We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horstman House
Nearby Hotels
Nita Lake Lodge(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Whistler Mountainside(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crystal Lodge Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Legends(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aava Whistler Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel(Whistler)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
95
62
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
62
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskhot tubfull kitchenfree shuttlelaundry soapski homewasher dryer in the unitfitness roomthree bedroomquiet retreatunderground parkingmin walkski storage roomliving roommain villagethere is no air conditioningcomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here in early December and loved it - the room is furbished in modern rustic decor, and comfortably fit the 2 of us in a 1 bedroom room due to the pull out bed and 2-way ensuite. The main bed was so comfy and huge, and the kitchen was a bonus for the days we wanted to cook at home. Loved that our door opened out onto a bit of mountain and snow for privacy, and Paul was an excellent help on the front desk! Minor issues worth mentioning - the rooms aren't very soundproof, and a few lights were out although I'm sure they would have fixed this as soon as we mentioned but we didn't have time. A massive bonus is the fress shuttle right outside the front doors, although you are an easy 20min walk to the village. We liked the location, as it was close to the village but you could escape and easily view some of the mountain right outside your window. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprielle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House in early December. We are pleased to hear that you found the condo awesome and was very impressed.

Almost every facet of the rooms has seen recent upgrades with carpets and painting done in the few last years and the furniture being swapped out last fall. This fall we replaced all the beds with very high end pillow top mattresses and the feedback about them from everyone has been outstanding!

As you mentioned the free Upper Village Shuttle is incredibly convenient with pick ups right by the lodge on both sides of the street. This is a great way to get back to the lodge for those who don't want to take the ski out route from Blackcomb which leads right to our ski locker room door!

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Horstman House is a great vacation spot! We loved our time there. Very nice and well equipped rooms with full kitchen and in suite laundry. The location is excellent, just outside the main village but still well within easy walking distance of everything. The only minor issue is that the check in desk has very limited hours and if you arrive outside of those hours you have to check in at a different location in the village center. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a nice outdoor hot tub and common area equipped with BBQs. All in all a great place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kairos247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for spending the time to post a review of your stay with us at The Horstman House. We are pleased to read that you guys found it to be a great vacation spot and found the room well equipped and location excellent.

As you mentioned the walk from the lodge to the Whistler village isn't too far but for those not up for it there is the free Upper Village shuttle that picks up right in front of the lodge going both directions and drops off right near the ski lifts for both mountains.

The desk hours are 9am-5pm Sunday - Thursday and 7am -11pm Friday & Saturday. Outside of those hours guests can check in at our 24 hour desk at The Blackcomb Lodge located in the main Whistler village at 4220 Gateway Drive. The 24 hour desk is also always available for guests requiring assistance.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My husband and I have been going to Whistler for at least 25 years for our annual ski trip. We have been staying at the Horstman House since the summer it opened. We love the location, it is secluded and the setting is gorgeous especially at night in the hot tub with the snow surrounding the area. We have a favorite room on the 3rd floor facing the woods that we love. In the morning when you want to go skiing it is great to walk outside the hotel and catch the bus, so convenient! We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com
1  Thank qioffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay over Christmas at The Horstman House. We are happy to read that once again you had an enjoyable stay with us.

The rooms on the back side of the lodge are great for those seeking quiet and relaxation. As you mentioned the pool and hot tub area is a great place to unwind after a day of skiing. At night with snow falling it is a very beautiful place to be.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

To start, I can't say enough about the staff. Super friendly but got you in and out and what you needed. They were so awesome! The place itself was beautiful. Bought a groupin or social living voucher to go, so was pretty cheap. Our room ended up being an accessible suite ( which we didn't need but was cool anyway) it was quite big, the bathroom was amazing, kitchen was clean and the living room rustically decorated but obviously new furniture or super well cared for. Our view was not great, kind of the side of the building and a bit into the forest which was nice. There were loud kids in the room above or beside, maybe both, but didn't really bother us. Nice small pool and hot tub. Little gym.

Had some issues with parking. Even though we paid for it and it was under ground locked parking, there were signs all over saying spots belonged to differenteople who I was told had shares in the suites. It became such a problem that 2 out of 3 days we had to park outside. Plus it was so tight the parking several times we had to either go in the other door of our car and climb over or pull the car out so the other could get in.

Parking aside. It was great. Wonderful trails just outside the door, shuttle to take you into town Etc

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good experience and that you found the staff to be friendly and awesome during your mini honeymoon. Congrats!

The parking can definitely be a bit tight for those with larger vehicles or if a large vehicle is parked in the next stall. Parking, however, is free and there shouldn't be any charge. We do reserve parking for our owners but leave every other stall as unreserved for our guests to better facilitate parking. As well we have visitor parking outside the gated area which has higher clearance and a few wider stalls if people are having issues inside the underground.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews