We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”
Review of Marketplace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marketplace Lodge
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I'm currently staying in #254. The apartment is clean, well equipped and has a good location. However it needs updating, double glazing is a must. We've been woken up every night with noise from kids joy riding in the car park, trash can opening and shutting and worse still the back fire exit door banging all hours. You also get the noise from the shops downstairs but this is usually done by 10pm.
I wouldn't recommend it and frankly am looking forward to going home for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and sleeping tablets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulufw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Strata council at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to the noise in the parking lot. The hotel has several sides and you can always ask which way it faces - one side of course faces the shopping plaza parking lot. We hope you come again as the Marketplace Lodge is one of the most convenient hotels to stay at because of its proximity to shopping and shuttle bus. Being the holiday season there are more people in the resort so it may be a little louder than normal but you can always ask the owner or the management company for information on the room and which area it faces before you make a reservation if this is important to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    26
    14
    19
See reviews for
38
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emeryville, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in #219 at Marketplace Lodge while competing in Ironman Canada. The location is ideal for Ironman -- right across from all the activities at the Olympic Park, but quiet. Just steps away from 2 coffee shops, a full service supermarket and a drug store. The wi-fi was very fast, and the AC kept the unit very comfortable. The AC unit is outside, so it is quiet. Nice flat screen TV with basic cable. Kitchen is small but serviceable. Washer and dryer. Not huge, but fine for a single or couple. Easy convenient free parking. Reasonable rates.

Room Tip: 219 was quiet and well equipped. The owner, Jacqueline Sali, is very responsive and helpful. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merrill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 days/nights in Whistler, booking with Jacquie Sali, the responsive and personable owner of Marketplace Lodge condo #219. Plenty of room for the 2 of us, great price, free wifi, cable TV, great kitchen, new A/C, washer/dryer (very convenient), free/safe underground parking, and within easy walking distance of everything (we never moved the car until we left). Jacquie emailed and called us to make sure everything was OK, even letting us know in advance that the washing machine had a glitch (the repair man was finishing up when we arrived).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Owner at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, we hope you come again...and Yes, washing machines do eat socks, and we were glad the service man was able to retrieve the sock trapped in the drain before your arrival :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Booked this hotel through Expedia and was not impressed. My boyfriend and I booked this room for two nights. We searched for a hotel that provided FREE onsite parking. We arrived at the hotel, after having to check-in off site at another hotel....
After checking-in we went to the provided parking where we discovered our Truck did not fit in any of the spaces! The front desk staff offered us another space that turned out to be even smaller than the first! So we ended up parking away from our hotel in a non-secure parking lot. NOT HAPPY. The staff could of offered for us to park outside the check-in hotel so at least our truck & belongings would be safe. But they did not, not very helpful. If we had known we couldn't use the parking we would've booked a nice hotel somewhere else.
As for the room it was clean but not quite and had NO AIR CON instead there was a small LOUD fan in the room that did nothing, we almost melted! Loud people running through the halls at night. Also no housekeeping during your stay... kind of gorse seeing as you are on Holiday and would like a cleaned room during your stay. The bed was a fold down bed, felt camper styled.
Unfortunately I have to say the nicest part of the hotel was the hot tub but as we were in Whistler for the Village and not the hot tub, we did not use it very often. Not a happy customer especially as I am a hotel receptionist myself, very disappointed and the parking definitely stressed out our holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Strata council at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Each property is owned separately and most owners go to great lengths to improve their property. Some have added air conditioners and others have not. It is always best to ask and see most recent photos of the property, You can book some of the properties in the hotel directly with the owner and they can answer most or all of your questions including parking concerns. Booking through a management company or service, they may not know a lot about the property and therefore unable to help. Check the reviews on tripadvisor and note the suite number so that next time you may have a more comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Room #247:
Summary: Exactly what we were looking for and paid for.

Positives:
1. Free wi-fi
2. Cable TV
3. Affordable
4. Free Parking
5. Walking distance to everything
6. Customer Service
7. Kitchen Amenities (saves a lot of money on coffee/breakfast/lunch so we can splurge on dinners)
8. This may seem small but they provided a strong little fan for us on these hot summer nights since there was no A/C

Complaints:
1. Noise from amphitheater got pretty loud sometimes but it was never a big deal since they were done by 10 PM at the latest.
2. The Bed. I think all they need to do is buy or have available a mattress pad topper. Having no box springs makes for a relatively firm surface. It was not a game changer but coming from a soft bed our backs did not enjoy that too much.

Overall a wonderful experience and a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Located in the middle of the action, with a hot tub, a bit outdated, reasonably used and abused, clean, convenient located around supermarkets, banks, resto's, 15 min walk to ski lift. I hear there is a shuttle, but did not use it. No management on situ, check in is on the other side of the village :(. The sofa bed is really not confortable though!

Room Tip: the "hotel" room is absolutely tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAngela_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a well worn but comfortable unit. The den has a trundle bed that sleeps two but the frame squeaks and groans if you move around. The coffee table is rickety and the dining room chairs are dangerously rickety and need to be screwed together before someone gets hurt. It's a long walk to the lifts but the shuttle stops just outside the door. Appliances work, although i did have to tighten a screw on the stove. Take a knife sharpener or your own knives. The cooking utensils are functional but a bit of a mish-mash.There are nicer units in the building but this was available and it served its purpose. I would stay her again but it would not be my first choice. TV and internet work. There is a nice view of the mountains.

Room Tip: I like the Marketplace Lodge because the supermarket, pharmacy, candy store, liquor store and severa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank taneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.4 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistler Cascade Lodge
Whistler Cascade Lodge
#8 of 55 in Whistler
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketplace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketplace Lodge

Property: Marketplace Lodge
Address: 4360 Lorimer Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marketplace Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and well-appointed, these privately-owned condo units are the perfect choice for the traveler who enjoys comfort and convenience. Centrally-located and with a common area hot tub and easy access to shops and restaurants, Marketplace Lodge is ideal for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marketplace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Marketplace Hotel Whistler
Marketplace Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing