We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lofts for group trips”
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blackcomb Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lofts for group trips”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in Blackcomb Lodge in August during Crankworx with a large group and booked a few lofts and double rooms for those who wanted a bit more privacy. Our loft at this Lodge was wonderful- couch with a fold out double, two single beds on the main floor, and two single beds on the top loft. There was even room on the top loft to do yoga in the am before our other room mates had woken up. It had a complete kitchen fully equipped with coffee makes, dishes, cutlery, and basic pots and pans. Everything was clean. Great location: very central to the village, and everything you need within walking distance. Staff was friendly.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge during Crankworx. That is definitely a fun time to be in Whistler! We are quite pleased to read your comments regarding the staff being friendly and are glad your group had a great time while here.

As you mentioned the large loft units are great for larger groups and can sleep up to 6 if 2 people share the double pull out sofa.

Thank you for choosing Whistler Premier and The Blackcomb Lodge for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    175
    97
    55
    36
See reviews for
150
111
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our room at this Lodge was absolutely perfect for us. It had a complete kitchen fully equipped with dishes cutlery pots and pans. We only used it mainly for breakfast. Everything was clean and the bed very comfortable. Our room was quiet at night. The area around the hotel has everything you need within walking distance. Whistler in the summer season is just as busy and
as beautiful as in the winter. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you for spending the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. Hearing our guests' feedback is very important to us.

We are pleased to hear you found your stay with us to be 'lovely'. As you mentioned the rooms with a full kitchen are fully stocked so guests can prepare full meals which can be great for those traveling on a budget.

Thank you for staying with The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Strong points:
- This hotel is in a great location and it is not too expensive

Medium points:
- The staff are pretty friendly.

Weak points:
- Because it is inexpensive, it attracts the wrong crowd. There were kids partying and smoking marijuana in the room next to us. Thanks to the ventilation, you could smell it throughout our room too.
- The room was poorly cleaned and there was even some graffiti on the wall.
- Sheets and towels were not clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnagiDonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thanks for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests.

One of the issues that every hotel in Whistler faces is what type of crowd shows up during our numerous events. Some of the long weekends and events like Crankworx bring a younger element to town that are here looking to party. We have a 25 and older policy in place so that there must be a guest staying in the room who is 25 years old and has provided a valid credit card. This is in place to deter the exact type guest/situation described in the review. Unfortunately it is impossible to avoid this type of guest 100% of the time. Our staff does deal with these issues now and again and it definitely helps when guests bring such problems to the attention of our front desk. We are sorry that such a guest was disruptive to your stay.

We are pleased to hear, however, that you liked the location of the lodge and found the staff to be friendly. I have brought your concerns regarding the cleanliness of your room to the attention of our housekeeping manager to discuss with his staff as we want to avoid such situations in the future.

Thank you for staying with Whistler Premier and The Blackcomb Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A friend and i spent two nights here right in the middle of a gigantic yoga gathering. Whistler was hopping! Blackcomb Lodge was a good choice and one of the only places we could get into. It is right on the central village (lower) square, so well located and feels very European. Our room overlooked the square so it was noisy for a while but quietened down. I expect the back rooms would be much quieter. Windows opened for air but the a/c unit was really efficient and not too noisy or erratic, as many are. There is a small balcony but no balcony furniture. Our suite (but only one room, really) was well furnished with good kitchen equipment, a sofa and chair, and very comfy beds. Flat-screen TV, good lighting, and a well-appointed bathroom. Fluffy towels. Everything was clean. We had two emergencies when staff needed to come to our door and they were super-fast. They took time to answer all our touristy questions. They let us stay extra-long in the parkade and they looked for my lost earring! The lodge advertises itself as "lodge and spa" but the pool and hottub are in the basement, very close to the parking area, which is also a public area, and so my friend would not use the facility. It's mostly concrete and not at all attractive. That was our only complaint. I would gladly stay here again. It was great to be so central.

Room Tip: A room at the back would probably be quieter than overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at the Blackcomb Lodge during the 'Wonderlust' yoga festival. It was definitely a busy weekend! We are pleased to hear that you felt it was a good choice and that when you did require assistance our staff were prompt in its delivery. It also nice to read that you found the amenities and room matched your needs.

We are sorry that one of your party felt pool area was unsatisfactory. The pool itself is painted concrete but the pool deck and whirlpool are tiled. In the summer I can understand the lack of appeal for an indoor pool but many guests do appreciate it and choose the lodge as it is the only indoor pool area in town located at a hotel.

Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Situated less than 5 mins from the lifts, its convenient for the main lifts. Buses drop off at rear and a 10 second walkto the hotel. Skis are looked after downstairs in the hire shop. I was at the back and heard no noise from anything at the front even with the bands playing live. WiFi was fine and the room was clean and presentable at all times. Would I stay again yes!! says it all really.

Room Tip: It was quiet at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. As you mention the lodge is conveniently located 5 minutes by foot away from the ski lifts and right by where the airport and Vancouver coaches drop off guests.

At numerous times during the year there are free live bands playing out in front of the hotel in the Village Square. They never go much past 7pm (other than during the Olympics) so guests shouldn't expect loud music when trying to get some much needed rest after their day on the ski hill.

We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Due to staff incompetence or inexperience, I had a very unpleasant experience and would not stay here again. My reservation was for a one night stay arriving on August 6. When I arrived, the receptionist stated there was no record of my reservation. Then, he managed to find it on August 5. He admitted that it had been entered wrong and he would have a room for me shortly. Unfortunately, no clean room was available and he asked me to return in a few hours. I picked up my room key three hours later and went to stash my stuff. The key would not work. I returned to the front desk where I was told that I obviously didn't know how to work the key, but he would rekey the card for room 210. I then pointed out that he had written 212 on the paperwork. I dropped off my suitcase, checked to be sure the air conditioner was on and then went to dinner. I returned to a steaming hot room. The air conditioner was burned out and generated heat rather than cold air. Housekeeping verified that it was broken. I called the front desk and the receptionist told me, "Oh yes, that room doesn't have a working unit." It was a known problem before I was even assigned the room. I was moved to a new room at 10:00 PM. After setting in, I went to clean up - no wash clothes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
In reading your review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge it does sounds like almost every thing that could have been mishandled was. For this we must apologize for the poor experience you encountered. We completely agree that this was unacceptable and this has been discussed in meetings among management and brought up with all staff as unacceptable practice.

Again sorry for unfortunate experience you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#19 of 49 in Whistler
970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Property: Blackcomb Lodge
Address: 4220 Gateway Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best address in Whistler! The Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas, art galleries and night life surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is located just a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bedding configurations designed to accommodate both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing