We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sick place to experience the Whistler adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whistler Lodge Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Out of all the amazing things that occurred to me during my time in Whistler, ubc lodge can definitely be counted among them. Great place to stay at, amazing staff, proper facilities (including a hot tub!!) for vet reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andres A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Whistler Lodge Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I found this hostel to have a certain charm about it! It was the closest hostel I could find to down town and it's about a 5 minute drive from the village (will cost you about $10 in a taxi) or a 30-40 minute walk (with hills). If privacy is a major issue for you, then I wouldn't recommend staying here, none of the rooms have locking doors, but a thin curtain to ensure your privacy.. There are no power points in the rooms or bathrooms, but you'll find them out in the hallway and they provide you with small lockers but make sure you bring your own locks. Having said this, I am usually one to have privacy concerns, but felt very comfortable my entire stay at UBC! The hostel has a very cosy, homelike feel to it. I've slept in comfier beds, but not awful for hostel standards. The bathrooms were nice and clean and kitchen and common area was also kept neat and tidy! Awesome staff and met some cool people along the way too! Not a bad budget stay in Whistler!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tan808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

So if your looking for privacy this isn't the hostel for you! Think a hall way with rooms all the way down each section ( Room) has 2 or 4 beds. There is no door just a curtain separating you from the hall way. You have small "lockers" in your room, no powerpoints only in the hall way. Over all the hostel has great character and great staff! Everyone was super friendly, bathrooms were clean and common areas. I didn't get to use the hot tub but it was a bonus for sure! It is about a $10 taxi ride into town or a local bus about 9 min walk down the road for $2.50 they come every 40 mins or so. Great hostel just no privacy and annoying about the powerpoints. Great staff and a fun enviroment very welcoming :)

Room Tip: If you have two people. ask for beds 21 and 22 ( private room area)
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisboe_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here four nights. Enjoyed my stay every night except for the one when Cameron was working. He decided that partying with the people who were staying at the hostel was more important than: cleaning the bathroom, stocking the bathroom with toilet paper and creating a quiet atmosphere after 11pm. He turned the music quite loud and the place became a party place. For those of us who spent the day hiking/biking we were quite annoyed that this place became a ruckus until 6am.

All of the other staff does a great job turning down the lights, keeping the place clean and reminding people to go party at the bars after 11pm. But not Cameron.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rae N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Homelike, neat and tidy. Note that it is the dorm-type, but if you travel with several friends, it becomes another fun. The staff is very nice. Although it is a bit far from the main village, if you on holiday, you will not mind to have a leisure 30 min walk. Buses are also available to connect to the village, just plan the time with the timetable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_ytyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed in the UBC Lodge on the advice of some current UBC students, and could not have had a better time for the price. We stayed in a dorm style lodging, with bunk beds and curtains as doors. However, given the price and the location we had a great time and found the accomodations clean and great for backpack travelers or people on a budget. The village was a short, and walkable distance away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PlatinumDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Creekside is great but this location is very out of the way for those without a car. If you stay for a few days it isn't too difficult to find the route that lets you ski almost directly to the lodge from Whistler Mtn (out of bounds).

The price is reasonable, especially for UBC students ($25-$40) and the facilities taken together make one of the better hostels I've ever stayed in (yeah I'm talking about the hot tub). I've heard of some issues with previous staff members friendliness but after all they're not butlers and they do a decent job of keeping things in order.

The bottom line is, its not too hard to find a nice hotel room in the Village for $80 a night, therefore, if there are at least two of you find a Best Western or equivalent instead. For the budget group, its easy to put 4 people in a room with two beds and keep the change for the Village's overpriced drinks.

Room Tip: Try to book ahead of time for busy times like Christmas or UBC's February 'reading break'...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
1.5 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
1.6 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Lodge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Lodge Hostel

Address: 2124 Nordic Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada (Formerly UBC - Whistler Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range: £27 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistler Lodge is a 42 bed backpacker's hostel, centrally located just 3km south of Whistler Village and 1km north of Whistler Creekside. Our historic lodge was built in 1965 by students from UBC's Varsity Outdoor Club and until recently, was operated by the Alma Mater Society of UBC. Now under new management, we offer bunks in dorm style rooms as well as private and semi private rooms. If you are looking for an authentic Whistler experience, come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Whistler Lodge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubc - Whistler Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing