We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with our dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Great hotel located so close to the village but not right in it, less than 5 mins walk. Selected this hotel as we wanted our dogs with us and one of them is 110lbs, so the air conditioned rooms were superb. Front staff really friendly and helpful and we were able to leave our dogs in the room when we popped out for dinner, they would call our cells if they barked too much, fortunately ours settled down well. Also a bonus is that there is just a one off $20 cleaning fee for the dogs, it does not matter the number of dogs you have or the number of nights you stayed. We will certainly be back there again. Andy

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,806 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Cosy place just outside the village of the main highway. Rooms are large and nice with all amenities. Our room was facing the golf course which is better than the highway. Nice swimming pool with hot water is open till late night till 10pm aprox. Lobby area can be noisy when the biking group have their meeting. Polite and helpful staff at the reception.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farz_Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here with my wife for a weekend getaway in July. The hotel's location, although not right in the Village and is sort of off by itself, it is right by an entrance into the Village area so it is very convenient.

We "upgraded" to a larger king deluxe room for $20 per night (regularly $30 upgrade we were told) on the 4th floor which had higher arched ceilings, which is good as if the ceiling height was the height of the entrance to the room it would have felt very closed in as I could touch the ceiling standing flat footed (I'm 6 ft). The room itself was nice enough; clean (apart from some stain on the carpet but it must be hard to keep those carpets clean during ski and summer/hiking/biking season). The washroom - no tub - was decent sized and clean. The bed large and comfortable and the LCD TV worked no problem.

There's no restaurant right in the hotel but just across the front entrance is White Spot, which for non-White Spot familiar people, is an affordable, casual restaurant known for the burgers and good 'endless' fries.

The staff were friendly. Some people have complained about having to pay $20 per day for parking but, you know what? In pretty much any major tourist area, you can expect to have to pay for parking. I'll pay something for convenience and piece of mind, knowing my vehicle isn't sitting in some public, open lot. Just park it and enjoy yourself.

Would I stay again? Maybe if the price was right. I got a deal booking on the Whistler Blackcomb travel site. I think though the next time I might pay the extra $20 a night to stay at one of the 4.5 or 5 star hotels nearby. I'd rank the Aava a solid 4 star. That's not to say it's not a good place to stay; I'd just like a bit "more" in the ambience. But with the great outdoors nearby, and its convenient location, I would recommend it to people looking for a place to stay near the Village.

Room Tip: Consider getting a room with a vaulted ceiling, or at least first ask how high the ceiling is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvtBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great hotel. The staff are very helpful, the place is nice, clean and trendy without feeling snobby or stuck up. We had a babysitter watching my son while at a conference and the hotel was helpful in providing an extra key for her. The pool isn't huge but a good size with a view of the mountains. The hot tub was very nice and was clean. The sauna was nice and gets good and hot in just a few minutes. I didn't use the gym but it was nice to have the option. Very close to everything, but out of the way. I worried that our room might be loud as it was near the elevators but we had no problems at all. The room was well cleaned daily and the bed was super comfortable. There was a small fridge which was nice as we kept some sandwich stuff, snacks and beer in there. The coffee maker in the room was easy to use and the coffee was good as far as hotel coffee goes. Great sized room, even with a fireplace and provided comfy terry cloth bathrobes which was unexpected and awesome. Views of the mountains from both windows, the curtains were good black out curtains and the decor was nice, comfy, trendy but not too lavish. I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. I also gather that they have a bike repair service downstairs and we got a load of laundry done for 20$ at the hotel, washed, dried and folded back in our room in just a couple hours later. We also had a problem with the safe in the late evening (due to a curious toddler) and they came up to help right away. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The Hotel was very clean, tidy and comfortable, the staff was more than friendly, the location of the hotel couldn't be better (just a 3-5 min walk to the village stroll). The swimming pool, Sauna and hot tub was very clean. The bike storage and valet parking is very secure and safe and White Spot is directly across the hotel. Overall the hotel was fantastic and i will definitley be back and i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We came to whistler and arrived at the aava and we was greeted by Ian Hartman he was absolutley amazing he advised us where to eat and was always around to answer any questions we had
the room was spotless and the views amazing breathtaking place and again had everything to hand and had wifi to which was great as we enjoyed uploading pics this hotel delivered everything we needed and more

Room Tip: well we had a room facing a golf course the mountains and douglas firs beautiful i love whister and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#19 of 49 in Whistler
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £92 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing