We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Listel Hotel Whistler
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Delta Hotels Whistler Village Suites(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$114
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crystal Lodge Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aava Whistler Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$172
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Evolution(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nita Lake Lodge(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Legends(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
270
456
190
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
456
190
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbearfoot bistroice roomvodka barcontinental breakfastgreat locationhard boiled eggsyogurthot tubfront desk stafftwo queen bedssmall fridgecentral locationthird floorper nightbit datedcoffee makerski boots
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
536 - 541 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I can't say this is the worst hotel I've stayed at in Whistler but I won't be staying here again. The staff was absolutely unaccomodating, considering the circumstances of our trip. Hospitality is not on the menu here - the staff are are only empowered to say no from the front desk all the way up to management. It would've been very easy for them to waive a nominal late checkout charge to make my stay 100% better but that just was not an option. Sure, I get there are rules and all that but denying a reasonable request during trying circumstances is just bad business.

Looking at the website you'd think you're going to be checking into some posh boutique hotel - but then you realize this is a former Best Western. The rooms are still "rustic" and haven't been updated for quite a while- the shower was mildewy the furniture felt like it was purchased from a garage sale. Also, the hotel seems to be a party hotel. Combined with cheap wood construction, where you can hear people stomping and screaming all night as the parties continue on late into the morning, makes for a bad combination if you're trying to sleep.

The hot tub can hold maybe 6 people max - so good luck trying to use the facilities without getting quite intimate with your fellow 100 guests. For a place to crash after a party I'd say go for it but that's about it. Location wise it's in a good location, in the middle of the village and 5 minutes to the gondola.

There are many options in Whistler - I'd avoid this one unless you don't have another choice.

Room Tip: only get a room on the top floor, unless you don't want to get a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeMckinnon, Front Office Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and give us the opportunity to elaborate further on the circumstances of your trip which caused your dissatisfaction.
The day of this guest’s arrival the sea to sky highway had to be closed for several hours due to a fatal car collision. As a result this guest was delayed arriving to Whistler until late afternoon along with many other guests affected by this tragic accident. The following day the guest requested a complimentary 6pm checkout as compensation for his highway experience. Unfortunately due to guest reservations arriving that day we were unable to accommodate this request.
Our Front desk team presented two options for this guest. One was for the guest to retain his room until 4:00pm for a small fee, the second option, the guest was welcome to leave his vehicle in our garage free of charge, as well as utilize our baggage storage for the day and our hot tub/change room facilities upon returning from his day on the ski hill. Neither option met this guest’s expectations and were declined.
The Listel Hotel Whistler is formally a Best Western. Since becoming independent we have renovated our guest hallways, our lobby, as well as replacing many of our guest room mattresses and upgrading our TV’s to 37” LCD . Most notably we have renovated our conference area to offer complimentary continental breakfast for our guests. Mostly the feedback we have received about our renovations has been positive.
I agree with the feedback about our location. Our location combined with our good value, make us a popular choice for guest’s who want to be in the heart of the village!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel feebly attempts to mask its cheap construction and indifference to customer satisfaction by having updated the lobby with bargain-basement modern decor on the lower level. Right now as I try to sleep, a pack of snow loving young folks maraud upstairs. The ceiling is shuddering; I hear lots of animated shouts that I would not be hearing if this property were not built of shallow cards. I have zero respect for people who run such establishments, and that is why this one is getting a bad review. Get some green glue and insulate your pathetic walls and ceilings. Can't believe this place gets such good reviews. The people must have been lucky enough to not have anyone around them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manuex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed two nights in november 2013 and we loved it! Got a nice big room, clean and with free wifi. Fast wifi! Breakfast is alright, considering it is complimentary! Great, central location, also for hiking if you are not into skiing. Friendly staff! All in all, a good hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the Listel on Friday and Saturday night. Check in was quick and uncomplicated. Staff in general is nice and helpful. We had a double room and it was quite spacious. The bathroom is a bit dated and I am not a big fan of pink tiles but it was clean and thats more important. Also, they provide lots of towels and nice amenities. WiFi connection is great. Breakfast is not impressive but due to the great location you have lots of close by restaurants. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here Friday-Sunday of this weekend. Hotwired a deal of $160 for 3 days/2 nights including all taxes & fees, so can't complain about the price :) had to pay $18/night for parking tho, which is fairly cheap considering most hotels charge $25+ per night.

Check-in was a breeze.. put a hold on $100 for a security deposit (rly liked that it was a hold not a charge!) and was told about all amenities & the free continental breakfast on the spot. Great service from the ladies @ the front.

Room had 2 queens, 2 chairs & a table, a large dresser, & a half-sized fridge. Way better than the mini ones most hotels come with! There was a coffee maker, kettle, free coffee, & plenty of glasses & mugs. The washroom was clean & spacious as well as the room. It was a bit muggy & there's only one window that opens but closing the blinds helped with the sun.

The continental breakfast had waffles, toasts, bagels, Danishes & muffins, as well as apples/bananas, yogurts, cereals, & hard boiled eggs. Also had lots of coffee & juices available. A good assortment that is pretty much all you can eat- definitely a good way to start the morning! The meal room itself is very cozy... You can sit at tables, bar stools, or even on couches that are all near multiple TVs. Just like eating breakfast @ home!

Parking is gate-secured & only open to cardholders, with spacious stalls & tons of options! Out the front entrance & to the right takes you right underneath another hotel that opens up to the village walkway. Close to all the best shops, Restos, & pubs nearby! Really good location

If you're looking for a descent- priced, standard, clean, well-kept hotel then this is the place for you. Would be nice if they offered free parking in the off-season like I'm used to but the free breakfast was a great alternative. Would highly recommend & definitely enjoyed the peace & quiet of it being behind another hotel on the village walkway ;)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nm320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews