We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for weekend vacation.”
Review of Alpenglow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenglow Lodge
Vernon, Canada
1 review
“Great value for weekend vacation.”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I planned a surprise anniversary weekend early this month. This hotel was a great choice and we were both impressed with the location and rooms. Staff were very helpful and helped make it a special weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel for an affordable fun vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chronosfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable weekend. We hope you will be back to visit us very soon. Whistler is a great place for those special moments in life.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    65
    35
    17
    17
See reviews for
40
63
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Condo near shops & restaurants in the village. Winter season free shuttle around the village & to the ski lifts, is a 2 min walk around the corner to the bus stop. Fantastic tapas restaurant under the condos - you don't get your feet wet at all! Stayed in a condo with a jet tub - great soaking in your own hot jetted tub after a day of skiing. Wifi was really good. Great supermarket around the corner to get essentials if you want to stay in to cook. Rooms had codes instead of keys, which worked really well for 4 people coming & going into the apartment at all times. One bed apartment with really comfy lounge & dining table. Lovely sep bedroom with beautiful big bed - nice linen & pillows. TV also in bedroom & one in the main living room.

Room Tip: 4th floor the highest? Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanneleew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time spent at the Alpenglow Lodge. Happy to hear your group enjoyed your spring stay and we look forward to your next visit!

Warm Regards,
Christina
Alpenglow Lodging by MountainView Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

During my stay at the alpenglow the accommodation was to my standard and trip went well overall. The one outstanding thing was the service from a young lass on the front desk. She was so helpful, polite and really made it feel like home. She went above and beyond to give us information about things to do and made such a huge positive impact on our trip. To the team at Alpenglow, specially Tan, thankyou for a great holiday!!.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Always great to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay. Tania is a valuable member of our team and a wealth of local information. We will make sure she knows her service at the desk is appreciated!!

Warm Regards,
Christina
Alpenglow Lodging by MountainView Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was looking for a centrally located but affordable lodging option in Whistler Village for a trip with my girlfriend. I contacted Christina with MountainView Accommodations. She was absolutely excellent. Even making the reservations was a pleasant experience.

The lodge itself is located on the northern end of the Village, making it walking distance to everything (though I would suggest the shuttle that is a 2 minute walk away to go to the gondolas). The lodge was well maintained and inviting and was updated and modern. There are countless restaurants within a 5 minute walk and the grocery store is 2 minutes away.

Our room was excellent. It too was well-maintained and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen and bathroom were spotless. We had a large balcony (more of a patio) that had a view of Whistler Mountain. We had a queen bed as well as a murphy bed that doubled as a table when it was stored. There was a gas fireplace that was well used, if not so much for heat, but for ambiance.

This was our engagement trip and Christina, upon request, suggested locations to pop the question as well as excellent restaurants to celebrate afterwards. She even made the dinner reservations for me. Everything was perfect!

I have noticed mixed reviews through a few websites but I have nothing to say short of excellent about our 5 night stay at the Alpenglow Lodge and the hospitality that we received before and during our stay.

I can say without a doubt that we intend on returning next year to Alpenglow and I wish I still had it to look forward to this year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_bonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Matthew,

We are so happy you and your fiance enjoyed your Whistler visit! We hope you are able to visit again soon - Whistler makes a great wedding or honeymoon destination!!!!

All the best,
Christina
Alpenglow Lodging by MountainView Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My family and I stayed at the Alpenglow Lodge for a weekend, it was the worst experience we have ever had. There is not enough room for my complaints other than the safety one: if you are not out the hot tub by 10:00pm, they deactivate the cards so you cannot re-enter. The (emergency) exit door is not marked and in such poor condition that even the front desk girl had to "reef" on it three times before it finally released and opened (no wonder we thought it was locked?). In fear that I was locked in the pool area with my children, and not able to open their so-called side door, I climbed the side and went to the front desk. I said we could not get back in. Instead of concern that there are young children out in a spa alone (what a liability!), she smugly replied with a body language "hah" that we were out there past ten and basically locked out. What hotel in their right mind locks people/children out in a pool area. Are you nuts? If there were an emergency - wow! I will continue to forward this policy to those above and the media. Deactivating cards and no re-entry. A lawyers delight.

Also, just to note, the sheets were disgusting with sex stains, and what looked like a wet fart, and needed to be changed. I ended up getting clean sheets from the front desk and changing them myself because she was busy.

Not Safe and disgusting hygiene.

Room Tip: Not child/family friendly. Stay elsewhere if you care about safety and cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Lori,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your concerns about the pool area. I have spoken with the agent that worked that evening, our building manager and reviewed all of the security footage for the time in question. We take these types of complaints very seriously.

Our pool and hot tub facilities, like all similar facilities in Whistler, are inspected annually by the Municipal Health Board and these inspections are done to certify the facilities are compliant with all health and safety issues. The Alpenglow passes these inspections every year.

The doors from the pool deck to the building do lock automatically at 10 pm in order to secure the building. That is why the desk agent went out to the pool at 9:53 pm to let your children and the other guests using the hot tub know that the facilities would be closing at ten. She then returned at 10:06 pm to cover the pool and hot tub. It was between this time that you must have thought you were locked out and left the deck for when she went out there you were gone but your children were still swimming and the other guests were just getting out of the hot tub. She then showed you the emergency exit door on the deck that leads to the back door.

You have stated that the sheets to the sofa bed were dirty. My apologies about this. You said the agent was unwilling to help you with putting the new sheets on but when we reviewed the security footage she does offer to come to the room and put new sheets on the bed but you asked her just to give them to you and you would do it yourself. We strive to accommodate each guest the best we can. She was prompt in responding to all of your request and concerns.

On a note of concern is that fact that after checking in and stating you had four guests in the room, we later found out there were in fact five. This is in direct contravention of maximum room occupancy for fire regulations. Please keep this in mind next time you are booking any type of accommodation.

Warm Regards,
Christina
Alpenglow Lodging by MountainView Accommdation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whistler hotels

Massachuestts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Let's start with the positive, the room was fine. Clean, well stocked, loved the fire and balcony. The jet tub was appreciated after a day on the slopes.

Issues...Registration was a horror. No flexibility with a 75 minute early check in. There is limited parking for registration. We had advised them of the height of our SUV with cargo carrier days before our arrival. The person told us that the registration staff would be made aware and other accommodations would be available. The registration person had no idea of our issue or where to park.
When we returned to discuss that our vehicle would not fit where they advised us to park we were told that our room was not ready. Fortunately when the registration person left to discuss parking with a manager, a cohort was listening, made a phone call and facilitated, having our room inspected. Following her instructions, we ended up with a near $50 ticket. A manager had me pay and they would reimburse, still waiting.
the card we were given did not work in the ski lockers and we were told this is the usual. Because the room used a real key to lock, we could not leave it in our room and had to return to the 5 lot place parking to return the key. Would not had known if I had not called to ask.

The low score is centered around the "front" desk experience. There was a person in the Alpenglow who helped with several issues, too bad we couldn't just register with her.

Be aware that parking can be an additional $30 a night, which is really extreme. If you can. There is parking under the library of $10 a night, but there is limited spaces.

THis was one of 3 resorts we stayed at and this was the worse experieince.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Peg,

Having to check in at a different location and receive mixed information is a very frustrating start to any vacation. The Alpenglow Lodge has 87 suites and some of those are privately managed by off-premise management companies. In these cases you are required to check in at a different location and sometimes the desk where you are checking in might not have all the information you require that is specific to your needs.

Once you arrive at the Alpenglow, we will always try to provide you with the best service as possible for the duration of your stay. Next time you are visiting Whistler, try booking directly with the on site management company for whichever lodge you choose.

Warm Regards,
Christina
Alpenglow Lodging by MountainView Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Alpenglow is situated in the village with all its facilities at hand and the Gondola is not far away (on foot or short ride bus). We found our studio very clean and comfortable and enjoyed the pool and hot tub after a day's skiing. Good value for money in comparison to other nearby accommodation. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel and did not have any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review! It is always great to hear when someone enjoyed their visit to Whistler and to The Alpenglow. We are lucky to have the back of our hotel to back onto the Florence Peterson Park - it offers a quiet location that is still walking distance to everything in the Village. Please come visit us in the summer sometime. It is beautiful then as well!!

Warm Regards,
Christina
Alpenglow Lodging by MountainView Accommodation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.0 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Lodge

Property: Alpenglow Lodge
Address: 4369 Main St, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenglow Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alpenglow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenglow Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing