We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Experience - Summer experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent Experience - Summer experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Firstly, I did not experience this hotel during the winter time period and as such the rates during the summer are significantly lower.

My stay was only for 1 night, and I will write of my experiences.

Hotel Location is quite nice, it is on the edge of the village so you will need to walk approximately 5-10 minutes to get to the village but it is a nice walk and anyone can do it. I would like to see improved signage for guests driving to the hotel as there isn't anything to would clearly indicate where the hotel was.

Valet service: there is none nor was there a porter that was there to assist us in unloading, loading or welcoming the guest. There was one "porter" working on arranging luggage for what seemed to be a group arrival but there was serious lack luster effort.

Check In experience: the lady that checked us in a pleasant enough, decently professional and touched upon all the right points. Mistakenly told us that we were in the wrong wing which led to us parking in the wrong section of the parking lot. Assigned us to the furthest rooms in the wing which usually wouldn't be an issue but we were with a 7 month pregnant lady and the extra walking shows there was a lack of attention to detail or know the needs of her guests.

Room: Decent enough, generally cleaned up to expectation. Kureg coffee machine and Aveeno bathroom amenities is a nice touch in this hotel category. The rooms was originally a single King but for an additional $10CAD we were put into a room with 2 Queen sized beds. The duvets in the rooms definitely need to be changed as all the material had worked it way to the edges.

Since we were only there for one night, we did not experience the Housekeeping service and no turndown was offered but none was expected for this category of Hotel.

Check-out: Fast and efficient. The bill was accurate (with additional bedding charges and overnight parking), and the Receptionist even informed that we could continue to park there until departure but no in & out privileges.

Additional: This Hotel is mainly focused on the adventure, Down Hill mountain biking scene that prevails in the summer time and less towards the tourist niche. They even offer complimentary GoPro camera's for the guest to use if they so choose and complimentary 1 hr bike rental for the guests to roam around the Whistler area. We didn't take advantage of this as the Village area is strictly no biking and we weren't going far enough to require the use of bikes.

Overall: Very good value for money as the lodging is decent, service is unobtrusive. If you are looking for a higher level of service there are other choices in Whistler.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 604DC852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    714
    216
    56
    22
See reviews for
419
710
98
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Will definitely come back here again.
Very comfy beds.The only major problem we had is that the end tables,cabinets & A/C are super dusty.Once A/C's turned on all dust bunnies are flying all over the room.I have to wipe down furnitures before letting my kids in the room.
Just make sure to check-in via Foursquare to get free parking & show the concierge/reception staff.
Cleaning people are definitely doing a great job & very friendly too.They should train the Reception people instead.
Concierge/Reception staff should be more welcoming & friendly.A little smile in the face will make a difference.Been in Customer Service industry for over 15 years & definitely need more Excellent CS training!
Also,they charge $100 security deposit w/out them telling you upfront.
Until now it's been almost a week since we checked out but the money's not back to my credit card yet.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for a late summer planning getaway.
It is new, so that is a plus. But the hotel is very very basic. If you are there to just ski or mountain bike, then this will probably suit your needs just fine.
There is a Kuerig in the room.
Aveda bath products.
Our room had mountain and golf views.
Open free wifi
The bed is comfortable.
The bedding is duvet-style.
The sofa folds out into a double bed.
The ceiling of the third floor rooms are vaulted.
Quite nice for a basic hotel.
We needed a little more comfortably appointed room, so it wasn't a good fit for us.
But to be fair, we Hotwired this booking, so we didn't pay much for the room. It was a fair price for what we got.
I definitely think Hotwire has mis-categorized this hotel because they compare it to the Hilton, Crowne Plaza, and Sheraton.
I would put this hotel in the same category as a Holiday Inn Express, Hampton Inn, or LaQuinta.

Room Tip: Third floor (vaulted ceilings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMom7368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipahu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We (2 adults/2 teens) stayed in this hotel in late July for 3 nights. Room was adequate for our needs (we don't spend much time in room, just needed someplace clean & comfortable). I would suggest upgrading if your party consists of more than 2 adults.

Our room consisted of 2 queen beds (very comfortable), air conditioner, a mini refrigerator, desk/chair, dresser & large flat screen TV. Nice deep soaking tub which I loved after hiking all day in the mountains. Soda & ice machines located @ the end of the hallway.

Hotel staff were very friendly & were prompt in providing extra towels/shampoo etc. Hotel is located on the outskirts of the village so had no issues w/ noise. W/in walking distance to village restaurants, stores & gondola/chairlifts.

There is a small pool & steam room on this property but my family did not use these amenities. There is a charge for secured parking ($19 CD/night) & Wifi. No breakfast or restaurant on hotel premises.

Our family enjoyed our stay here & would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitt Meadows, British Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here and played at Whistler Golf Club. Clean and modern room, friendly staff and a large hot tub to work out the kinks after golf. Very short walk to the course. My wife and I would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KJewell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Room 320 was spacious with a good size bathroom. Secure car parking in the basement, but CAD 19 per night! Staff were excellent and informative. Location was within walking distance of the village centre with shops and eateries, plus good access to the various trams (cables).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Property: Aava Whistler Hotel
Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#17 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing