We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise fire alarm testing, green jacuzzi water, puzzling conversations with staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinnacle Hotel Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Surprise fire alarm testing, green jacuzzi water, puzzling conversations with staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a 2 week stay here since this hotel has such high ratings. Everything started out nicely. Really good housekeeping team (possibly their best asset). Nice kitchen, jacuzzi, free wifi. First few days were really good. Then things started to go wrong.

Surprise! The hotel was having its annual fire alarm testing day, 3 days into our stay. We were not informed of this until we had prepaid for the entire stay, and checked in. We thought it would just be for a few minutes, but the really loud alarms and bright lights kept going on and off every 5 minutes for the entire day (10am to 5pm). I have no clue why they needed to test it that many times, but apparently they did. If we had been informed BEFORE BOOKING, that there would be alarm testing all day in the middle of our stay, we would have stayed elsewhere.

The jacuzzi worked well for the first 6 days. Then, the water turned green, and left a black sludge when drained. I've included photos of this. A front desk staff member told us that there had been some work done on the pipes recently, and that one of them may have broken, and to run the water to see if it clears up. When that didn't work, we were told that a maintenance person would be immediately sent up to have a look at it. We waited an hour, nobody came to look at it, so we returned to front desk. To our surprise, we were told that the maintenance person had come into the room to check it, and determined that the green was merely a reflection. We were in the room the whole time, and this simply did not happen. We spoke with the manager the next day, who repeated the same story to us, saying that the maintenance person had come into the room to check it, and that it was a reflection. She was very skeptical of our claim, even when we showed her a cell phone picture of the green water. We told her that another staff member told us that the pipes had some work done recently, and she denied that that ever happened. After some back and forth, she reluctantly gave us a $50 credit for our troubles.

The night before checkout, we asked if we could have a late check-out. The manager told us to call front desk the next morning and “I'm sure we'll be able to work something out for you”. The next morning, she answered the phone at the front desk and said no, without any explanation or attempt to work anything out. If she was going to say no, then why not just say so in the first place?

Also, we decided to stay in one day, and called front desk for some towels, shampoo, and toilet paper. The front desk person said “I'll see what we can do, but just so you know, housekeeping runs until 4pm, and you have to leave the room and let housekeeping in at some point”. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, and this is the first time I've ever had a problem asking for supplies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Wayne 515,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we do appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay is not what you hoped. We are required by law to test our fire alarm systems on a yearly basis at which we notify guests by notice in the elevators on the previous day. We have investigated the colour of the hot tub water further and found that the municipality was doing their seasonal water main flushing, and this possibly affected the colour of the water. Once again i do apologise.

Kind Regards
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    486
    146
    44
    15
See reviews for
268
641
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My friend and I just stayed 4 nights here for the May Long weekend and has a BLAST!!!!! The queen loft with kitchen was good enough for what we were there for, to sleep and snack. The rooms were clean, the staff were so nice and friendly and ready to serve you quickly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler Pinnac... H, Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your great review, we are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you,
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

100 CAD/ night accommodation is hard to come by. Set your expectations right. Do expect to pay a steeper price for a decent accommodation at Whistler.

We had 1 night's stay at the Standard Studio Suite. The room was clean and comfortable. It comes with an in-room kitchenette and modern recently furnished (looks new!) bathroom. There was a balcony with street and mountain views as well. It was a delightful experience to relax and unwind in the private jetted bathtub in the room. There is complimentary wifi.

The staff was friendly and great in giving advice on the best way to explore Whistler. We ventured on foot to avoid parking woes. Parking at the hotel costs CAD18 (before taxes). As we wanted to spend a bit more time at Whistler after checking-out the hotel, the hotel staff kindly allowed us to park our vehicle after we have checked-out. Thank you!

The hotel is nestled in the heart of Whistler’s pedestrian village. It is conveniently located to Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains as well as Whistler's finest restaurants, shopping and bustling nightlife along the Main Street. These places are within walking distance. Understand the hotel offers shuttle bus to gondola/lost lake. Just a note that Peak 2 Peak Gondola closes at about 330pm. The Grocery & Liquor Stores are located in the Heart of Whistler just off Village Square. COWS Whistler's ice-creams are fantabulous!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meixuan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi meixuan w,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind Regards
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a good Hotel! Great location, friendly staff, dog friendly, clean nice rooms. Price is very reasonable. Location excellent. My third stay, and won't go anywhere else.

If you want a quick getaway, the Pinnacle won't disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi Carol C,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay again, we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back again as repeat guests are amongst our favourites.
Kind Regards
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at the Pinnacle in April. It was kind of a mid season so many activities were not running which was ok as I wanted to check out the village more. The hotel was nice and clean. A little dated but its a boutique hotel. The room was a good size and a Jacuzzi was right beside the bed. Maybe a little too close to the bed. Bathrooms were upgraded and quite nice. TV cable didn't work at first. It was set up like Rogers Cable with the box in the room. Nice view in front of the hotel. The location was great. You have to walk outside the hotel and into the fitness room and then back outside to get to the pool. The pool was covered but in use and were told that if we wanted to use it we can roll up the cover which I thought was odd. The hot tub was real hot and too much to handle. But overall a nice clean hotel.

Room Tip: bring water with you at the hot tub. None is provided in the fitness room. You'll need it as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello GreekCanuck1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise regarding the pool cover as we are happy to remove for our guests. We look forward to you returning.

Kind Regards
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The staff were very efficient and we were given a free upgrade, probably because we chose a mid-week visit. Our room was excellent with new everything and was super clean. We didn't use the kitchen except to make coffee but it seemed to have everything needed if you wanted to cook.
The location of this hotel is excellent if you want some quiet time, but just a few steps away from all the action in the Village.
We only noticed one thing in our room which was the lack of bedside tables and it would have been nice to have a small table beside the armchair, and a shelf in the shower.
This was an excellent choice for our stay at Whistler!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Sandy B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I recently went for a weekend stay in Whistler with my girlfriend and stayed in the basic room here. At ~$100 a night, we got a kitchen (stove, full sized fridge, microwave, toaster, teapot, coffee maker, and dish washer), an in-room hot tub, a deck, a TV, and Wi-fi. Everything was really clean with a nice sized bed and couch. It was also only a block away from the village making it really easy to walk around and find a place to eat.

A few little things that could be fixed but didn't take away from the experience: AC unit was a bit weak and parking was a touch pricey at roughly $20 a night with all taxes included.

Room Tip: Apparently, cheaper parking can be found right across from the hotel. Also, 15% discount at the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy_J90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia A, Guest Relations Manager at Pinnacle Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Freddy_J90,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Sonia Anderson
Hotel Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Hotel Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Hotel Whistler

Property: Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Address: 4319 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Whistler Pinnacle Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#9 Business Hotel in Whistler
#15 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinnacle Hotel Whistler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pinnacle Hotel Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing