We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel but walls too thin if you have noisy neighbours!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aava Whistler Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
South Wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel but walls too thin if you have noisy neighbours!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the Aava for three nights towards the end of May. It is a very nice hotel with good sized rooms and friendly and helpful staff. It is really near the village but over the road so it is away from any of the noice. No breakfast provided but the front desk recommended a few places to us and we ended up going to Gone which was really good. We especially enjoyed the hot tub and the swimming pool - there was also a small gym and a spa that you could use. The bathrobes that were provided in each room were a lovely touch. The only problem we had was that we had really noisy people in the room next to us - luckily they were only there for one night out of the three that we stayed but they were really loud, shouting constantly and banging about and the walls between the rooms are really thin so it was awful. We ended up phoning the front desk at 3.00 a.m. as we had given them time to settle when they came in but they didn't! We had asked them to be quieter and they were very rude so we phoned the front desk and the staff were great - someone came up immediately and had a word with them. As I said, luckily they checked out the next day as we were going to ask for us (or them!) to be moved as it had spoiled our stay. Apart from that, we really enjoyed ourselves in the Aava though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satch1SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    688
    210
    55
    19
See reviews for
396
693
90
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

One of the better and cleaner hotels in whistler. Great value. Secure parking. Friendly staff that will take care of any problems. Quieter than other whistler hotels. Quick and easy check in and check out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place looks good on the outside but the rooms are nothing. There's no where even to get a coffee in the place or around the place. Its like a hostel for cyclists and there's a repair kiosk in lobby. Lots of cyclists stay there.

Room Tip: Find another hotel with amenities -They do have a swimming pool outside. Good for cyclists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerngardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I managed to score the last three days of the bike park season last year. It was awesome. The Aava is a perfect base. When I checked in the staff gave me a bunch of tips for dining, shopping and getting the most out of the mountain. They even managed to find me a free day pass for the lift that they hadn't been able to use during the season.
They v me valley is perfect. U hired a bike for three days and each night they stored it securely for me. The bike was station out the front and tools kept it going. It also allowed me to clean my shoes and gear for the trip home to oz. The compendium lists dryers as being available. What it doesn't say is there are washing machines too. I was stoked as I thought I would be looking for a laundromat in Vancouver on the way to the airport to get cleaned up so I would get through customs in Melbourne.
Only weird bit is the strange desire people have about hanging out in the hot tub. But that has nothing to do with the hotel.
Would love to go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowMickOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed with a group at the Aava in the fall of 2013. We had an excellent stay. The hotel is top notch. Fast en friendly service, clean and modern amenities. Located just on the edge of Whistler village, so you're sure to have a quiet stay even on those busy weekend party nights and yet you can simply walk a few hundred feet and you're in the middle of the excitement. Totally recommended. I will stay there again guaranteed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-François G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Aava in January on a group skiing/snowboarding holiday. The location is good, a ten minute walk to the main lifts and closer to shops, restaurants and bars. The rooms were really spacious and had a feeling of luxury and comfort that you don't find in European ski resorts without spending a fortune. The swimming pool, sauna and hot tub were really nice too, the hot tub did tend to get a little crowded around 4/5pm.
All the staff at the aava were really friendly and helpful.
The only negative to the Aava was having to eat breakfast outside the hotel at a restaurant in town. The restaurant at the hotel was under renovation at the time we stayed, unfortunately we were not told this by the travel company at the time of booking. The restaurant we went to could not cope with the amount of guests arriving for breakfast at the same time, we were left waiting for tables, waiting to be served and then waiting for food and drink for a long time. We always book accommodation where breakfast can be taken on site to prevent time wasting in the morning, this ate into valuable mountain time and was a source of much frustration!
However, the service providied at the restaurant did not detract from a fantastic holiday at the Aava, I would defintely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was our first time stating here at the hotel in Whistler had come to be recommended by a friend and me and my spouse were very pleased with the entire stay from check in to check out .
The hotel is not overly big and no restaurants but very close tot he core of the Village .. the pool/hot tub was a great added bonus .. Rooms were clean and spacious and very comfy beds .

Room Tip: Very quiet room we were on the 3rd floor west wing and was very quiet even in the halls did not here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holden2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
2.0 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Property: Aava Whistler Hotel
Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing