We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awesome hostel!”
Review of HI-Whistler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome hostel!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Really enjoyed my recent stay at the HI-Whistler. Was in a room with 2 bunk beds (4 beds). The room was clean, had a window that opened, and enough room for people to move around (though not as spacious as a hotel room). The adjoining bathroom had one shower, one toilet, and two sinks and was shared by a second room with two bunk beds. The water was hot and everything was clean.

I was on the third floor and never had any trouble sleeping. The hostel was quiet but if you wanted to hang out it boasts a large kitchen and seating area to chat, play cards, etc. Lots of room to store food and pots & pans to cook. There is also a lounge area with computers.

The downstairs has a couple TVs and a little cafe where you can grab coffee or food without ever stepping foot outside.

The hostel itself is a few minutes outside of the main Whistler village. However, you can catch the bus right outside and it's only about 20min by bus into the village. You can buy bus tickets right at the front desk. They were also helpful with recommendations on places to eat and things to do.

Highly recommended for a MUCH cheaper place to stay in somewhat expensive Whistler.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limegreenpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    91
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
47
66
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and were impressed with standard of rooms [they have privat, double rooms with en-suite and tv] and facilities. The hostel is not too far away from the gondola and we definitely would recommend this place for any budget conscious travellers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainGoatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hostel was built in 2010 for the Winter Olympics and it still looks very new, very modern and very clean. Big commercial kitchen, but I recommend bringing your own food from Vancouver - there's no big supermarket nearby, only small stores. It's a $2.50 one way bus trip to Whistler, but if you're staying for any length of time 10 trips and monthly passes can be purchased from reception. Make sure you have the correct change for the bus.

Room Tip: I stayed in 221, a nice room. It's on the same floor as all the facilities, so that's conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This hostel is by far the newest/cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in. I stayed here over Christmas and New Years Eve and it had a real family vibe going. Everyone staying there is rad, the common area is great, and the pool table is better. They have the best kitchen area I've seen in a hostel with big fridges to keep all of your food. The staff make everyone feel welcome and make the hostel a sweet place to be at. Had a lot of great starts to the night at this hostel and will definitely be staying there again when I return to Whistler.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the HI Whistler for 3 weeks from January into early February 2014 and I loved every moment, rooms are well set out and cleaned daily, hostel staff were always friendly and helpful, making it a really great atmosphere. The hostel is out of Whistler Village but I never found it a problem with busses leaving regularly from right outside. Hostel events like Jimmy's Sunday Pub Crawl were really great and a fantastic way to met people!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMartin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very clean and friendly staff. The rooms were large and looked like a hotel room with bunk beds. We had our own washroom with shower which was great. The kitchen was large so great for cooking. The bus ride was about 20 min from the village and cost $2.50 so it wasn't a big deal that the hostel was not in the village. There were no meals included but there was a little cafe on the main floor with some food, coffee, etc. Overall I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephbest10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hostel has plenty of potential as it's modern and a 15 min bus ride from the Village ($2.50 each way though)! I'm really not sure how they won an award for cleanliness. I've been in a dorm for 3 nights, arrived with unvacummed carpets, stains on tiles, dirty bathroom & my room stinks! I asked yesterday for a quick vacuum but no such luck! The kitchen is a disgrace and the young blokes supposedly cleaning it, don't really clean at all, just walk around aimlessly whinging that they hate the kitchen! Worst HI Hostel I've ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Go private if u can! Ask for a bed in dorm away from toilet, you can hear everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun F, General Manager at HI-Whistler, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I do apologize that we have not met your, or our, expectations. I've already passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Supervisor, and our Assistant General Manager, who is responsible for our front desk team. For you to bring cleanliness concerns to our team, and they not be dealt with, is frankly, unacceptable.

Our Cleanliness scores on sites like this, internal comment cards and other booking portals, in addition to our friendly, cheerful staff is something that we pride ourselves on, and we will take the appropriate steps to rectify the issue.

Your review indicates that you may still be in-house, if that is the case, please come to the desk, and ask for myself, as I'd love the opportunity to discuss this matter further.

Kind Regards, Shaun Freeman - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
4.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
4.6 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
4.7 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
4.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Whistler

Property: HI-Whistler
Address: 1035 Legacy Way | Whistler Village, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Whistler 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2010, the HI-Whistler is a purpose-built hostel that was originally used as part of the Whistler Athletes' Village during the 2010 Winter Olympic Games. This brand new facility sets the standard in hostelling with all the amenities you'd expect and then some.There's more to HI-Whistler than just a place to sleep. Grab a coffee and snack at Cheaky's Cafe in the hostel lobby, lounge on the outdoor decks with mountain views, store your bike, skis, and boards in the equipment storage room, hang out in the media room with its 52" HDTV and meet some cool new folks over a free game of pool or foosball in the games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Whistler Youth Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing