We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusty rooms and rubbish left behind!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dusty rooms and rubbish left behind!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I am well travelled but upon checking in, realised this hotel was maybe a four star 20 years ago, the interior is dated and dark with few staff, it's not peak season but this hotel is very quiet. We were shown up to our room and my wife noticed there was a thick layer of dust on the bedside table, we decided as we both have dust and asthma allergies to get a room change.

Room 2 was an upgrade as an apology, it was our honeymoon and as we entered room 2 we looked around with an extra eye for dirt running our hand over surfaces. This room had a thick layer of dust on the fridge, a used paper plate with old food on top of the fridge and dust everywhere.

I was so disgusted we have taken pictures and will be contacting the head office to complain, I am a loyal hilton customer having stayed at many over the years! but this one in whistler needs better housekeeping.

We refused to stay at this hotel and checked out to their neighbouring competitor the Westin, who we can honestly say have clean and modern rooms and staff that are more than helpful especially when hearing of our terrible experience.

we went back to collect our bags and the manager on the desk that evening said that housekeeping had left the window open and lots of dust must have blown in!!! As house owners we realise this is a poor excuse and poor cleanliness was the key to this problem. perhaps when your rooms are not in use, you dust them prior to allowing your guests stay.

I welcome any management responses but feel the words you may offer will not hold much weight in response to such a poor experience we have had on our honeymoon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tilly001200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille K, Director of Operations at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Tilly001200,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience with us.

We take your feedback very seriously and we are very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. Please be assured that your experience is not at all typical of our hotel. We are very focused to ensure that we deliver the highest standards in cleanliness.

Please feel free to contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you. I can be reached at ckeep@hiltonwhistler.com.

With kind regards,
Camille Keep
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    637
    198
    91
    34
See reviews for
582
695
76
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is centrally located in Whistler village. I found the rooms extremely clean, nice and well priced. I had a kichenette which was a nice touch. I only syaed a night but it was fun to walk around during the day seeing the village.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille K, Director of Operations at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jay B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and that you found the rooms to be extremely clean and well priced. The feedback is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the Housekeeping team.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and that you may be be able to enjoy a little more time away in beautiful Whistler.

With kind regards,
Camille Keep
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I am a little late posting our review from February...My family stayed at the Hilton Whistler during my husband's medical conference. We stayed in a suite, which was very comfortable. It was great to have a kitchen and extra nice to have a fireplace to dry out wet ski gear and warm up! The main draw to this hotel is location, location, location! It is right in the heart of the village and a quick walk to pretty much anywhere including the ski lifts! It was a two minute walk to ski school, as well, with a very convenient equipment rental store basically right inside the hotel! I did try the spa, which I believe is a separate entity from the hotel, and had a great massage. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Trying be brand loyal for the sake of points does have it downside... the Hilton in Whistler is basically a nice hotel, rooms are large, most with fireplaces, kitchenette, etc. Reasonably close location to the lifts and Village Stroll... but you pay dearly for the location and then on top of that they take a page from the 'Pirates of the Carribean' handbook and stab you in the back with a $30 parking fee/night (for parking you own car of course)... Service is generally good for the most part.- just be prepared for sacrificing $30/night for basically nothing.

Room Tip: If you are a Gold level Honors member, there is a free breakfast included in your room but be aware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our visit to Whistler, BC included an overnight stay at the Whistler Hilton. The hotel was immaculate and well maintained. We were greeted by a friendly staff. We chose to stay in the Glacier One-Bedroom Suite because there were 3 of us. We were very happy with our accommodations. The suite was very roomy, clean and the view from our suite was awesome. Our room was very quiet. The hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village. We would highly recommend staying at the Whistler Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank T7699DOsusanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille K, Director of Operations at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear T7699DOsusanm,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for the great feedback. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your time with us, and in Whistler so much.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location and that our lovely Glacier 1 Bedroom Suite met all of your needs. We will certainly share your comments about the cleanliness level with our Housekeeping team as they strive to deliver exceptional cleanliness standards.

Your feedback is most appreciated by all of us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Whistler and to the Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa again in the near future.

With kindest regards,
Camille Keep
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed in Whistler for 3 nights celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by Gordon at the front desk who was so helpful with providing us with restaurant recommendations, directions, activity ideas, and transportation. We were able to check in to our room early, and upgraded to a great suite! Sarah at the concierge desk was patient and a wonderful resource, we had a million questions and she had all the answers! Connie, our waitress at breakfast each morning could not have been any more sincere and polite, she was so sweet and provided great service. Colin who helped arrange a taxi for us, was polite and professional. The hotel was in a great location, had a pretty good gym for a hotel, and wonderful staff! We are still talking about how friendly everyone was, expecially Gordon who seemed to truly exude pure joy in helping others and sharing what he loves about Whistler. We loved our visit and hope to return for winter festivities soon!

Room Tip: The suites on 7th floor are huge! full kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camille K, Director of Operations at Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Allison D,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary!

Thank you so much for the great feedback. Our team takes pride in ensuring that our guests have a wonderful time in Whistler and that you leave us with great memories. It sure looks like we delivered and helped to make your occasion extra special.

We will certainly share your feedback with the team. They will all be pleased to know how much you enjoyed yourselves and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you next have an opportunity to visit beautiful Whistler BC.

With kindest regards,
Camille Keep
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
275 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were on a trip from the interior of BC back to Vancouver and decided to stay here overnight see the village of Whistler. It was a good choice. The room was very clean and modern, the bed was great for a comfortable sleep, and the restaurant was very good for breakfast and also dinner. The hotel is centrally located for walking about the village and the staff are attentive and professional. It was a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler
0.5 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Address: 4050 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada (Formerly Whistler Village Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Whistler
#6 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#8 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#13 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#16 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXPERIENCING WHISTLER STARTS WITH HILTON Relax and unwind at the luxurious, award winning Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Whistler Village, host mountain resort of the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympics Games. Named by Condé Nast as the 10th top resort hotel in Canada, the hotel is steps away from the chairlifts of the legendary Whistler & Blackcomb Mountains, and offers an array of world class restaurants, stylish boutiques, and buzzing nightlife at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Whistler Resort And Spa
Hilton Whistler Hotel Whistler
Hilton Hotel Whistler
Whistler Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing