We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Whistler Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whistler Cascade Lodge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dalby, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Whistler Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Booked the Cascade through the crew at Whistler.com, didn't really know what to expect. It was clean & comfortable, good bed. Facilities were all easily accessible & staff were friendly. Room was a little on the small side but it is Whistler and for the price - was great. Location is excellent, 2 minute walk to either the Marketplace or Whistler centre village. 4 minutes walk to the Whistler/Blackcomb lifts.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank queenslandcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    215
    71
    39
    16
See reviews for
127
185
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Cascade Lodge is in a perfect location. It’s a 5 minute walk to the village grocery store and all the village pubs and restaurants and 7 minutes to the Blackcomb/Whistler gondolas. Really it's that close. Bonus for the Cascade Lodge, the Whistler Connection from YVR has Cascade Lodge as one of their pickup/drop off stops for no additional costs.

We stayed at the Cascade Lodge for four nights Sunday thru Thursday in a studio #230 the 3nd week of February. Perfect week to be in Whistler / Blackcomb, it snowed every night, fresh powder every day especially Wednesday morning with 45cm of snow overnight. Our room was situated in front of the elevator and I was worried we would hear the elevator door, but because of the shared common foyer area, we did not hear the elevator at all. Our room faced Blackcomb Mountain and the pool area. It had a very lovely view.

We arrived at the Cascade Lodge around 2pm which was two hours prior to check in. We were fortunate to have our room ready and available when we got there. The gentleman was very helpful and opened the ski/snowboard storage area for us to drop our skis off. Based off a previous review, I made sure we included a towel with our skis in the storage area to ensure we dried off our skis at the end of every day to prevent rusting from snow covered skis.

The studio room was a decent size for two people. It had two closets but one closet was a bit off. It did not have a clothes bar no shelving to hang clothes to dry from. We only stuck our poles and boots in there and hung our wet ski jackets and pants on the top part of the door of that closet via a hanger. The other closet had a small shelving system with a clothes bar but only had 6 hangers. If you have two ski jackets, two ski pants, that only leaves two available hangers. Perhaps you can add an additional 2 more hangers to the room or a hanger bar to the extra closet.

The bathroom was clean and functional but eventually soon it will need to be updated. Housekeeping only gives you 1 extra roll of TP so I recommend if you are staying longer than 2 days you grab some at the grocery store. It will definitely be softer than the ones the hotel provides. Please be advised, no housekeeping services until after 4 days…it’s fine but be prepared to ensure you bring extra bath soap and dry your towel after every use. If you want housekeeping service before the 4th day, it will cost you.

A lot of these hotels that have such high turnover in travelers they really need to figure out when they need to replace the mattresses before guests start sending the hotel their chiropractor bill. Our mattress was okay at first but as the days went on, became lumpy and eventually my husband was complaining about his lower back aching. When you are skiing all day and want to rest thru the night, a supportive mattress would be encouraged. I travel to Las Vegas regularly and their rooms have high turnover but we have never complained about a lumpy bed at the MGM or the Aria. Invest in a good mattress please.

Based off previous reviews, I called down for an extra blanket instead of turning on the heater in our room. Unfortunately, our room had no extra linen bag so I had to call downstairs. The gentleman who answered the tele sounded a bit put off about the extra blanket request. I believe he thought there was a linen bag in the room. Sorry there was definitely no extra linen bag in the room. Good thing for us, our room was a comfortable temperature without the heater on so the blanket was just a bonus.

The small kitchenette was convenient. We only used the coffee maker, microwave and fridge. My only complaint about the kitchenette, inside the coffee maker was quite dusty. I ran just the hot water thru the maker and the entire coffee pot was filled with lint and small flecks of old coffee. I scrubbed the inside of the coffee maker and ran fresh water thru several times before we started using it to make coffee and hot water for tea. It was a bit gross. Thanks to whoever recommended the provide paper towels. It would be great to have a small recyclable bin along with the rubbish bin and instructions to recycle. We are from California and I know how to recycle. Before we even took the garbage out on our final day, I had separated the recyclables. Good thing too because once we went to the rubbish area, it was clear you had to separate your trash. Be good to the earth people!

We utilized the laundry services that are not located in individual rooms. The laundry room is available on specific floors for $1.50/wash and $1.00/day. The front desk offers complimentary laundry detergent. Be prepared to ensure you have change before deciding on using the laundry. My husband came downstairs to ask for change and neither front desk had change. He had to walk down to the 7 Eleven.

The Cascade Lodge had two hot tubs and was wonderful after a hard day of skiing. Towels are available at the front desk. The pool was heated but we did not utilize although we saw some children enjoying themselves in the pool. The hot tubs do get crowded after 4pm. Be prepared to wait or come back another time. We had to come back another time on one occasion because both hot tubs were full with 8 people each.

One small recommendation is to have a computer available for people to check in for their flights. The Cascade Lodge does not have a Business Center but they could definitely use a computer in the common area for guests to check in for their flights. Yes free wifi is great but I usually don’t bring my computer on vacation. Give us an immediate option, not send us across the street to the library.

All in all, the Cascade Lodge was a perfect spot for my husband and me to rest our weary heads after skiing all day. We took advantage of all the hotel had to offer and really enjoyed the fact it was located so close to the lifts and the village. Thank you Cascade Lodge for being part of our holiday.

Room Tip: The studio is perfect for two people for 5 days or less. Try a one bedroom if you are staying longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qtjeep12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Traveled to whistler many times but first time staying at the Cascade - this property is fine but starting to show its wear and tear a bit - feels a bit like a hostel - with service from young people who clearly are more interested in the next powder dump than attending to guest needs - nothing wrong with that ...really did need anything from them ....but its nothing like the service offered at the pan pacific or farimont - of course at a higher number - so its all you really need especially if you are with a family, about a ten minutes pleasurable walk to the lifts - grocery store and starbucks within 5 minutes - two small hot tubs and a couple of exercise machines...very nice bed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here in late January. The room we stayed in was clean, had a very comfortable bed, and a kitchenette. It was all you needed after a day on whistler/Blackcomb mountain. It had two great outdoor spas with great views of the mountain and a large pool (not heated). It was walking distance from the ski lifts, grocery stores, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Cascade Lodge back in 2011 during my first visit to Whistler. We were there for Christmas and loved every minute of it! Our room was on the ground floor looking straight over the pool, we loved the fireplace in the room and the outdoor hot tubs. We utilised the sofa bed, which was great for friends travelling together, by far the comfiest sofa bed I've ever slept on! Cascade lodge is in a convenient location, walking distance to everything you need. Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kayla-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Cascade Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Cascade Lodge

Property: Whistler Cascade Lodge
Address: 4315 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Cascade Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistler Cascade Lodge Hotel is a six-story all-suite hotel. Some room highlights include luxurious linens, pillow top mattresses and LCD HD flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whistler Cascade Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Cascade Hotel Whistler
Cascade Lodge Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing