We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome apartment, very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horstman House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horstman House
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Awesome apartment, very impressed”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here in early December and loved it - the room is furbished in modern rustic decor, and comfortably fit the 2 of us in a 1 bedroom room due to the pull out bed and 2-way ensuite. The main bed was so comfy and huge, and the kitchen was a bonus for the days we wanted to cook at home. Loved that our door opened out onto a bit of mountain and snow for privacy, and Paul was an excellent help on the front desk! Minor issues worth mentioning - the rooms aren't very soundproof, and a few lights were out although I'm sure they would have fixed this as soon as we mentioned but we didn't have time. A massive bonus is the fress shuttle right outside the front doors, although you are an easy 20min walk to the village. We liked the location, as it was close to the village but you could escape and easily view some of the mountain right outside your window. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprielle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House in early December. We are pleased to hear that you found the condo awesome and was very impressed.

Almost every facet of the rooms has seen recent upgrades with carpets and painting done in the few last years and the furniture being swapped out last fall. This fall we replaced all the beds with very high end pillow top mattresses and the feedback about them from everyone has been outstanding!

As you mentioned the free Upper Village Shuttle is incredibly convenient with pick ups right by the lodge on both sides of the street. This is a great way to get back to the lodge for those who don't want to take the ski out route from Blackcomb which leads right to our ski locker room door!

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    56
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
60
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Horstman House is a great vacation spot! We loved our time there. Very nice and well equipped rooms with full kitchen and in suite laundry. The location is excellent, just outside the main village but still well within easy walking distance of everything. The only minor issue is that the check in desk has very limited hours and if you arrive outside of those hours you have to check in at a different location in the village center. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a nice outdoor hot tub and common area equipped with BBQs. All in all a great place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kairos247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for spending the time to post a review of your stay with us at The Horstman House. We are pleased to read that you guys found it to be a great vacation spot and found the room well equipped and location excellent.

As you mentioned the walk from the lodge to the Whistler village isn't too far but for those not up for it there is the free Upper Village shuttle that picks up right in front of the lodge going both directions and drops off right near the ski lifts for both mountains.

The desk hours are 9am-5pm Sunday - Thursday and 7am -11pm Friday & Saturday. Outside of those hours guests can check in at our 24 hour desk at The Blackcomb Lodge located in the main Whistler village at 4220 Gateway Drive. The 24 hour desk is also always available for guests requiring assistance.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I have been going to Whistler for at least 25 years for our annual ski trip. We have been staying at the Horstman House since the summer it opened. We love the location, it is secluded and the setting is gorgeous especially at night in the hot tub with the snow surrounding the area. We have a favorite room on the 3rd floor facing the woods that we love. In the morning when you want to go skiing it is great to walk outside the hotel and catch the bus, so convenient! We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Helpful?
1 Thank qioffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay over Christmas at The Horstman House. We are happy to read that once again you had an enjoyable stay with us.

The rooms on the back side of the lodge are great for those seeking quiet and relaxation. As you mentioned the pool and hot tub area is a great place to unwind after a day of skiing. At night with snow falling it is a very beautiful place to be.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

To start, I can't say enough about the staff. Super friendly but got you in and out and what you needed. They were so awesome! The place itself was beautiful. Bought a groupin or social living voucher to go, so was pretty cheap. Our room ended up being an accessible suite ( which we didn't need but was cool anyway) it was quite big, the bathroom was amazing, kitchen was clean and the living room rustically decorated but obviously new furniture or super well cared for. Our view was not great, kind of the side of the building and a bit into the forest which was nice. There were loud kids in the room above or beside, maybe both, but didn't really bother us. Nice small pool and hot tub. Little gym.

Had some issues with parking. Even though we paid for it and it was under ground locked parking, there were signs all over saying spots belonged to differenteople who I was told had shares in the suites. It became such a problem that 2 out of 3 days we had to park outside. Plus it was so tight the parking several times we had to either go in the other door of our car and climb over or pull the car out so the other could get in.

Parking aside. It was great. Wonderful trails just outside the door, shuttle to take you into town Etc

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good experience and that you found the staff to be friendly and awesome during your mini honeymoon. Congrats!

The parking can definitely be a bit tight for those with larger vehicles or if a large vehicle is parked in the next stall. Parking, however, is free and there shouldn't be any charge. We do reserve parking for our owners but leave every other stall as unreserved for our guests to better facilitate parking. As well we have visitor parking outside the gated area which has higher clearance and a few wider stalls if people are having issues inside the underground.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I've stayed here several times and have never had a complaint. Amenities are great, it's a little far from the Village but not too bad, still walking distance.

The front desk guy Phil was awesome! When our cab was late picking us up, he called the restaurant to let them know we would be late for our reservation. Its a good thing too because it was packed when we got there.

All around 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House Lodge. It is great to read that during several visits with us you have never had a complaint! We are happy to hear that Phil was helpful in making sure your reservation was still in order even though the cab was late picking you up.

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great place in the upper village close to Lost Lake. Away from main village party crowds, but still easily walkable - or free shuttle out front.Front desk very friendly with pool and big hot tub perfect after a day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Back side quitier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at2bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
We are pleased to hear you had a great getaway while staying with us during your time in Whistler. As you mentioned The Horstman House is a great place for those seeking to be away from all the action of the Whistler village. The free shuttles are definitely convenient and run quite often during those peak times when visitors are seeking to get to and from the ski lifts.

It is also great to hear that you found the front desk staff to be very friendly.

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Very comfortable stay, alpine setting and decor. The rooms are clean, the staff courteous and helpful. Underground locked parking. Nice setting in the trees for the hot tub and pool. Inside there is a little gym.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Horstman House Lodge. We are pleased to hear you found it a comfortable retreat and enjoyed your time with us. The secluded pool and hot tub area is certainly a great feature of the property.

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
3.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horstman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horstman House

Property: Horstman House
Address: 4653 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Horstman House 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horstman House is a luxury "boutique" condominium hotel located right on Blackcomb Mountain. This intimate mountain retreat only has 51 suites, but has the same amenities as properties twice the size. Make your Whistler vacation truly special, stay at the Horstman House and treat yourself.Ski-In to complex.Outdoor Hot Tub.Fitness Room.Games Room.Outdoor Pool.Elevators.Gas Fireplace.Full Kitchen.Washer / Dryer.Located on Free Shuttle Route.Free Wireless Internet Front Desk.Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horstman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horstman House Hotel Whistler
Horstman Hotel Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing