We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip - not a good stay.”
Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I am currently staying at the Adara and it's a big disappointment. The staff is friendly and it's close to the Convention centre - but that's about all the positive I can mention.

It's a bit unclear what Green Key Program they follow because the shower stall is grunchy, there is mold on the bottom wall tiles, the floor tiles - well let me just say I am putting a towel down before stepping into it. At home I use natural cleaning products and my bathrooms do not look like that.

The room I have is supposed to be one of the quietest ones facing the courtyard so I was surprised to find ear plugs and a background noise maker in the room. However, listening to the continuous 'pounding' of the base from the pub downstairs for the past two hours I understand why. So if you are here on a business trip do not stay here - you will not get enough sleep (unless 4 hours is sufficient).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

thank you for taking the time to write this review. All reviews are useful, even when they are not positive. For future guests reading this review, it is best to mention issues to our front desk staff who can solve the problem rather than writing to trip advisor first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 702 reviews

A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
Zuerich
1
Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A Whistler Blackcomb traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I bought a Groupon for two nights at the Adara boutique hotel in Whistler. The rooms were clean, but the ear plugs and noise maker on the bedside table were a little suspect. The front desk staff were very helpful, storing our bikes, parking our van and giving us info. It was clean and the bed was huge, although I found it a little hard. The location was perfect though allowing us to walk all over the village. Too bad it was raining so hard and we couldnt do the hiking or zip lining we had hoped to do.. Next time

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Many thanks for the kind review. You must certainly come back and check out the zip-line and enjoy the wonderful hiking trails. Be sure to mention that you are a returning guest for the best rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Adara for 10 nights on our first trip to Canada. This hotel had the nicest room of the trip and had a real Canadian flavour with a log decal on the shower and fire place. The rooms are really quite large with a generous entry area for hanging coats and storing gloves etc. They also have a lockable area towards the front of the lobby for all the ski gear as well.

The best thing was coming back to the hotel where they had freshly baked choc chip cookies every afternoon timed to when the lifts are closing down. So good! They also have a roof top spa if your game to walk the few steps in the snow.

There was however, a grievance upon our otherwise lovely stay:

1. Upon arrival the receptionist froze over $1200 (price of our room) in our accounts for our room despite paying in full prior to our arrival. This was a pretty major mistake as when they unfreeze this it still takes up to a week for the banks to replace it in your account. For 2 20 year olds that is a lot of money too. (We found out later that the receptionist was new so maybe thats why??)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMiddlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

thank you for the great review. We hope that you will make another trip to Canada soon and come visit us again. It is our policy to pre-authorize the remaining balance upon check in. Sorry if that strained your pocket book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We typically choose to stay at independent hotels rather than corporate properties and, we are also seek hotels that are at least trying to practice sustainability in their overall operations. Although the "Green Key" program which the Adara has aligned itself with is a self-certifying program, we felt better about taking advantage of a Fall Special they offered for a two-night stay. I noted the recycle container in the room and the info that stated they purchase recycled paper products for their baths. Also, we NEVER ask for room service of new sheets or towels for a short stay as we don't do this at home-why would we do it on vacation? The housekeeping staff that we met in the hallways were very pleasant.

The hotel is located in the Village, walking distance to all shops, mountains and one golf course. It is contemporary and offered all that we needed; small frig, micro, afternoon cookies (yum), breakfast bars (double yum), bike storage, nice staff and sweet Kate (the Golden). Downside is you are in_the_village, so it can be noisy at night when people are out party-ing. Earplugs were supplied in our room which happened to be on the side where outdoor dining was available.

We don't need five stars and prefer to give our money to the small businesses that truly need to carve out their niche. The Adara was one we would return to at Whistler.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for supporting local business with an interest in reducing our carbon footprint. We look forward to you returning to the Adara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This hotel is fun and unique. The loft style rooms and roof top pool and hot tub really added an unexpected element to our trip to whistler. We had purchased a night through 'Top Secret Hotels' on Travelocity.ca. Had never even heard of this quaint hotel. Super funky loft with two flat screens one on each level. Bar area with a safe and toiletries galore. The 24 hour concierge was friendly and had hot pastries and good coffee ready for the morning. If I had to point out one thing needed for improvement is the housekeeping. Coffee table and night stands were stained and actually dirty. And there were two different coloured hairs on our bed sheets!! Absolutely unacceptable. No excuses for these two complaints! However if housekeeping can improve make sure u stay in this gem of a hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anchored1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

thank you for your review. It is of great help to receive constructive comments from our guests. The issues you mentioned are being looked at in order to correct them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice big clean rooms with modern furniture. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Wish we could have stayed longer. Our room had a balcony that was nice for watching the sun come up.
Took advantage of the hot tub too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ababychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Many thanks for your review. It means allot to us to receive such a positive review from an experience traveler and review writer. We look very much forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,806 reviews
0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £126 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing