We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined Vacation by Car Towing”
Review of Lost Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lost Lake Lodge
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Seattle, Washington, USA
2 reviews
“Ruined Vacation by Car Towing”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at the Lost Lake Lodge, outside of the Blackcomb, Dec 19th - 23rd. The buses work fine though, and given the amount of snow we had, we chose to drive as little as possible. We were there for a 4 night stay and when we got to the lodge, the maximum amount of time allowed to purchase a parking pass for was 3 days. Unfortunately, because we never drove, I forgot that the pass expired 12 hours before our departure Sunday morning. We awoke Sunday morning, packed and ready for an early departure only to discover that our car had been towed that morning from the lodge parking lot, where it had been sitting for the entire stay until then. We saw it in the lot Saturday night where it had been the whole time. The hotel washes its hands saying that the parking is outsourced. I get that towing companies are vultures, and circle around looking for expired passes, so my beef is with the hotel. Not only did I pay $60+ for 3-day parking (the max pass allowed) but was also out the $25 cab ride to the tow lot plus $175 towing, not to mention the time lost and hassle. Why can't I just buy a parking pass for my entire stay when I check in? A hotel that washes its hands of its guests stay due to parking at the lodge itself ought to be ashamed. No reminder, no warning, just a reaction of "not our problem" when we called Sunday morning. Given the tow company, knowing people check in late in the afternoon, was out on an early Sunday morning towing makes it fairly obvious it is their intent to prey on dummies like me who forgot to renew my pass the evening before. Again, why cannot I just pay for parking for my entire stay up front and not have to worry about it? Shame on you Blackcomb. Never again will you get my business. Too bad, the lodge itself was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank Y8098YOmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Lost Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience at The Lost Lake Lodge. It is a shame that a great time in Whistler was ruined by having your car towed. The property does have a zero tolerance policy regarding parking and this definitely presents challenges to us as the management company. We always advise guests at check in about the parking situation at Lost Lake Lodge to try and avoid situations such this. The last thing we want is to have our guests' stay tarnished by something like this.

After reading your review I went up to the property to check the machine personally. I was able to use the machines to purchase up to 21 days of parking at a time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    27
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
45
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Our family stayed at lost lake lodge last christmas and noise from the unit above was so loud we could not sleep. Called Whistler Premier who we rented from to complain and they did NOTHING. Stayed for over a week and Whistler Premier who manages rental does not provide any level of housekeeping.

Room Tip: read reviews noise levels vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Lost Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
We are sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay at The Lost Lake Lodge. When guests are being noisy after the 10pm noise bylaw there are steps we can take to address the issue. I am unaware of what exactly our night audit team did in this particular case but we have addressed your concerns with them so hopefully another guest doesn't encounter a similar situation. I know this doesn't help with your experience and for that we must apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed towards the end of our Canada trip, had a terrific time in Whistler, gosh were they rude all accross town on the car towing issue, but with a little orientation found a free of charge car parking possiblity 5 minutes walk down the hill and up a side road.

Room was spacious, beds solid hard (we are used to it from China), facility ok maintained, no wifi, kitchen well quipped, pool nice . . . but hey we came to Whistler to do some outdoor stuff not hang around in the room. Price was high compared to the fairmont waterfront Vancouver we stayed before and its not hotel, more an vacation condo style.

We were looking for something remote, kidsfriendly and quite, we found the right place, no complaints (just get wifi please)

Room Tip: golf course view, high flooor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifelongExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Lost Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you posting a review of your stay at The Lost Lodge. We are pleased to hear that your condo met you needs and you had an enjoyable time while in Whistler. We are happy to announce that all condos now have complimentary wireless internet! As you mentioned the lodge is not a full service hotel but a vacation condo rental with fully equipped kitchens.

Your tip about the golf course view is spot on as the views over the course, be it spring, summer, winter or fall are quite beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

If you like rock hard beds, stained sheets and rugs then this is the place for you. If you for some reason decide to stay make sure that you pay for parking or your car will be broken into by a "rogue" tow truck driver and you will have to pay a $130 ticket. A friend's car was in the garage for 15 minutes while we were buying a pass and it was towed. I would have been okay paying that had the place not been such a dump.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Eporon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Lost Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
We are sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience during your stay at The Lost Lake Lodge. The extra cost of having a car towed is definitely not appreciated.

There was some issues with the building's plumbing this summer that resulted in several carpets requiring replacing. This has been a project our maintenance team has been working on this off season. Unfortunately steam cleaning the carpets would have no effect and if you were in one of those condos we must again apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Perfect quiet get-away. Lost Lake Lodge suite 510 is situated facing golf course, away from the Village lifestyle. Room 510 had everything for our 3 day R&R. Balcony needed a small table to go with the chairs, otherwise very clean and well organized. Lots of dishes, pots/pans/utensils and working appliances.
Parking is standard $20.00/night @ the Lodge.
During the day, can park for free @ Lot 4 just near Whistler village for any other activities you need to get close to. Tried to take the bus for our 1010 Zipline activity, but doesn't access The LLLodge until 1010,. Cheaper to park the car at Lot 4 than to pay 2.50 each way/adult to use the transit. No longer free shuttle to town!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
Thank 52Nunu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Lost Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Lost Lake Lodge. We are pleased to hear you had a good time in Whistler and that you found the lodge to be a great value.

As you mentioned the lodge is great for those looking for a quieter stay outside of the village area and is great for families with its excellent pool area.

I'm not sure what you encountered during your time here but the Upper Village Shuttle municipal transit line that services the Benchlands area is still a complimentary shuttle. During the winter many shuttles run during peak times to get guests from their condo down to the ski lifts in the Upper Village or at Mountain Square.

Thank you for choosing The Lost Lake Lodge and Whistler Premier for you Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have stayed at the Lost Lake Lodge for one week. The location is ok and the free bus service to the lift is great. However, the room, 314 is not what we expected mainly because of the poor maintenance. The washer/dryer has not worked since check in despite us calling the check in facility, the dishes/glasses are a mess as is the cutlery. I had to clean all pots before use as they still had food stuck to them. The hot tub has useless jets (apparently has been like that for one year) and tiles in the hot tub that snagged all our bathing suits. The entrance to P1 does not work, there was no mid stay cleaning and it was impossible to wash the towels in the washer/dryer. There is a $20. per car per night charge, with the two bedroom it was an additional $40. per night to stay. Our guests that came for dinner returned to the pay parking 3 minutes before their parking time ran out to see the tow truck waiting to remove their car at a cost of $175.. The parking ticket dispenser has not been changed to daylight savings time so we loose one hour per day for 7 days.When I checked in, parking my car at the door to return in 7 minutes to see the tow truck about to lift my car. Upon check in we were read the list of "dont's" and the amount of fines we would incur. Really not the kind of welcome to begin a vacation. The art work in the dining room is missing (I reported this upon arrival) with a hole in the wall under the bottom of the attachment. The internet connection is archaic (no wifi) as is the tv in both the living room and master bedroom. The second bedroom has a double bed, not ideal for a couple. For a company calling themselves "Premier Properties" it is almost laughable. We are from Vancouver, have stayed at numerous properties here in Whistler and this is the worst.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Lost Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for posting this review of your stay at The Lost Lake Lodge. First off let me apologize for the poor experience you had while staying with us. Reading your review it does sound like almost every thing that could go wrong did. We received this review at the end of March and at that time showed it to our maintenance and housekeeping staff who were responsible for the deficiencies you experienced. We also contacted the owner in regards to having the physical issues taken care of.

The pay parking system is definitely a challenge with a no warning tow policy which is why we make sure to warn all of our guests about it at check in as the last thing we want is any of our guests having their car towed.

We are working on having the entire Lost Lake Lodge complex get a free wifi system in place and hope to announce this in the near future.

Again sorry for your poor experience at The Lost Lake Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.6 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
1.0 mi away
Blackcomb Lodge
Blackcomb Lodge
#22 of 49 in Whistler
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
1.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Chamois
Le Chamois
#26 of 49 in Whistler
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Lake Lodge

Property: Lost Lake Lodge
Address: 4660 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lost Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Lake Hotel Whistler
Lost Lake Resort
Lost Lake Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing