We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What You Would Expect!”
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Ranked #22 of 193 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Locally inspired cuisine set in a casual bistro atmosphere. Chef Nicholas Cassettari combines his classic training, top tier experience, and world travels with the best of B.C.'S bounty to create the fine flavours at Alta Bistro. Service is casual and prompt in the dining room and bar. The wine list is French focused, with the best of B.C. As well as international selections (many by the glass) with Enomatic machines dispensing fine and eclectic selections to pair with Alta's cuisine. Mixologists behind our bar craft some of Whistler's finest cocktails. The cozy bistro atmosphere is lively and welcoming. Reservations are a must.
Echo Beach
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not What You Would Expect!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

My first thoughts upon arrival was, " ok this is going to be a trendy average expensive meal"! NOT SO! These guys rock! Great, creative quality food using local ingredients. We are so impressed that we make it a must every time we are in Whistler! Don't miss it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    127
    47
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of Whistler's Best”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The food and service were excellent. Staff is extremely knowledgeable. The owner is actively involved with the operations and has shown a real commitment to using local ingredients for the menu, which is evident in the quality of the food. Put this spot at the top of your list if you plan to visit Whistler, BC.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KW1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a must in Whistler”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

amazing wine list, great service and wonderful food. varied menu, all items were fantastic, high quality, and commitment to local products.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I can only agree with previous reviews, this place is fantastic! We had the salmon which was cooked to perfection and came with some delicious vegetables, a rice crisp and an asparagus pannacotta. The mix of textures and flavors was excellent! We also had a creamy meringue dessert and one of the house cocktails, both had complex flavors in many layers.
Staff was very friendly and very attentive, and the atmosphere was very cozy. Overall a great dinner experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank asawasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Daring and bold flavors for all the dishes ~”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We has the Travelzoo deal that was $65.

Awesome value and I highly recommend it it's available still when you read this. The deal gives you 2 alcoholic drinks, 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, 2 desserts.
We received to flutes of sparkling wine to start and ordered the elk and duck liver parfait as the appetizer.

The sparkling wine was a great aperitif to start with a rainbow of flavors incorporated in. It's bold flavors, originality and uniqueness paved way of what was to come for the other dishes in the evening. It was soft in texture with bold gamey flavors of the elk, and an iron flavor of the duck liver. Well thought of dish.

As for the main dishes, we had the pork leg and the beef cheek. If I elaborate fully on both dishes, this would turn out to be a 1000 character essay. Summing it up, the dishes are all bold, daring, but also work together.

Lastly, the desserts are not to be neglected - in other words, save room for dessert. Their big, sweet and rich so my suggestion is to grab an Americano with dessert.

Come here if you want an awesome experience with new and adventurous flavors.

Helpful?
3 Thank Grant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing