We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“309 marketplace lodge -AVOID- The biggest ripoff in Whistler”
Review of Marketplace Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marketplace Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“309 marketplace lodge -AVOID- The biggest ripoff in Whistler”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Marketplace lodge #309 AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Let me start this review with the positives:

1) The building is in a central location
2) The communal spa is nice

Both of these can be accredited to the building, which I would recommend staying in. Unfortunately, we rented what had to be the worst flat in the building in terms of both liveability and customer service received.

This unit was marketed as a two bedroom (1 queen room & a den with bunk beds) two bathroom capable of sleeping 6. The bunk room was clearly a drying room with some bunk beds in it. The bunk beds were old, rickety and by no means safe for adults to sleep on. The room was so small that a suitcase could hardly fit on the ground next to it. In addition to this, the door was transparent offering absolutely no privacy. This room had no air conditioning or windows either.
Throughout the entire unit there was serious damage. The walls were chipped, cracked and stained. The carpet looked as if it had never been cleaned and all the towels/ sheets/ duvets were old and filthily stained.

Unit #309 was also claimed to be ‘recently furnished’ and ‘self contained’. On arrival the kitchen lacked any cooking pots, glasses, baking trays, strainers, breadboards and cleaning materials. The coffee pot and toaster were also broken. The gas fireplace was broken and the ancient vacuum cleaner did more harm than good. We were told that this apartment would be suitable for a three month holiday. When we raised some of these concerns with the landlord, he addressed some of the minor/ less expensive issues such as buying some cooking pots and glasses for the apartment. However, none of the larger issues were addressed. When we raised these issues repetitively he simply ignored us knowing that we had zero leverage as we had paid all of our rent up front., as well as a $1000 bond.

Our greatest concern was the fridge. Every 20 or so odd minutes it would make a loud and annoying humming noise for about 10 minutes. With the kitchen being a part of the living room this noise made it next to impossible to sleep on the foldout sofa, which was difficult enough considering how old and springy it was. We raised this concern immediately on arrival and were told we would have a new fridge on the 19th of December (in over two week’s time). When this fell through we were told it would be on the 4th of January and when that fell through we were told it would be on the 29th of January. Naturally this was not the landlords fault, but the fault of the fridge company. However, he refused to prove it to us or allow us to find a fridge company willing to deliver sooner. So for 2 of our three months in Whistler we had this humming noise in the living room, where two people would have to sleep each night. Which of course we received no discount, compensation or apology for.

The property is also said to have an underground parking space. We repeatedly inquired about this spot and were never given a response.

This apartment has to be one of the worst in Whistler. Nothing has been repaired in years by the looks of things. The photos I have uploaded were all taken on arrival for proof that we didn’t cause the long list of damage in the apartment, but as we suspected from the start our cash bond was gone regardless.

It is not equipped with the necessary items for it to be self-contained and unfortunately the service we received was not in the slightest bit reflective of Canadian hospitality. As we booked online the landlord took advantage of our inability to properly assess the property and demanded an upfront payment close to double what others in the building were paying. We also had to pay an unexplainably large bond, which like the emails and messages we sent, was not returned. Please note, tripadvisor privacy policy prevents me from uploading email/ message history to confirm my accusations. But just take my advice…

Here is the scam of marketplace #309:

1. Rent it out online, charge the tenants an abnormally high rent and bond upfront so they have no leverage for arguments during their stay
2. Leave the property in the poor state it has been in for most likely years
3. Blame the poor condition on the tenants
4. Keep their bond and don’t use it to fix the property.
5. Find some more unsuspecting victims looking for a nice holiday and repeat steps 1-4

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeteRow91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Strata agent at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 16 February 2016
#309 has since been sold and is no longer available for rent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    26
    14
    19
See reviews for
38
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Marketplace Lodge #219 booked through the owner, Jacquie Sali in March 2014 for skiing and totally loved every minute of our stay. Jacquie made the whole process super simple and she is very friendly and helpful. The place has everything you could need and more. The location is fantastic, right in the village with the supermarket just across the car park and lots of other shops close by. Getting to the slopes is so easy as the free shuttle bus stops very close by. The condo is very comfortable with full kitchen, great shower, good Tv with some excellent DVDs that Jacquie has provided, comfortable beds, quite spacious for a 1 bedroom condo, area for storing skis, washing machine and dryer. It was quiet as well and looks out onto the Olympic Plaza. It really is unbelievable value! I really, really, really recommend her place. You will not be disappointed!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin_NorthVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Owner at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you Colin, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you become a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I hardly ever write reviews but felt that I needed to so that other travellers will not have to go through what we had to endure!!! This was a long awaited trip (without our kids ) snowboarding in whistler. I booked this accommodation through Whistler Retreats which in hindsight I would have booked direct. (When you have a third party booking situation ..if there is a problem NO ONE takes responsibility ) so book direct. So when booking I brought up my concern that I had read numerous reviews on tripadvisor and Yelp that there was noise from the car park outside the apartment. I was told yes! When the nightclubs end there are the usual noises but generally don't last that long and a Snowplough will clear the road in the mornings around 5.30 to 6 pm . Ok I could live with that and booked it. At 4.03am there was a snowplough outside not JUST clearing the road and driving by which I had imagined BUT it cleared the whole car park and it took 2 hours. I would defy any heavy sleeper to sleep through the constant scrape of an iron bucket against concrete for 2 hours!! Incidentally with full beam lights coming directly into the apartment. We moved out that morning and complained. Neither the Marketplace Lodge not Whistler Retreats will take responsibility. We booked into the Holiday Inn Whistler and had a perfect quiet nights sleep.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Strata council member at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are sorry to hear about your interrupted sleep. The hotel faces several different directions and one of them being the parking lot. Other views are of the olympic plaza, valley trail and mountains. Each property is individually owned and you can personally ask which way the room faces if this is a preference for you. Unfortunately we cannot predict when the snow flies, and it just happened that there was a lot of snow during your stay and the parking lot for the Marketplace has to be cleaned. The hotel itself is in a great location with amenities close by. We hope you return and perhaps select another property on the back side of the building as that is your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in 305 a 1 bd with den and a verandah with views of Blackcomb mountain. just near spa.
a few steps from the free shuttle to the lifts. Clean, well equipped, comfortable beds. loved the location because close to olympic square and coffee shops, restaurants and able to stroll thru the village any time with ease. 3 of us - couple and 23yr old son. Having two bathrooms also a plus.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamills07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at 219 Marketplace over Christmas and had a great time. The connection to the bus to get to the ski lifts was super and the convenience of having groceries, liquour store and drug store really helped. It was mainly quiet - a few early morning furniture shifting upstairs, but no noise from Olympic Plaza or the shopping area. The unit is very well thought out with easy places to store skis and gear out of the way, washer and dryer in unit and a full kitchen. We really missed not having a bathtub in unit and some of the furnishing/appliances could use updating. The owner, Jacquie, was super helpful, checking in during our stay, even calling the first day, to make sure we had everything to make our stay comfortable. We'd stay here again, even without the bathtub!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Owner at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review and happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes, I do not have stainless appliances or granite counters but they are all functional. A new kitchen could be on the agenda with perhaps some new bedroom night stands, but my pricing would have to increase quite a bit to cover this additional renovation and guests have been very happy with clean functional accommodations without breaking the bank. I will re-think the new kitchen to see if it will work for my budget and thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I'm currently staying in #254. The apartment is clean, well equipped and has a good location. However it needs updating, double glazing is a must. We've been woken up every night with noise from kids joy riding in the car park, trash can opening and shutting and worse still the back fire exit door banging all hours. You also get the noise from the shops downstairs but this is usually done by 10pm.
I wouldn't recommend it and frankly am looking forward to going home for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs and sleeping tablets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulufw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaxie1212, Strata council at Marketplace Lodge, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay due to the noise in the parking lot. The hotel has several sides and you can always ask which way it faces - one side of course faces the shopping plaza parking lot. We hope you come again as the Marketplace Lodge is one of the most convenient hotels to stay at because of its proximity to shopping and shuttle bus. Being the holiday season there are more people in the resort so it may be a little louder than normal but you can always ask the owner or the management company for information on the room and which area it faces before you make a reservation if this is important to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in #219 at Marketplace Lodge while competing in Ironman Canada. The location is ideal for Ironman -- right across from all the activities at the Olympic Park, but quiet. Just steps away from 2 coffee shops, a full service supermarket and a drug store. The wi-fi was very fast, and the AC kept the unit very comfortable. The AC unit is outside, so it is quiet. Nice flat screen TV with basic cable. Kitchen is small but serviceable. Washer and dryer. Not huge, but fine for a single or couple. Easy convenient free parking. Reasonable rates.

Room Tip: 219 was quiet and well equipped. The owner, Jacqueline Sali, is very responsive and helpful. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merrill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.4 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marketplace Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marketplace Lodge

Property: Marketplace Lodge
Address: 4360 Lorimer Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marketplace Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable and well-appointed, these privately-owned condo units are the perfect choice for the traveler who enjoys comfort and convenience. Centrally-located and with a common area hot tub and easy access to shops and restaurants, Marketplace Lodge is ideal for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marketplace Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Marketplace Hotel Whistler
Marketplace Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing