We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare minimum”
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blackcomb Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bare minimum”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Room was nice enough but the bed was terrible- sagging in the middle and springs popping through.
The location is nice in that it's right in the village BUT not nice after midnight when people are streaming out of the bars across the way screaming for four hours straight. If you plan on being one of those ppl then I guess it's ok.
You can't check in until 4 and have to check out by 10 giving you 2 less hours than every other hotel I've ever stayed at.
If you're hoping for a morning swim before you leave, forget it. You're not getting any more pool time than what your 1 night stay affords you since the pool "conveniently" opens at checkout time.
It could've been worse. It's decent enough but don't expect any extras when staying here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    174
    97
    55
    36
See reviews for
149
111
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a studio loft for one night at the end of July - temperatures in Whistler were in the 30's so a bit hotter than normal for that time of year. The hotel is definitely dated, but had a nice layout, with lots of room (sleeps up to 6); however, there was no air conditioning and it was unbearably hot. While the staff had provided two electric fans to help with the heat, we seriously considered moving to a new hotel. We ended up not being able to use the beds in the loft (because it was even hotter up there) and had our teenager sleep on the floor between the bed and pull out couch just to keep cool. Opening the windows at night and mounting the fans in the window helped a bit but then we had to listen to loud drunk people in the village square until 2 am. I would not stay here again in the summer. It is probably an ok hotel in the winter, when being overheated is not a concern.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBod21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Our room was so hot ... we almost melted at like 35 degrees in our room it may have been cooler to sleep in the sauna. Having kids in a hot room like that was not enjoyable. Avoid this hotel on hot summer days and nights like the plage. The climate control advertised only means heat... hard to believe a hotel in Whistler at such a good location can be so 3rd world.... we will not be returning.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked this hotel while sitting at the Whistler Visitor Center using Travelocity. Unfortunately, lots of hotels were fairly booked because of a music festival, as well as we were late to town because we missed the ferry from Sunshine coast, so we wasted a whole 2.5 hours. The location is excellent, next to the visitor center, parking is expensive - $25 per nite, luckily, we parked our car overnight at parking lot #4 - free for 72 hours - it's a 10 min walk - a good daily exercise. The hotel is old, built in 1984 - per front desk. noisy - lots of kids running around up and down, The room is smelly - it's a suite - smell like bacon, and pizza, I guess the air-con was turned off. My wife had allergic reaction after sitting down on the bed for 5 minutes - her legs and thighs were all red, I had to run down to drug stores to get some allergy medicine - It never happens to her before. Unfortunately, we had to stay 2 nights as we booked quite a bit of activities. The only positive comments I have are - location, affordable, a super hot sauna, and cooking in the hotel room as eating out was expensive, even though there is a IGA, McDonald and KFC.

Room Tip: I would not suggest this hotel personally as I booked it last minute through Travelocity. But indeed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur92809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you felt it was 'just okay' and the only positive aspect you found was the location. As you mentioned we are one of the older properties in the Whistler Village and if you have your windows open it is easy to smell cooking for a neighboring room. The is especially true in the case of something strong like bacon.

I would like to mention that our parking is only $18.90 per night which makes us one of the cheapest parking options in the main village. As well we do not offer air conditioning in our suites.

The allergic reaction is confusing to us as we have our linens laundered to meet professional standards. We are sorry for any impact this may have had on your wife's time in Whistler.

If you would like to discuss these matters please feel free to contact me directly as I would love to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was here for 4 days in July. The Lodge is very dated - which does not keep it from being a three star, but there are little problems in every corner that do not exist at a good middle of the road three star. I would not stay here again:

Worst - which might not be as bad in other rooms, the rooms facing the village square are exposed to noise from the restaurants and the party people in the square until about 3:00 a.m. The noise makes sleep impossible.

The kitchen - is supposed to be equipped, but it is not properly equipped. The cheap bottle openers don't work; the coffee pot was broken and there wasn't a frying pan in sight. The fridge contained a plate of chopped onions - a lovely greeting fairly hard for any cleaning staff opening the door to miss. Then - the groceries I bought froze in the fridge and I had to throw them out. Front desk staff - amazing young adults who must put up with a lot of grief - were very helpful with the former gltiches - but there's nothing they could do with the bigger.

Rate this honestly: It s moderately priced and well located so it would likely work for lots of people who would have no cause for complaint if they were being told what they were getting.

Avoid the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotthebugVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The photos on their website present this hotel as being comfortable and modern. It is actually not. Although we were in the back of the hotel when the bars close at 2 AM the noise would wake anyone no matter how well they sleep. The room itself was cramped as well as outdated. Maid service was good except that she does NOT have paper towels for the kitchenette.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, if you want a comfortable place to stay, don't try Blackcomb Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkleymydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Guest Relations Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are sorry to hear that your experience at The Blackcomb Lodge wasn't what you hoped it would be. Unfortunately, with our central and convenient location, we are right in the heart of all the Whistler restaurants and shops but also the bars. Many of the hotels located on the village stroll experience some of this noise and again we must apologize for the impact it had on your stay. We have rooms facing away from the village stroll which does cut out a lot of the outside noise. We recommend people wanting a quieter stay to call ahead and request one of the quieter rooms.

If you would like to discuss your stay please call the lodge and ask for Dave Mitchell. I would a love a chance to discuss it personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC,
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

we had 1-night stay here and we couldn't complain of the location. the staff was very welcoming and they briefed us of everything we needed to know. the room we stayed was big enough for a family of 6 without feeling squished. on the main floor was a full kitchen - microwave, oven, stove, fridge, a dishwasher and it was also complete with plates, cutleries, pans, water boiler and a coffee maker. main floor also features the toilet/ bathroom, a king bed and sofa bed and upstairs had 2 single beds.

parking is not free, though ($18). but we felt that the car was secured in that parking. the indoor pool was very cold, which holds true with other reviews. the hot tub was very Hot that it felt really scalding!!!

we never heard any noise once we retired for the night and we rested well on comfy beds so that's a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRtoLAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#11 of 49 in Whistler
1,364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#17 of 49 in Whistler
966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Property: Blackcomb Lodge
Address: 4220 Gateway Dr, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best address in Whistler! The Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas, art galleries and night life surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is located just a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bedding configurations designed to accommodate both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing