We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Adara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adara Hotel
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Brigton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My son and myself has just returned from a skiing trip to Whistler and stayed at the Adara hotle in the village. The hotel itself is very nice having been updated from what looks like an old hostel type building. The room were clean and spacious, the beds comfortable and the rainfall shower was hard to get out of. The hotel staff were all very friendly, and the free coffee and cookies in the afternoon were great.
However, what none of the marketing material tells you is that the hotel sits above a nightclub, so at about 10 on 2 of the four evenings we were there (luckily not a weekend) the drum and bass started and continued to the early hours, rendering sleep impossible (oh for tablet computers and free apps.). The hotel has an 'noise policy' that they point out on check-in, stating that all noise must be kept to a minimum between the hours of 10pm and 7am.......well any of the nights the club was opne this wouldn't need policing as you'd be struggling to be heard above the music from the club.
Whilst this sounds negative, my overall impression is that the Adara is a nice hotel, but it's just in the wrong place unfortunately..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FattieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We care very much about the sleep quality of our guests, which is why slumber machines and ear plugs are available in every room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    183
    78
    36
    40
See reviews for
126
239
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had originally bought travelzoo vouchers to stay at this hotel. 2 days before I was supposed to go, I came down with bronchitis. I called the hotel to cancel and let them know, and also let them know that I would like to stay there and use my vouchers - even if I lost the full deal because of the promotional value expiry dates. The manager tried his best to be helpful and accomodate me, which was appreciated. However....

Upon arriving, valet only. Which is a charge. I don't like strangers touching my vehicle. Not happy about seeing them PEEL out of the parking lot in my new vehicle. NOT HAPPY.

Second. It was very very COLD this trip. I could not turn up the heat in my room. At all. The electric fireplace was completely useless. Drafty windows. I slept in my puffy jacket, in my sleeping bag, under the covers, with a hot water bottle - and was STILL COLD. Called the font to complain/ask if it could be fixed. Nothing was ever done. No follow-up either.

Front desk staff, the young guy the night I checked in was very pleasant. Nice to deal with. Seems understaffed there. Checkout was horrible. One luggage cart in the whole bloody place and it had a flat wheel. Beds were AWFUL. Bathrooms looked like they were slapped together quickly - not 100% clean either, and there were fruit-flies coming out of the drain.

Nice touch for the kitchenette, however, if you are putting in burners you need ventilation. Come on, it's pretty simple.

Asked for a very quiet room as I had read reviews about the thumping night-club below the hotel (oh, and was it ever thumping). They put me in a room right next to the elevator - and its doors squeaked every time they opened or closed.

Overall, I barely slept, was freezing cold, and was sooo uncomfortable on the terrible beds.

I WILL NEVER GO BACK.

Room Tip: Big rooms, poorly designed. Stay away from the elevator and nightclub. And the terrible beds. Oh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenYYC09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, all reviews are important to us. It is regrettable that you did not enjoy your stay. For guests who do not wish to have their car valeted there are public parking lots in Whistler although it would be difficult for our valet to PEEL the 20 meters from the hotel entrance to the garage. I think that most people are sensitive about new cars. The regular guest who stayed in that room after you left loves the suite so I am surprised about your comments regarding the suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Good value, Beautiful Loft suites!! Location is same building as Buffalo Bills. Fresh backed cookies and coffee in the morning. Staff is very friendly and helpful. All round a wonderful weekend!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Loft suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
It is so nice that you had a wonderful weekend with us in Whistler. Your review is greatly appreciated. Be sure to call us directly when you wish to return and ask for the 'returning guest rate'. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Overall quite pleased. The Adara offers the advantages of a small hotel (everything close by, rooms not a mile from the reception desk, more personal service) that make up for the disadvantages (no hotel restaurant, no spa, no swimming pool, etc). The rooms were nicely furnished. I liked the walk-in shower (i.e., not a bathtub/shower combo). There was plenty of space. Ample closet/storage space.
Convenient location - <10 minute walk to the Whistler gondola and easy access to lots of restaurants and bars. I'd read other reviews complaining about noise from the bar below - it didn't bother us and we didn't need to avail ourselves of the complimentary earplugs or white-noise machine. The outdoor hot-tub/jacuzzi was adequate - room for 4 strangers or 6 close friends. Lobby offers warm breakfast bars, coffee, and cider in the morning and warm cookies in the afternoon - nice touch. Charge for overnight parking was about half what the big hotels charge.
I thought it odd that they pre-authorize $50/night for "incidentals" when there is no room service, no minibar ... no conceivable way to rack up that much in charges. I guess it's to cover any damages?

Room Tip: We had a room on the front-side of the hotel - which overlooks a small cul-de-sac surrounded by othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giromondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
thank you very much for the great review. You have made a point that is often overlooked, our parking is half the price of the big hotels. Some guests park their cars with us and the pre-authorization can be used for that but you are correct, it is mostly in case of damages. We hope you will come back soon and follow us on Facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at the Adara overnight on a recent trip to Whistler. Their location is AWESOME. I like how they are not right in the village, but not detached from the village. Everyone was very hospitable. We were in a Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds on the 2nd Floor. Everything was clean and the room was comfortably furnished. Large windows with lots of natural light. Cool electric fireplace which kept the room really cozy. The bathroom was the BEST surprise. Nice amenities and finishes. I really enjoyed the extra touches like scent sticks and the rainwater shower head. Parking was easy and the best part, once you check-in you will NOT need your car again because you are just steps to the village. I won't lie the hotel was a little on the noisy side and you can hear a lot from other rooms. Earplugs and even a sound machine were in the room, but I didn't use either and slept fine. I would recommend requesting a 3rd floor room on the corner. Keep up the great work Team Adara and I'll see you again... hopefully SOONER than later.

Room Tip: Would recommend the 3rd floor / corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
thank you for the wonderful review. Our location is perfect, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It will be great to see you again, hopefully sooner than later. Team Adara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Nelson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Adara hotel, conveniently located on top of one night club and across the road from another. I should have known by the complimentary earplugs on the nightstand next to the fancy sound machine that something was amiss. This was confirmed from 10:30 pm through to about 3am from the sound of bass, loud music, people shouting and swearing, hollering, outside the bar etc. The staff were unhelpful and when we complained about the noise, they told us to use the earplugs.

do not stay here if you want to sleep - unless you want a nightmare.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesliesouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your review, all reviews are important to us. It is a shame that the lively Whistler night life kept you awake. We provide ear plugs and slumber machines in all rooms because we care about our guests sleep quality. Light sleepers should ask for a room on the Village Green side of the building and the loft suites on the 3rd floor are generally more restful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Located in the heart of Whistler Village and a short walk to the Whistler Gondola I could not recommend the Adara hotel more highly! I travel to Whistler frequently from Vancouver and have tried lots of hotels but this one tops them in terms is service and value for money! The staff are superb and could not be more helpful! The rooms are very quiet despite being in the centre of the village! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, General Manager at Adara Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Many thanks for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure to call direct the next time you want to visit and ask for our 'returning guest rate'. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Hotel

Property: Adara Hotel
Address: 4122 Village Green, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Whistler
#17 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a town envied for its lifestyle, Adara Hotel Whistler kicks it up a notch, combining an outstanding location with exceptional service and style. Highlighting BC's best contemporary design elements, the hotel's 41 guestrooms and suites are laced throughout with colour, charm and wit. The Adara Hotel boasts a two level, rundlestone lobby with a warm and inviting fireplace and lounge area. The history of the Adara dates back to the late 1980’s when the building was constructed as the Timberline Lodge. In 2005 extensive renovations transformed the rustic lodge into a dynamic, designer boutique hotel. The concept of the Box Interior Design agency, was soon the ‘talk of the town.’ Box Design was awarded with the IIDA Northern Pacific Chapter: InAwards 2006 Design in Hospitality for their striking work on the Adara Hotel.“the décor of the Adara Hotel, the first designer boutique in the ski resort of Whistler, BC, features a distinctive rustic mountain style that wittily mixes whimsy, contemporary design, and glamour” Hospitality Design. The decor is distinctive yet cozy, inviting the senses to a unique experience. Think only of yourself, feel at home and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing