We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aava Whistler Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nita Lake Lodge(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$143
Nita Lake Lodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Delta Hotels Whistler Village Suites(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$114
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adara Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$116
Adara Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Coast Blackcomb Suites(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crystal Lodge Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Listel Hotel Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
740
778
243
59
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
778
243
59
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubgopro camerabike valetdriving rangeaveda productssmall poolminute walkwould stay here againmini fridgecoffee machineski lockersconvenient locationvillage strollper nightmountain bikingunderground parkingmain village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,615 - 1,620 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Stayed for 5 nights in December for early ski season. Beds are very comfortable, rooms are extremely clean and nicely decorated. As others have said the rooms are fairly small and the walls are thin - you can hear everything in the hallway and some sounds from adjacent rooms. The hotel is not directly in the village but is located just across the street and about a 5 minute walk to the whistler gondola in the village. The hotel provides free ski storage in the basement and free WiFi everywhere in the hotel. Parking was underground and cost a reasonable $16/day.

After days of skiing I really wanted to relax in the room and watch a movie. Unfortunately the TV had basic cable only... no movie channels and no option to rent movies in the room. Would also have been nice if there was on-site laundry facilities.

Overall I would recommend the hotel as a solid 3.5 star hotel with comfortable beds and a convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiamiTraveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in December. Rooms were clean and tidy. Not far to walk to the village. This hotel is just outside the village, so nice and quiet.
Very bad start though. On two occassions when phoning to book, we had ordered a microwave for our room due to needing bottles sterilised for our baby. On arrival we were told they did not have one. The Manager was very rude and after a lot of painful discussions, they did put us in another room with a microwave. We were very tired after a long trip up to Whistler, with a hungry and tired baby, I was not impressed that we had to have this long drawn out discussion in the lobby for 45 mins before we got a room with a microwave.
Take out the rude management and the disorganisation and the hotel is very nice. Rooms are clean, lovely and quiet and new decor.
There is no restaurant in the hotel, however there is a little cafe across the road.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2010

Good afternoon BCBubba-

Thank you for your thoughtful review following your recent stay in Whistler.

I am pleased to hear that you had enjoyed the property overall, however am distressed to hear of the challenges you faced with your microwave request, and more so the treatment you experienced by a member of our Management team.

With two young daughters myself, I am personally aware of the exaustive challenges you had faced with your travel day, and apologize that we were not better able to assist with your request with greater urgency. As you have accurately recommended, we will be introducing a new Front Office Manager next week, who comes to us with an extensive hospitality and service industry background. I regret he was not in place for your visit.

We are also working on incorporating microwaves into a much greater number of our room types, as an added conveneience and feature for our future guests to enjoy.

Again, I thank you for your candid feedback which we appreciate the opportunity to incorporate into immediate and future improvements throughout the hotel. I hope you will agree that this one individual who represented "Management" at the time of your arrival, does not best represent our property management and supervisory team in place at Aava, who are hospitality professionals motivated to ensuring your family has a wonderful vacation and visit.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I may assist personaly in future, and thank you for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We stayed for a weekend in September and we were very happy with the choice. The hotel is beautiful and almost new. The room is very clean and feels luxurious. A lot of people were having an excellent time in the hot tub/pool area, we didn't try it. We absolutely loved the breakfast at White Spot just in the front of the hotel, we'd go back anytime for the Eggs Benedict :)
Comparing with other hotels this is closed to main road but it didn't bother us at all, I think the sound isolation is very good.
The Starbucks is very close as well ; the whole village starts right across the road.
For those who enjoy hiking - I recommend the alpine trail on Blackcomb. It is spectacular and we saw a marmot and pika as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlmostHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

A spacious room, secure parking and conveniently situated to the amenities of the village. A very helpful front desk staff. Will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portalberni10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I booked room nights, boardrooms and catering at the Aava Hotel for the 9th annual Whistler Readers and Writers Festival (2010). The staff I dealt with were knowledgeable, friendly and experienced and guided me through the process by asking all the right questions. This made my job as festival organizer much easier. The boardrooms (three in total) were set up as we discussed, had plenty of light and all the equipment our guests requested was ready to go. The food was fabulous during coffee breaks and lunch breaks. Guest authors were asked to complete evaluation forms about the festival, i.e. what they liked and didn't like. Several mentioned that they loved the hotel because the rooms were spacious and comfortable, the location of the hotel gave excellent access to all Whistler has to offer, and staff were very friendly and helpful. Festival participants were also asked to comment. 90% of the participants who commented indicated they loved the small hotel feel of the Aava, the location, the free parking, and the helpfulness of the staff. I would definitely use the Aava hotel again for any business and/or pleasure travel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StelDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews