We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for singles, not for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Squamish, Canada
2 reviews
“Great for singles, not for families”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In 2009 my husband and I stayed at the Crystal for 3 weeks while we looked for an apartment in Squamish. All was well. When we knew we were coming back to Whistler for our 1st anniversary (with a 2 yr old in tow) we knew we wanted to stay at the Crystal again.

Our 1st room was a deluxe 2 queen but had a terrible (cat poop) like smell. The staff tried to deodorize the smell but couldn't rid the smell so they upgraded us. They were very patient with us as we had lots of luggage (they moved it for us) and they also made a 2nd trip to our new room after we had forgotten some food in the fridge of our 1st room.

In our new room we couldn't find any coffee mugs and it turns out that they were still in the dishwasher (clean) from the day before and the cleaning staff forgot to put them back in the cupboard.

We went to the Old Spaghetti Factory at 3:30pm for an early dinner. The service was terribly slow considering we were 1 of 3 tables in the restaurant. It seemed that the staff was not properly trained or very new to the restaurant industry. Food was great though and a great value.

All in all our experience was fine but it turns out that there is not a whole lot to do in Whistler for young families during the month of May. It was very disappointing. No Peak to Peak Gondola, no tours, nothing for kids under 6.

I would come back but only with my husband.

Another thing to note: The hotel was uncomfortably hot. I was sweating waiting for an elevator. Great in the winter I imagine but not in May.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ashlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
First off, congratulation on your recent anniversary. Thank you very much for your detailed review and feedback from your recent experience at the Crystal Lodge. Although we do allow pets we have not had any cats as guests thus can only assume that the smell that you had in your first room could have been a result of the new hallway carpets we were installing at approximately the same time you visited us. I will be sure to share your feedback about the dishes in the dishwasher and your experience at the Old Spaghetti Factory to ensure a better experience for all future travelers. As for activities in May with kids, you are correct that they are more limited due to the resort being 'between' seasons however a couple of suggestions I have (as a parent of two little ones) are as follows: Meadow Park community centre has a fantastic kids pool and play area, Rent bikes (along with a Chariot bike attachment) and explore the Valley Trail system, Explore the Lost Lake trail system, and Bounce Whistler (for slightly older kids). We look forward to welcoming you back with or without your little one in the future.

Sincerely,
Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,418
    790
    213
    60
    32
See reviews for
795
1,001
116
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed at this property for the International Ski and Snowboarding festival. The location is perfect. Less than a block walk to the lifts. Perfectly located in the Village. The room we stayed in was small and a little dated. It was nothing special but was not bad. However, given the proximity to the lifts, we would stay here again. The on-site parking was easy and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Elsa, thank you for taking the time to review the Crystal Lodge following your recent Whistler vacation. We are pleased that you recommend and plan on staying with us again. If you are looking for a more contemporary designed guest room please review our North Wing Deluxe Studio room offering as these offer the same convenient location in a significantly different layout and larger floor plan.
Warm regards,
Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here on a weekend while with my family while on a course in Whistler. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, and the stay was very comfortable.
There was a large group of high school students staying in town over the weekend, and although they were a little loud at times, they were a minimal nuisance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Eric, thank you for your recent review of the Crystal Lodge. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back when you are all here on leisure!

Kind regards,

Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Location is excellent, right in the middle of Whistler Village. Room was quite small and the bathroom a little "tired", but OK for one night. Would not recommend an extended stay. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerJL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the Crystal Lodge as your accommodation of choice on your recent trip to Whistler. Your point regarding the bathroom décor is well received and are currently in the design process to address this shortcoming which when completed will vastly improve the overall product in these rooms. I am so pleased to read that you and your friends were pleased with our service team.
Warm regards,
Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Very central location.. A few yards from the ski lifts. Some rooms have views of the mountains, others overlook the village street., which is pedestrianised. Neither of the restaurants on site do breakfasts, so one has to go out, which if you have an early start can be can annoying. There is a bakery close by so one can do breakfast in ones room. There are some lovely walks from the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionAve66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Marion, thank you very much for your review of the Crystal Lodge after returning home to the UK. I am pleased to read that you and your family found our location to be very convenient. One of our on site restaurants offer breakfast albeit staring at 8:00am which have been too late for you if you were one of the early rising skiers. Alternatively, many of our guests looking for a quick bite before their day of activities enjoy one of the breakfast sandwich offerings at the Starbucks attached to our lobby. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Freindly staff close to all amenities in main village. Ski lifts 5 minute walk. Motel has Rics Grill ,Old Spaghetti Factory , Crystal Lounge and my favourite Cittas for food and beverage services. Also has many shops including my favourite the Rock Shop.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPformbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review of the Crystal Lodge. I am pleased to read that you took advantage of many of our on site restaurants, bars, and retail stores. I hope that you were also able to capitalize on our exclusive in-house Crystal Advantage card entitling you to discounts at all of these facilities.
Warm regards,
Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The staff were all friendly, engaging and informative. Very personalized service. The King Room was wonderful with a view of the Village Stroll. Bed awesome - had a great sleep. Starbucks and restaurants nearby - great to be in the middle of the action in Whistler.Overall excellent experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILowe, General Manager at Crystal Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
John, thank you for your recent 5 star review. We look forward to welcoming you back weather on business or pleasure again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ian Lowe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Lodge Hotel

Property: Crystal Lodge Hotel
Address: 4154 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#8 Business Hotel in Whistler
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#11 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crystal Lodge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crystal Lodge & Suites offers an unbeatable location in Whistler village, with a wide variety of rooms, lofts & suites, shops, restaurants and amenities to suit your every need. Just steps away from both Whistler and Blackcomb gondolas. The Crystal offers the most retail shops and restaurants attached to any one hotel in Whistler. Starbucks, Roots, Lululemon, Beacon Pub & Eatery, Wild Wood Pacific Bistro, Basalt Wine & Salumeria, and CanSki, to name a few. As a guest you will enjoy the benefits and discounts with our exclusive Crystal Advantage program. In addition to our location, rooms and services, you can also enjoy our heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness room, award winning 4 star service, complimentary wireless internet, heated underground parking, complimentary ski and bike valet. Your perfect whistler experience "at the centre of it all." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelClick, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Whistler
Crystal Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing