We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer relations”
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackcomb Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Booked online, was very disappointed with the service when we arrived. There was extra charges that we did not anticipate, and the front desk was unapologetic and suggested we leave if we didn't like the policy. The supervisor was very condescending and said we were lucky he wasn't charging us double. Room was nice and clean but we requested a king bed and got two twin beds instead.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We come to Whistler at least once a season and almost always come out for some of the World Ski and Snowboard Festival in April. We booked 5 nights in a suite with a full kitchen in February, prepaid and got an excellent deal. There's always lots of great deals to be found at Whistler in April, but unfortunately with the Blackcomb Lodge you don't even get what you've paid for.

We arrived and found they'd made a mistake and put us into a small hotel room instead of the studio suite that we had booked. Generally this mistake was not a problem but they were booked up solid and had sold our room to someone else. They offered to move us to another property they managed but they locations were far from central (behind the Marketplace and well up on Blackcomb at the Marquis). For the festival and with limited lower mountain conditions this time of year, the central village location is key. After an 8 hour travel day we didn't want to deal with scrambling around and settled on a partial refund and stayed in the hotel room.

The room was a very small wedge shaped cave that was a bit smaller than the dorm room I had in college. There was a small window with a tree in directly front of it so there was very little natural light. Everything was a bit worn out but it seemed clean. This would probably be ok for a couple of nights but definitely not for 5.

Housekeeping was a bit odd. Things were fine some days and others not so much. The second day the bed was made up in a weird way. The pillows were arranged in a row, under the sheets, in the middle of the bed rather than towards the headboard. Not a big deal but odd. A couple of times they took dirty towels that were hung up and didn't replace them. Or would take everything and leave just a face cloth and a hand towel. The front desk were great about taking care of this and towels were brought up right away. But not something you want to deal with after a long day of skiing and wanting a shower.

There are some really good things going for the hotel. Location is central and convenient for everything. Yes, it's noisy but we live in a city and are used to that so not an issue for us but understand that it would bother others. The staff we encountered, especially at the front desk were really friendly and helpful, particularly Phil. There were genuinely concerned about our issues and they did their best to solve them. The pool and hot tub area is nice and the perfect cure for sore legs.

The skiing was great as always and we had a lot of fun in the village. Unfortunately for the lodge, the good didn't make up for the bad so we definitely wouldn't stay here again and would probably avoid Whistler Premier properties in general. The small refund we were given for the mix up definitely didn't make up for what we had to spend on the extra meals out due to lack of kitchen.

Room Tip: Verify your booking before arrival, even if you've prepaid for your accommodations. Avoid the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abigllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Quebec City, Quebec
1
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Perfectly situated in the village, close to the lifts, convinience stores and all the rest but not too close from the noise coming from the nightlife.
One of the few place that offers 2 single beds with full kitchen and dishwasher.
Nice little touchs like coffee filters and various soaps.
Great value, it was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Abbotsford, British Columbia
11
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Re: Blackcomb Lodge: We booked this hotel with Whistler guest services, advising we were a family with young children looking for a convenient hotel close to the base lifts. The hotel is close to the main square, Cittas, Amsterdam Pub, etc...about a 10 minute walk to Whistler Gondola. Or room had a main suite and a loft, supposedly an upscale room for this hotel.

There are several problems with this holel, especially if you have kids or if you appreciate getting sleep. This place is extremely noisy both inside and outside. All evening, and culminating at about 02:30, there are people loudly shorting and walking in the hallways, and outside in the street. It is nearly impossible to sleep. If a person is staying here and expects to party all night, it's probably a good place, but otherwise it should be avoided.

Other things - the room we were in was fairly dirty and well beaten up, all the corners and surfaces and corners were scratched and gouged, fridge had a dint, couch was stained, etc.. The room was small, the beds and couch taking up most of the room. There was a kitchen, but nowhere to eat really unless eating on your bed is worth +$150 / night for this room. The room was very hot, and no temperature control (so enjoy more noise when you open the window). The pool was about a foot under filled (all 20 x 10 feet of it) and the hot tube was large enough for maybe 6 adults, as long as they knew each other well. We avoided it, as much as we really wanted a place this a pool. It was not fit.

In summary - this is easily a 2 star hotel anywhere that I've stayed. Very disappointed with it and will obviously not be back. Also disappointed with Whistler guest services who sold this room, they need to warn about the noise in places like this, they knew this was family accommodation for young children and should have at least mentioned it was a run down party shack and seriously not fit for people who want a family experience

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my husband and it has the best location. The wifi isnt good. It isnt as noisy as other reviews say. There is housekeeping but just basic stuff. The staff are great super friendly. They have a room where u can keep ur bags after checking out if ur leaving later after riding in the mountain and even let u use the showers down by the pool. I loved it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

You really can't beat the location of this place. The walk to the lift is only a few minutes and you're right in the village surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. They charge for parking but you can find cheaper options (specifically near the convention center). The only bad thing I would say about this place is that the service we received was not so great. Twice during our one week stay we did not get our trash taken out or get towels. We called down to the front desk and the person that answered the phone gave us an attitude as if we were making an unreasonable request. Then the guy that finally came to the room acted as if we were inconveniencing him by making him do his job. That said, I would probably stay there again. I was there to ski, not to be pampered.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank dvoit77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
Thank JWC2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#19 of 49 in Whistler
982 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.5 mi away
Aspens on Blackcomb
Aspens on Blackcomb
#23 of 49 in Whistler
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Address: 4220 Gateway Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range: £72 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best address in Whistler! The Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas, art galleries and night life surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is located just a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bedding configurations designed to accommodate both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing