We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag Experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for a week after Christmas for Skiing with family. (setting expectations). Overall, its a 3.5 star hotel in a very good location. Its seen its fair share of guest, but is not trashed. Service was adequate and friendly. Rooms are decent size and clean. Pool & Spa are awful, don't stay here if that is important to you.

Location: Probably one of the most convenient places to stay as its right next to the Whistler lift & Gondola as well as Ski School. Its less than 100 meters. Its right in the Village Stroll so you can walk anywhere you want.

Accommodations: We stayed in a Junior Suite, which is really just an open room with a fireplace & kitchen. The room was decent size for a family with small children. Overall, was clean and functional. Would rate it at 3 Star Accommodation. Kitchen is small, but has microwave, stove, full size refrigerator, toaster and dishwasher. The coffee maker only makes two cups, but you have to use their coffee (which we had to continually ask for as they didn't bring to us automatically). Decent number of plates, pans and glasses.
The beds are ok, but the pull out sofa was surprisingly comfortable. They are great in that they give you tons of pillows! Decent warm blankets. The fireplace works ok as they give you a 2hr duraflame log, but it puts off virtually no heat so mostly just for show (would be nice to have better heat to dry your ski gear). Tv worked fine and had access to multiple current movies, but very expensive ($20 each). No DVD player.
The bathroom was the Achilles Heal of the place...TINY! There is a separate sink area, but its really cramped and shower is small! Average water pressure. Good towels (plenty). Hair dryer had clearly been used to dry people's ski gear and was very melted (we used it for that as well, but didn't damage any worse). BTW - it takes about 5 minutes per boot to get them dry using it.
It did have a balcony, which was fine.

Activities:
The pool flat out sucks. Its very old and your basic rectangle design with plaster falling off the decking around it. The Spa is TINY! They do have one indoors as well, but its really small and feels like you are sitting on top of people..get the image? Thumbs down. They have a dry sauna, which is ok, but not overly warm.

Workout Room:
3 Treadmills and 2 eliptical trainers, which seemed to work ok. TV was out so we couldn't watch tv while working out and the view sucks (of the nasty pool). They have some dumbells, which are ok. Its a decent size space overall so doesn't feel cramped.

Concierge:
Overall I would give them 4 of 5 stars. There are two main ones, a blond woman (local) and British lady, who were both good. Took care of anything we needed in terms of reservations and helped when Ski School screwed up, which they will. Not overly connected with restaurants, but made good recommendations. They recommended a snowmobiling company located in the hotel (thumbs down on them as they put us with a bunch of newbies when we asked to go with people who had ridden before (I grew up driving them). The front desk is a bit disorganized at times, but reasonably good.

Dinning:
The restaurant is called the Cinnamon Bear, which is decent for breakfast ($24 buffet, which is not bad). I wouldn't eat dinner here as it has no vibe at all. If you are Clark Griswald, its your kind of place. The other restaurant in the hotel is called Teppan Village. Its your typical Teppanaki place (think Bennihana) with average food at high prices. Eat elsewhere. The wine list at both place is really bad (think Boon's Farm). Too many good places to eat Whistler (at all price points) to eat in their restaurants.

Overall Service:
I had read some mixed reviews about the staff, but in general we found people helpful and with positive attitudes. The only negative for me were the maids who NEVER replenished our coffee or tea.

Room Tip: 8th floor is top floor so you want to get one there. Ask for one with a fireplace. Junior Suite is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Scott M,

I wish to thank you very much for taking time to provide such an extensive review of your recent visit to our resort.

It’s clear that you have a trained eye in the details of travel so it’s especially good to hear from you.

It’s nice to see that you were satisfied with your overall visit however I’m sorry that we were not able to create more memorable experiences to make this particular stay special. To address a couple of points you raised, we are working towards a solution for the cable reception in the gym area as well as a new surface for the exterior deck of the pool (work is weather dependant).

I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the Concierge to our team as they truly make every effort to provide insightful and relevant suggestions to maximize the time our guests have in Whistler.

I wish you and your family a very happy New Year and hope that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    657
    205
    92
    36
See reviews for
605
721
78
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We arrived at Whistler late afternoon and the hotel was only a short walk from the bus stop and very close to the gondola. The hotel lobby created a great atmosphere with many Christmas decorations and check in was easy. We stayed in a 1 bedroom family suite with a large bedroom with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed in the living room. All the beds were very comfortable and everything was modern and in good working order. The kitchen was fairly small but adequate. The rooms were bright and airy with opening windows and a nice outlook. The hotel location was excellent and we were able to return for lunch before heading out again. My son even found time to visit the gym and was impressed by the facilities and cleanliness.We found the hotel to be reasonably quiet at night for such a busy ski resort and would happily return again.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the elevator, pet free and on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familywith3teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel has great location but rooms were small. It was a very busy time for hotel staff but there was no personal service. I have been a Hilton Honors member for 20+ years and maybe i am just spoiled, other Hilton properties made me spoiled, but it was a very unrewarding experience. The bright side was the younger staff members, bar & restaurant staff, were very pleasant, happy to be there and provided great service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Larry D,

Thank you for taking time to provide a TripAdvisor review of your visit with us.

Although it is nice to hear how our team members came across as pleasant and provided great service, I’m sorry to hear that you did not find your overall experience to be rewarding. We certainly aim to provide personalized service for all guests and especially for our valued HHonors Gold Members.

I understand the importance and perceived value the “upgrade if available at time of check in” benefit provides to our top tier HHonors members and am sorry we were not able to provide this for you due to our hotel’s heavy occupancy levels over the Christmas period.

I’m hoping we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future so we’ll be able provide you with an experience where we make you feel spoiled.

Sincerely,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the two bedroom suites at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa. This was a last minute booking thru Whistler.com and the reservation agent was very friendly and helpful. Location is great because it's close to the village but away from the noise. The rooms are huge and we all enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites in corner unit has lots of light. Super spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnKnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear JnKnB,

Thank you for providing a TripAdvisor review of your visit with us.

It’s nice that you could get in on a last minute booking and especially nice you could spend it in one of our larger suites as it can be more enjoyable for all.

Whether a short notice getaway or a planned escape, we look forward to welcoming you back in the early New Year.

Warm regards,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We used to stay at this hotel when it was called the Delta Whistler many years ago, but the Delta has since moved far away from the Gondola, and the Hilton has taken over the prime spot. The Hilton is a very nice place, but we had to book two separate rooms for our family of 5, and husband & I were located in the South wing, while our kids (all in their 20's) were in the North wing. It's too bad we couldn't get a connecting suite or even in the same wing. Nevertheless, the kids' Jr.. King Suite was fabulous, large kitchen with bar stools, pull-out sofabed, separate bedroom, and fireplace. Our Queen suite was very small, the kitchen right next to the bed, no couch, no fireplace, no bar stool area. Holiday prices are quite high, so we were somewhat disappointed in our Queen suite accommodations. Housekeeping did a great job and restaurants convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We booked into the Blackcomb Coast Suites based on Whistler website review. Whistler Blackcomb Co. recommends the Coast property as a "Featured", 3.5 star facility http://www.whistlerblackcomb.com/plan-your-trip/accommodations/featured-properties.aspx. We made our decision to stay at this property based on that recommendation. We arrived at night, and stayed that night. It was a dirty, horrible start to our vacation in Whistler.

We stayed one uncomfortable night in this property. At the crack of dawn, we booked into the Hilton.

The Hilton cost the same as the Coast. Really?

The Hilton is just what you expect, a beautiful property, wonderful, friendly service, and a clean luxurious room.

Room Tip: We are on the 4th floor south. It has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLW1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear CLW1959,

Thank you for taking time to provide insight from your recent visit to our resort.

I’m delighted we were able to end your getaway on a positive note. I know our team will take great pride in reading your feedback. I hope we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable visit this ski season.

Warm regards,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hotel rooms are a good size, bathroom big compared to standard hotel bathroom sizes. Jetted tub is great - a great perk after a day of skiing. Hotel is in the heart of the village. Pool and hot tub are outside and heated - they are great. Food isn't bad, but to save on money and experience the culture of the area, head out to eat. Hotel room had a little kitchenette which was great - there is a grocery store around the corner (and a liquor store beside it) so you can stock up and make food in the hotel room. I will definitely stay here again. It's not a 5+ star, but definitely a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlefkovi, Manager at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Kelly S

Thank you for taking time to provide a TripAdvisor review of your visit with us.

I’m delighted you were able to enjoy our facilities and got a little early season skiing in. As you noted, the location truly is in the heart of it all. Perhaps once the Holiday season has passed, we’ll see you in the early New Year for a return stay.

Warm regards,

Tom Lefkovits
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
850 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Address: 4050 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Whistler Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Whistler
#6 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#13 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#16 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCING WHISTLER STARTS WITH HILTON Relax and unwind at the luxurious, award winning Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Whistler Village, host mountain resort of the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympics Games. Named by Condé Nast as the 10th top resort hotel in Canada, the hotel is steps away from the chairlifts of the legendary Whistler & Blackcomb Mountains, and offers an array of world class restaurants, stylish boutiques, and buzzing nightlife at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Whistler Resort And Spa
Hilton Whistler Hotel Whistler
Hilton Hotel Whistler
Whistler Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing