We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep Looking - this is not the hotel for you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Whistler
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
xpcv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Keep Looking - this is not the hotel for you”
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I had a pretty miserable stay at this hotel recently. Arrived at the advertised check-in time (which was insultingly late, imho - 3:00pm, but actually 4 pm!) , and we were sent away as they were not ready for us. For any guests, really - mop and bucket blocking the front door, storage rooms full of junk off lobby wide open for all to see, and upstairs in the hallways old junk televisions in front of every door, making it impossible to navigate with your luggage. The underhotel parking garage similarly full of stuff no guest should have to look upon, and for the privilege of navigating through their piles of junk furniture stacked up down there, you pay $18 extra. My thoughts about this hotel: given another 2 days, they might have been ready to open for business. Had same problem as another reviewer here with hotel shower - scaldingly hot when other guests flush their toilets. If the price matched the quality, this would be a $49.99 per night stay, and I'd have no complaints. But they market themselves as something more - quite delusional. Better value at UBC's hostel with the a higher standard of service!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xpcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
I am of course unhappy that this guest had a poor experience with us; as noted in the comment we were in the midst of renovating at the time... we completely re-did the lobby, our meeting space, the guestroom corridors and added new flat screen TV's to all guestrooms. Typically renovations are completed during our slowest time of the year, November, as was the case here. Generally pricing does reflect both the season and the inconvenience of any disruption that may occur. I suspect that our failing in this case was that the guest was either not made aware of the ongoing renovations when booking, or wasn't paying attention when told, in any case I am sorry that it disrupted the stay. As an aside, check-in time to our hotel and I believe most hotel's in Whistler (and most other places for that matter) is 3PM. If a guest arrives before that time we are generally able to park their car and store their lugguge until the rooms is ready to be occupied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    439
    177
    58
    36
See reviews for
220
371
72
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We only were able to stay one night at the Listel, but it was a lovely stay. No bells and whistles, but the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. I loved that I was able to walk everywhere once I was there, but it was enough on the 'outskirts' that it was wonderfully quiet at night.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RCPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed with my family, water in the shower was so hot that you could get burned if you did not jump out of the way. Maintenance man did not speak English. No follow up. Women were toppless in the hot tub and hotel manager said that the camera's don't work in the hot tub. Hotel guests, very drunk making extremely loud noise at all ours of the night, not once did I see a security guard walk around the building to make sure all guests were safe. One room over more than 10 people slept in a room that accommodates 4, management and staff were unaware of anything. The hotel manager thinks everything is ok with a "sorry you had a bad stay", not we will look into preventing this from happening again, we need to change things, nothing!!!! He didn't seem to care, you were here and no your not, who cares!!! If you are going to Whistler and thinking about staying in this hotel with your family....DON'T!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disappointmenthotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Whistler, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
The concern regarding water temperature "spikes" is an issue and is being addressed, I'd suggest that it is more an annoyance than a safety concern. The hotel's engineers all speak fluent english and the initial complaint was followed up in person by the manager on duty. The camera's in place throughout the building are all in good working order, but like most camera's in most buildings they record activity but are not monitored 24/7. The guests stayed at the hotel during Cornucopia, a three day annual festival held in Whistler during November. The focus of the festival is on great food and fine wines, and a definate "party" atmosphere prevails in the entire village. This is not to say that anything goes during this weekend, but generally people do let their hair down a bit. The guest makes a valid point that this weekend may not be ideal for young family's looking for a quiet get-away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retired Traveler
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The best thing about the Listel is it's location in the middle of Whistler Village. Everything else is very good also. It has underground parking and a very nice restaurant. The rooms are average, but very clean and up to date with free wifi. Good value in Whistler. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Stayed at the Listel overnight & the guy on reception was first class, nothing was too much trouble for him & he went out of his way to offer tips & information to enhance our stay. Would recommend this hotel without a doubt. Keep up the good work !!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammyhampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Listel. Bedroom very spacious and clean. Friendly, helpful staff at reception and lovely breakfast in the dining room (bit too expensive for dinner). Pool area quite small and especially so, as some seats were reserved for a function.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvalen7024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Upon arrival, I was greeted by a very nice front desk clerk who gave me lots of information and coupons for things to do. The room had two nice queen sized beds although one was a little too soft. It also had the usual ammenities: fridge, coffee maker and safe but it also had a kettle which was nice. The shower had a built in dispenser with shampoo, conditioner and soap which is a nice environmenal choice instead of the mini bottles. In the lobby there were two computers and a printer for guest use free of charge and there is complimentary wireless as well.
The hotel is not located directly on the Stroll but to get there you just need to cross the street and go up a small flight of stairs. It is also less than a 5 minute walk to the skier's plaza.
The only negative would be the parkade. They have limited single spaces so you might have to park in a double spot. When you check in, they remind you that if you have to park behind someone to make sure you leave your key at reception in case they have to move the car but if someone doesn't comply, you would have to wait until their car is towed.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandergirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Whistler

Property: The Listel Hotel Whistler
Address: 4121 Village Green | Blackcomb - Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Whistler 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Listel Hotel Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whistler
Whistler Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing