We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have been going to the pinnacle for years now and always enjoy the two man jacuzzi, pool, hot tub, air conditioning, great staff and service, ability to cook meals in our room, and of course the biking in Whistler. We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler Pinnac... H, Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello Melissa H,

Thank you for your review and truly appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    493
    148
    44
    15
See reviews for
277
646
54
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We are regulars to Whistler and usually stay for a couple of nights in a lodge with kitchen style accommodation but this weekend we had friends with us and decided to book a hotel. Despite booking weeks ahead the best deal I could find was $169 before tax for a 'deluxe' room at the Pinnacle. Of course with the $15 parking charge it ended up being well over $200 for a night. The reasons I felt ripped off:
* Check in was 4pm and check out 10am. 10am is too early for a checkout. Most hotels offer 11am or even noon. The check in/check out which was enforced because the hotel was apparently booked out meant we only had the room for 18 hours in total.
* Despite other reviews we didn't find the service friendly at all. In fact, at one point when we had a question at the front desk the staff member didn't even come out of the office to greet us but shouted to us from there
* The room was very hot and the A/C was very loud which made for a terrible sleep.
* The room while clean was very pokey, dated and the balconies were uninspiring (no view, gravelly and no furniture which mean dragging out chairs from the room).


The good things:
* The bed was pretty decent
* The pool was nice and a good temperature although a little constrained for seating.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not street facing (i.e. facing the boulevard).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 547jaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler Pinnac... H, Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello 547jaygirl,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the compliments and comments where we can improve. We do pride ourselves on our superior guest service and will be directing this to the appropriate departments.

Best regards,
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We made plans to stay here on Canada Day weekend after seeing some good reviews on Trip Advisor. Maybe it was our unlucky day, but we never figured out what everyone else saw in this place. The hotel was perfectly fine, and it makes a great first impression when you first drive up. But there were several minor issues and annoyances, so we were rather disappointed.

RESERVATION: We wanted to book a special rate that expired at the end of June and then book an additional night at regular rates. Unable to do it online, I called the hotel directly and they set it up. The reservations agent was helpful and pleasant. However, my confirmation email quoted a somewhat different rate. When I called back, they assured me that the correct rate was in the system and then emailed me another (correct) confirmation.

PARKING: The parking garage is below the hotel. The front desk clerk asked us to be very careful to park completely within the space (not over the lines) due to the limited parking, but they can only do so much about careless customers. The garage was packed and we managed to grab a very tight space, and the only one our mid-size car was going to fit into. Once your car is parked, though, you probably won't need it again.

ROOM: We arrived to a door that had been left open, probably by housekeeping. Once inside, we had a balcony with a view of the mountain. Nice! If you're going to watch TV, they have about 100 channels available and a nice flat screen; plus, there's a DVD player. But there were problems. The first thing I noticed was the lumpy comforter, which to me looked like it had seen better days. My wife said the lumpiness was a good sign, that it had been cleaned. But these were the bad signs: the sliding door onto the balcony was coming loose from the wall. In the bathroom, the sliding door for the shower needed repair. The hook in the back of the bathroom door was broken. We were given a couple well-worn towels that should already have been thrown away. The layout of the room was weird. My nightstand was a hot tub, right next to the bed -- no separation. I don't remember seeing a hot tub in the middle of the room before. I'd worry about moisture and partition it somehow. The kitchenette is a nice touch, although the refrigerator is too big for the space it's been wedged into. With that said, the hotel provided us two good nights' sleep on a comfortable bed and a good shower. It was a comfortable room with a great view.

WIFI: It's free. It also didn't work for much of our first night and the next morning. When I called the front desk about it, I was told that I was the 2nd person to call, so now they were going to check on it. Maybe I misunderstood, but shouldn't they have checked on it when the 1st person called?

HOUSEKEEPING: The room was clean, no complaints. However, they clearly don't have or don't use a checklist to ensure the room is properly prepared for guests. We used the coffee after our first night; they did not replace it. The in-room hardcover guides to Whistler were sticky and needed to be wiped down. They provided us two rolls of toilet paper, but one was getting low and the other was maybe half a roll. No, we didn't run out. But shouldn't there always be a full roll just in case? On a side note, we noticed the pool bathroom actually did run out of toilet paper. One more annoyance: there is a sign on the wall saying they'll charge you $15 for not washing the dishes. I'll assume this was intended for guests who leave a complete mess, but we were reluctant to leave anything in the sink. It's a hotel, not a condo -- not something we should have to worry about.

The hotel is owned by a condo developer. They have just a couple of hotels, so maybe they don't understand the difference. It's potentially a gem, but we kept thinking that the host of "Hotel Impossible" would be seriously frustrated with some of the basics they missed. This hotel could be so much more with a little attention to detail.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler Pinnac... H, Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello GoingEverywhere,
We really appreciate the time you took to write this review, I will make sure that your comments will be directed to the appropriate departments.

Best regards,
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I went to Whistler overnight for a little getaway - it was fantastic. I booked the hotel online, and through Trip Advisor, discovered that the Assistant Manager usually responds to all the comments which I thought gave a nice personal touch. He had mentioned there was a summer special that included tax and parking, and so we booked that. Very good value. Parking is otherwise $15 a day plus tax, so that made quite a difference. We paid $109 total. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The pool was small but refreshing. The rooms are quite adequate although a little dated (but I understand from the manager's previous comments that updates are being done this fall). Excellent location, close to everything but private and nestled among the trees. Kitchen facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend it and go there again.

Room Tip: We wanted to sleep with the balcony doors open, but late at night, when people were walking home aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler Pinnac... H, Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hello Vjshields,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Service from ALL staff members was great. The room has a jacuzzi tub, flat screen t.v., free Wifi, underground parking, DVD player, pull out couch, extra blankets and a functional kitchenette. The room could use some updating. What we noticed was the following: upholstery on the chair was coming apart at the base, there was a stain on the carpet near the dining table, there were no screens on any of the windows (bugs fly in) and the wallpaper near the sliding glass door and the bathroom was wrinkled/bubbled (former moisture issue?). Overall the room, bathroom and kitchenette were clean. The underside of the kitchen cabinet needed a good wipe down and the ridge on all the baseboards had a fine layer of dust. In spite of how this all sounds, our stay was enjoyable and if the price is right, we may return.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that Whistler is a party zone. The hotel is a few short blocks from Whistler Village a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler Pinnac... H, Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review L J. We will take your comments and suggestions to the appropriate departments.

Best regards
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My first impression of this hotel's entrance was underwhelming, however, the friendly staff more than made up for this. The room was also surprisingly spacious and clean. Parking was not free for our stay however we were allowed to stay parked until we left the next day (late afternoon).
Overall great location, good value, well maintained older hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterDOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Front Office Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we hope to have you stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This was my first visit staying overnight in the Whistler area-I am from BC but have always gone to the mountain for the day. We were upgraded to a deluxe studio room with a jetted tub in the room. Overall, the hotel was fine for one night but it wasn't anything special. We agreed that we would not have paid more than the $94.00/night we were charged, because honestly it's not really worth it. I'm not a picky traveler and try very hard to be fair, but there were a lot of little things that added up to bring the score down for this hotel.

Pros:
-Location. Everything is within walking distance.
-Large TVs, DVD player if you bring your own
-The kitchen was spotless and well stocked with dishes, etc.. It would be a plus if you have a family or want to save a little and cook your own food. Everything appeared to work well.
-Great staff
-Very, very clean.
-bedding was good
-great water pressure in shower
-free wifi, but it was really slooooow
-if you book directly w/ hotel you may be able to get free underground parking

Cons:
-the bathroom was dated and very small. Toilet bowl was cracked. Shower doors weren't completely working. There was no place (counter space) to set toiletries
-Lamp next to the bed didn't work
-lino on the counter by the kitchen sink was broken off
-mattress was sunken and we kept rolling to the middle of the bed
-the floor of the parking garage is REALLY slippery if you're on a motorcycle
-there is a sliding glass door that opens onto a small ledge with a small rail. If you have small kids, this is really dangerous! **avoid those rooms**
-A/c was noisy
-cancellation policy: if you arrive and don't like it, you're pretty much stuck because you have to cancel 48 hrs ahead of time
-to use hotel computer for internet, $1 gets you 6 minutes

I'm not saying this is a bad hotel, but i've definitely stayed in better. It has potential, with some upgrades. I was surprised that things seemed older, worn, and in disrepair considering the reviews on Trip Advisor and photos on the hotel site itself. With all the deals you can get in Whistler during the summer, I think you could pay just a little more and get something far, far nicer. That being said, the staff were impeccable. So it depends on what you are looking for, really. If you want a deal and don't care if the room is a little older, it's perfect. If you want luxury, try elsewhere.


I expected more. This is Whistler, after all.

Room Tip: If you have children, DO NOT get the rooms with the sliding glass doors that open onto a ledge. A ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScatteredKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Front Office Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we take all your valuable comments under advisement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.3 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Hotel Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Hotel Whistler

Property: Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Address: 4319 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Whistler Pinnacle Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
#15 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Hotel Whistler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinnacle Hotel Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing