We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Alpenglow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenglow Lodge
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at the Alpenglow and expected it to be like any normal hotel stay where you check in with the front desk, but this was not the case for me and i did not even think to look at my booking sheet, so firstly I had to trek across the village to find the company i had to check in with then go back to the hotel to get to my room. Personally I have never come across this and found it a strange process it just makes sense to be with the front desk company over any where else and I have learnt my lesson and will be booking with MVA for any future stays. I had a peek in their rooms too, they are more well kept and maintained then the management company i was with.

Anyway, after this my stay was mostly pleasant apart from 2 of the 3 front desk staff, one of which i didnt see very often but when I did she always had a scowl on her face an older lady long blonde hair, just really didnt seem to want to be there and never said hello, i just avoided her. Then there was the British girl, whenever I dealt with her she was always rude and never helpful, she too has quite the scowl. The only one who was ever helpful, always went out of her way, even went above and beyond sometimes was a young girl, short blonde hair, i believe her name started with T but don't quote me. She is absolutely amazing with guests, she was the front desks only redeeming feature. She helped me out so much, always polite and did far more for me than was ever expected of her. She made what started off as average into an exceptional stay. Thankyou so much and I feel terrible that I have forgotten your name. Tell your boss the only reason im booking again and with Mva is because of you!

The hotel itself is in a good location nice and central.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate any feedback we are given so we can strive to offer our guests the best possible stay they can have whilst visiting Whistler. We do have a lot of privately owned units here but we do always encourage guests who stay with Mountainview Accommodation (MVA) to come down and see our helpful staff on the Front Desk with any issues they have so we can help them as best we can to make their stay the best it can be whilst staying at the Alpenglow Lodge. Mountainview Accommodation does look after the Front Desk at the Alpenglow Lodge and offers direct check-ins when staying with our company. We do advise guests to always check where they make there bookings and with which company before they arrive.We value all our staff members and it's nice to hear Tania made your stay, we will certainly pass the message on to her.We do hope you will be back soon for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Sarah,
Front Desk Manager,
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

It's great to be right in the heart of whistler but also have your own kitchen and sitting area so that you can eat and cook what you'd like! The Alpenglow is affordable and the staff were really helpful over email before and after our stay. We'll definitely be back again for our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi Lucy,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are all valuable members and they strive to make the Alpenglow Lodge feel like a home away from home. We hope you will be back very soon for your next visit, we will look forward to seeing you.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Enjoyed a stay here with family during May long weekend. Good location near shops and restaurants. Quiet after 10 PM rules allowed us to get a good nights sleep. Will probably stay here again. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 730S_F_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate any feedback we receive so we can maintain our high standard of care and comfort we offer our guests. We really hope you will be back to visit us very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've travelled in many 3rd world countries and the beds at alpenglow were by far the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on. The room stunk of weed and the smoke alarm went off solely when the oven was on with nothing in it. Stayed there for the price but in retrospect would've spent the extra money so as not to have sleepless nights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I'am truly sorry to hear you did not have a comfortable stay here at the Alpenglow Lodge. We do have a lot of privately owned units here but we do always encourage guests who stay with Mountainview Accommodation to come down and see our helpful staff on the Front Desk with any issues they have so we can help them as best we can to make their stay the best it can be. We appreciate any feedback we are given so we can strive to offer our guests the best possibly stay they can have while in Whistler. We do hope you will be back soon for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The bunk bed was a little wobbly for two adults. Murphy bed was great. Kurig coffee machine was a nice touch. Close to the grocery store too - - - a great advantage. Walked to the lifts most days but did take the shuttle a couple of times. So wish there was a place on the hill where skis could be stored.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi Stephen,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate any feedback so we can work and maintain on our care and comfort that we offer our guests. We will certainly be checking over the Bunk Beds and see if we can remove the wobbliness. The Free Shuttle Bus is a great way to get around in the winter time and it's free which is great. We hope you will be back very soon for another visit.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Awesome apartment accomodation in Whistler!! Had a room with spa on the balcony..very happy family members travelling with us. needed room servived more than was attended, but otherwise a wonderful stay!! Cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hi Suzie,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always appreciate feedback so we can work and maintain our high standard of care and comfort we like to offer our guests. We hope you will visit us again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I planned a surprise anniversary weekend early this month. This hotel was a great choice and we were both impressed with the location and rooms. Staff were very helpful and helped make it a special weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel for an affordable fun vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chronosfoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountainViewAccomm, Front Office Manager at Alpenglow Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a memorable weekend. We hope you will be back to visit us very soon. Whistler is a great place for those special moments in life.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Davies
Front Desk Manager
Alpenglow Lodge by Mountainview Accommodation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,832 reviews
0 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.4 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Lodge

Address: 4369 Main St, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £97 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenglow Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alpenglow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenglow Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing