We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice for a hostel but still not that cheap and location is a bit of a problem” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI-Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI-Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice for a hostel but still not that cheap and location is a bit of a problem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

For a hostel this is in very good condition and rated against other hostels would normally score highly. However, on the basis that it isnt at what I would consider a reasonal hostel price and the 15 minute drive to Whistler means overall I wouldnt stay here again.

The rooms are nice and clean and there is a nice cafe for breakfast in the morning.

Bizarrely our towels were taken from our room after the first night. These werent replaced and nor were we informed on check in that they would be taken and we would need to get new towels after the first night which was odd. Not sure they really need to be washed after one use!

There is limited parking and on our second night there was no parking available and so we had to park down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    91
    33
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
46
66
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hostel was the first hostel experience I had and enjoyed it. This place was clean, comfortable beds, good facilities and I got good nights sleep. The only bad points were that it was out of town however quick/ cheap bus ride in. And can I PLEASE suggest if someone is staying solo and for two weeks and book far in advance do not make them change rooms to accommodate another booking. I had to pack up my stuff 3 times in two weeks and move rooms. Completely unexceptable.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brum
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

It's not in the whistler town centre but that's a good thing because you get some peace and quiet and the bus is really handy. A cool place to stay to see the area.

Rooms are clean and well equipped. Friendly little cafe downstairs too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTBDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We found everyone at reception really helpful & friendly and ended up booking a 4 activity pack from TAG Whistler from the reception desk.
The walk to Creekside via the valley trail was nice, and didn't take too long even via the bush track rather than the paved walking/bicycle path!
The room we originally got put in hadn't been cleaned the best, but was able to swap rooms without hassle & the new room was much better!
We didn't have a car (caught the Greyhound from VanCity) so we had to get around by walking & buses which came frequent enough but would have been easier getting around everywhere with our own car.
Our stay in Whistler was awesome and hopefully we'll be back before the end of the ski season to see the mountains in all of their winter glory!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwide_wandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Don't be put off by the distance to the gondola. The bus is easy and stops right outside. The rooms were very warm and cosy. The common areas were kept clean and were super comfortable. I met some great people and had a wonderful time. The staff were also wonderful, especially when I got left behind by my shuttle to Vancouver and they figured out a way for me to catch a bus to the village and get a Greyhound bus to Vancouver. They even called the shuttle company and organised my refund, which they didn't have to do. Over and above!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpd5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was one of the best hostels I stayed at during my trip around the west of Canada.

The hostel is clean, the rooms are great (4 bed dorm with private bathroom) with plenty of space, big kitchen area, large common room area and a bar/kitchen downstairs. The staff were very nice. All was good. There are hikes and walks you can do in the surrounding area. A cool thing about the hostel is it was used as part of the athletes village for the 2010 winter olympics (I think it is cool anyway). I found the hostel to be very sociable and spoke to lots of different people and had a great time.

The only reason I haven't given this 5 stars is because you have to get a bus into the village from the hostel which takes about 15 minutes. It's not a big thing and it only costs $2.50 each way but it's not perfect. You can walk to the town but its about 6km. However, apart from the bus bit I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel during your stay in Whistler, unless you want to splash out on one of the lodges. As a backpacker though that is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Make sure you have change available to use the bus as they don't give change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was the only hotel in Whistler we could find which didn't charge for parking.

Situated appx 4 miles out of town: car is essential.
Environment is pretty lonely and not very inviting. Yet very quiet.
Atmosphere in hotel is hostel like: bare + oriented towards youth
Small rooms with just 1 straight chair.

Reception very friendly an coöperative.
Parking in Whistler is free in the evening (untill 3 am: not if you stay in a downtown hotel).
All hotels and restaurants are pretty expensive, while the town itself is not that attrctive. Unless you are into outdoor sports, I wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: Having a car is essential !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, General Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and I have to say that I'm surprised you didn't find Whistler to be a very scenic destination - between the trip here via the Sea-to-Sky highway, the lakes, mountain vistas, and wildlife I've often heard people remark that living here is like living in a postcard.

I apologize if you were under the impression that you had booked a hotel, and the reason we feel 'hostel-like' is because, we definitely are a hostel, and are part of Hostelling International.

Although, it must be said, as we were built in just 2010, and are a purpose built facility we're probably in a different category to some hostels you may have stayed in, in the past, and our private rooms especially do have the feel of a hotel, all with en suite washrooms, TV, etc. However you have the added benefit of being able to enjoy our stellar common areas, including multiple patios with mountain views, TV room, communal kitchen and a common room with free pool (billiards).

I do hope you choose to visit Whistler again, whilst it is definitely an outdoor recreation mecca, it's a destination I believe that should be a must for all visitors to Western Canada.

Kind Regards,
Shaun Freeman - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
4.6 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
4.6 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,413 reviews
4.6 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Property: HI-Whistler
Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Whistler 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2010, the HI-Whistler is a purpose-built hostel that was originally used as part of the Whistler Athletes' Village during the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. This brand new facility sets the standard in hostelling with all the amenities you'd expect and then some.There's more to HI-Whistler than just a place to sleep. Grab a coffee and snack at Cheaky's Cafe in the hostel lobby, lounge on the outdoor decks with mountain views, store your bike, skis, and boards in the equipment storage room, hang out in the media room with its 52" HDTV and meet some cool new folks over a free game of pool or foosball in the games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing