for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Blackcomb Suites At Whistler Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing