We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This certainly doesn't look like the old Coast Hotel! They renovated everything, what an improvement over the old hotel. Very modern looking inside.

Location
So close, yet so far. You're not in the middle of the village, so it's very quiet. Not a lot of loud music from the pubs. But, don't be turned off. If that's what you're looking for, just walk across the street and you're in the heart of it within a minute. Aava caters to almost any type of traveler it seems. Families, couples, mountain bikers. I found it nice to be able to come back to a quieter location after a full day of buzz in the village. It calms the senses in my opinion.

Parking
Yes, as many other reviewers stated, there is a charge. $21.36 after tax I believe. But, for underground secured parking, very reasonable. I've stayed in other places in Whistler and the charge is even more. Around $25-30 before tax. You can't escape the charge, just know before hand so it won't be a surprise. There's village parking for $1 per hour, or $2 or 3 hours; but, you can't park overnight. Overnight parking in general at Whistler is challenging. When you go down the ramp, turn RIGHT and find parking because you'll be able to take the stairs/elevator right up to the lobby. If you turn left, you're underneath the restaurant.

Check in
Very easy. Helpful staff and cheerful. Very accommodating.

Rooms
We had 2 queen beds. Pretty nice decor. You can tell they were going for the modern look. I liked it. Nice bench/sofa to sit on as well. The room is a bit small, but nothing to complain about. We had a stroller and it got in the way. Nice flat screen tv with loads of channels, and an iPod docking station. In room safe with fridge. We had a nice view of the putting course, so it was very quiet. I believe if you're in an even numbered room you may be facing the front (where the highway is). It was nice to be able to open up the window to let some fresh air in. Free Wi-Fi is a nice touch. Not sure if all the rooms have a door joining your neighbour, but our's did. We could hear their muffled tv.

Beds
Comfy. The pillows were a tad on the firmer side, but that's just my opinion. It was still a comfortable sleep.

Bathroom
Standards size (?on the smaller end). Nice faucets and taps, good water pressure on the shower. Watch out when you flush the toilet, it's strong! Reminded me of airplane toilets when they suck out the liquid. Honestly, it's that powerful! My only small complaint is that whenever you washed your hands, you would splash water onto the counter top. Once there, it kind of pooled. Not a big thing, we just kept using a towel to wipe the water back into the sink. My wife really liked the Aveda products.

Food
No hotel restaurant, but you can order room service from the White Spot from across the lane (15 second walk to it) for an additional charge of $4. For those that don't know White Spot, it's a great chain of restaurants that started in BC. I've been going to it since I was a baby. I think it's good food, nothing fancy. You don't have to dress up. The prices are the same as in Vancouver. That was a surprise, I thought they would have marked the prices up. Burgers, salads, pastas, etc. Consistent quality in my opinion. This one was by far the quietest White Spot I've ever been to. Probably because they are so many other independent restaurants close by to try out. For being quiet, the time to get our food was probably the slowest as well. But, we enjoyed it. If you show your hotel room card, you get 10% off. For the price up at Whistler at other restaurants, that was a welcome surprise! It's not advertised anywhere that I could see (in the hotel or in the restaurant). I just remember reading someone else's post.

Overall
Very good hotel for reasonable rates. Nice rooms and friendly staff. On the quieter side, but so close to the action.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlost16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    704
    213
    55
    21
See reviews for
410
704
95
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed at the Aava too and we only came back from Canada 2 days ago. The place is clean, the staff is friendly and the hotel location is perfect. We had a lovely few days in Whistler area, including the weather! I wish we could stay longer. We would like to say thank you to Colin for managing this place so well and making us so comfortable. We would love to come back and stay with you again.
Only one remark, we were charged extra for parking at the hotel car park, which was a surprise
Many thanks
Urszula and Roy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ula1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Aava's size and proximity to the village made for an excellent stay. Very pleased with the friendly staff and the comfort of the rooms. Hot tub and sauna area was clean and enjoyable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I totally recommend staying at this hotel if youre up at Whistler. Its clean and new, great price and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozlemakman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Thank you for posting "ozlemakman"

We appreciate your support for the property and staff, and are glad you found Aava Whistler to exceed your expectations in cleanliness, our friendly team, and in value.

You had timed your visit right as summer was finally hear for the weekend!

Thank you again for your comments - see you next visit!

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Rooms were well designed and clean, beds are incredibly comfortable, staff at reception were very informative of the local area and check-in was quick and painless. Hot tub and sauna are spacious, but the pool is quite small, i.e. you can't really do laps in it, but it's perfectly fine for cooling off on a summer's day! Free WiFi, but at times, was painfully slow, to the point where you can't use it. The only major complaint is that they don't do breakfast. There is, however, a White Spot right outside the hotel, which serves a fairly average breakfast and we waited over half an hour. It wasn't cheap either. I'd recommend grabbing breakfast in one of the cafes in the village, which isn't a problem as you walk out of the hotel, cross the road and you're right in the Village. It's less than a three minute walk to the gondola.
Overall, the Aava is a great hotel at a very reasonable cost and a great location and when I return to Whistler, I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillGo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit "olijilo", and thank you for posting your recommendations on TripAdvisor!

Please let us know when you may be able to escape to Whistler again - and feel free to contact me directly with your reservations needs.

Thank you for your visit.

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This was our first stop on a touring vacation and we were very happy with our choice.Very pleasant staff and clean comfy rooms handy restaurant a few steps away.
We saw our first bear here! The only negative would be the charge to park overnight at $20pn a bit expensive.Overall good hotel.Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Thank you for your kind review "IsaNorthumberland"

We are glad you chose Aava Whistler for the starting point of your June travels, and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Sorry that our parking charges surprised you. Although a parking charge is the norm in Whistler (usually between $21 and $28!) , we have consciously tried to minimize the shock of paying for parking by keeping our rate quite reasonable at $19 per night.

As well, I was happy to hear you were able to view our resident bear - and hope you were able to capture some wonderful photos. ( We have named her "Lucky" due to the almost daily breakfast of clover she dines on at the Aava driveway!)

Thank you for your visit.

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at the Aava in early june and had a good time, the rooms were very comfortable and the hotel was close to the centre of town. The breakfast at the "White Spot" was included in our stay and was of very good quality.
The only disappointment was with the complimentary WiFi, we could get no longer than 30 seconds connection time in our two night stay, but a small hardship.
All in all, very pleasant and functional stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggould1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Thank you for your review "greggould1503", and posting your feedback of your visit to Aava Whistler and the White Spot Restaurant.

I am pleased to hear that overall, you found your stay to be comfortable and pleasant.

We continue to work on WiFi connectivity where periods of peak demand can cause some signal strength fluctuations. Our sincere apologies that you were inconvenienced by this challenge during your visit.

We hope to see you again at Aava!

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.2 mi away
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Property: Aava Whistler Hotel
Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing