We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable but dated and out of the way”
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but dated and out of the way”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed in room 120 - a two bedroom, two bathroom suite at the Tantalus Lodge in August 2011. There was no view from the room - probably best to request something on a top floor if you want a view.

All in all, I was pleased with the room - for the price, it was fine.

The room has 2 separate bedrooms - one with a queen bed and ensuite bathroom and a second bedroom with two single beds and another bathroom.

The beds were great - good quality and comfortable. The bathrooms were clean and functional yet quite dated.

The full kitchen was very well equipped and more than adequate. The living room had 2 couches and a new TV.

There is no restaurant or bar on site.

All in all, the room was more than adequate although far from luxurious or new - clean but dated and in need of an overhaul.

The Tantalus is about a 10 minute walk from Whistler Village - if you want to be in the middle of the action, this is not a great choice.

There are two hot tubs, a pool and a co-ed sauna on the property - all in good condition and clean.

Parking is underground - $17 per vehicle per night, over and above the room rate.

Wireless internet was available for about $5.00 a day - reliable and fast connection.

Not a bad choice for a Whistler stay as long as you are not looking for high-end or luxurious appointments or service.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room - ask about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdpegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    143
    63
    26
    9
See reviews for
139
47
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Not bad, but not great I guess is how I'd put our stay! We usually rent a house or go for larger accommodation options, but since there were only 5 of us on this trip we decided to book the Tantalus' 2-Bedroom Premier Suite. Tantalus is about a 5 minute walk to the Village, but note that it is uphill and the sidewalk shares a bike path. Most of the time we walked up the hill and then cut through the Westin to escape from cold nights.

Although our suite was labelled as being on the '5th' floor, you actually enter on the 4th. It can be a long walk around the corridors as was the case for us. When you enter the suite, you have to go up a long flight of stairs. Temperature in our suite seemed a bit off as well as when you enter on the 4th floor it's nice and cool, then as you go up to the 5th, it's pretty warm. We tried adjusting the thermostats as there's one in every room, but that didn't seem to change anything.

We were only staying one night (took the Rocky Mountaineer) so for one or two nights it would be completely fine. The Master has a King Sized Bed with ensuite, the second room has two twin beds, then there's also a pull-out in the living room and another washroom, kitchenette and balcony.

We did notice a lot of rooms on the 4th floor seemed to be hosting either stag/stagettes or big parties. The doors were unlocked and people were coming and going from them. Maybe because our suite's stairs went up to the 5th floor the noise wasn't an issue though? Not sure how it would be on the other floors though.

We didn't use any of the amenities as the weather wasn't right for it. There's a pool, hot tub and tennis court. Front Desk wasn't overly friendly, but allowed us to store our luggage on check-in and check-out .

We got a really good deal on the suite through a friend, but had we not, I would probably book elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 636 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights expecting something erring on just simple and functional. This place was quite the opposite, with our room being a huge suite having a separate bedroom and large dining/sitting are with kitchenette. The whole space was very well furnished and the beds and sofas were very comfortable. It was all particularly cosy. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Although a short walk from the centre of the resort, the location is still very handy and nicely secluded. We enjoyed using the pool area, spa and sauna, which were great in the lovely weather. I would definitely return here and could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The lodge is about 5 minutes walk to the village (up a pretty steep hill so you may consider that when traveling with elderly people). The lodge has a big entrance with lots of comfortable seating. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which fit our family of 5 comfortably. The suite was well laid out and had a well stocked kitchen. Great patio with lots of space. The bathrooms were probably the most disappointing part. They are old, a little dingy, and the bath towels were stained. Although we did not go into the pool or hot tub, it did look nice. Overall, it was a good experience at Tantalus. It was good value for the price and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Over the years we've stayed at the Tantalus each time we've visited Whistler. Before, it was a great hotel to stay at, clean and quiet. This year, the towels had stains on them and one of them had a used contact lens laying on it. The rooms smelled musty and left a horrible smell on our clothing. The toilet seat was falling apart. This year, the hotel decided to not allow us to bring our bikes in the suite, something that was never a problem previously. Turns out they want you to pay $200, a damage fee that they had never enforced before.

Partying was also a big issue this year. We had to call the desk to complain about the noise numerous times, a problem that was never there before. Somehow, the Tantalus has become known as a "partying hotel" and every weekend there they were, taking over the pool and hot tubs and keeping people awake at night.

Also, there was a bed bug problem in one of the suites. These people complained about bed bugs, but the staff were rude and unaccommodating to the couple, saying they couldn't find the bed bugs (in the middle of the day mind you) and wouldn't provide them with another room. The couple left in disgust and checked into the Westin.

We will NOT be staying at the Tantalus EVER again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bikerider_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I went with a trip with the family. We had six people and stayed comfortably in the two bedroom suite. There is a sofa bed in the living room. One bedroom had two twin beds, and the other had a queen, and an ensuite bathroom. The beds were fairly high up off the floor which I didn't like that much. I found my bed (the twin) relatively comfortable.

The two bathrooms were average looking although a bit dated in looks. The kitchen and the open layout with tall ceilings were the highlight. Kitchen had granite counter tops, stone tile floors and oak cabinets. It was great to have a kitchen with all the appliances (microwave, oven, dishwasher, standard fridge) to prepare meals for a large group, instead of eating out each meal.

We stayed in the 500 level premier suite which is on the top floor. Note that the entrance to your suite is located on the fourth floor, and you are required to walk up a staircase with about twenty stairs to your suite from the door entrance. The premier suite has two balconies. One had an unspectacular view of the trees, but the other gave us a view of the mountains and the golf driving range. The balcony had chairs and a small table. It is a great place to BBQ, which we did for one meal.

We found everything about our stay enjoyable except the extra charges. First there was the $17 charge PER vehicle. Since we drove in two cars this was $34 plus tax for one night! Secondly they charge you for internet use at a rate of $4.95 per 24 hour period. Talk about nickel and diming the customers!

Room Tip: Get the premier suite as it probably has the best ambiance for larger groups and families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We booked a block of 10 rooms for our family reunion and it was great. We were able to make all of our meals and use their conference room to meet spend time together. It was different from the other nearby luxurious Four Seasons, or Fairmont hotels but it was able to provide us with exactly what we needed: a lot of rooms (that each slept a lot of people) that had kitchens.

We had to pay for internet, which was a bummer. Proximity to the village was a definite plus. We were able to walk there everyday (short 5 minute walk).

Overall, really great little lodge. Don't expect super fancy, sophisticated decor and you'll be satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank OneFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#10 of 49 in Whistler
1,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.3 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#7 of 49 in Whistler
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Property: Tantalus Lodge
Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing