We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical and great for kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Practical and great for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

How does one stay in Whistler Village without having to deal with the insane summer crowds? Tanatlus makes it happen by being just a 5 min walk away from the hustle and bustle. Big suites with real fireplaces and great decks. The lodge is surrounded by trees and was nicely cool despite the hot weather. The highlight for the kids was the pool and the staff allowed us to use the facilities for the rest of the day even though we checked out at 11. In fact the staff were extremely helpful when we needed to print and fax some important business documents. The only down side was the difficulty getting a decent coffee in the mornings as the in-room coffee was pretty rough and there is no where to go nearby. All in all good value and very comfortable for families.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gambierkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    141
    60
    25
    9
See reviews for
133
43
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I absolutely loved my stay in this hotel. I'm a little late reviewing, but it was magical. A real old style ski lodge, perhaps it is just aged but it works well. The staff are welcoming and enthusiastic. The outdoor hot tub and sauna is a pleasure on a snowy day. The fireplace just added the little but of extra comfort to the hotel. I loved how active the lodge was in. Protecting Canada's beautiful environment. My only issue is the distance from the village, although the free shuttle in the day was good.

Room Tip: Lower floors are ideal after a long day skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi E, General Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Todd,
thank you very much for your kind words. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us this winter. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Rudi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had family visiting from California and we booked two 2 bedroom suites for our large family. The rooms were spacious with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and kitchens in each suite. This is and older lodge but rooms and hotel is well maintained considering age. The staff is extremely friendly and we had great interactions from the time we checked in with Veronique to the lovely room attendants on our floor wishing us a great stay with a smile. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub which was very clean and tidy. We also had two patios in our suite, one in the front and back, and was quite fun hanging out and enjoying the beautiful mountains surrounding us. We took a few walks in to Whistler village which is about a one minute walk away. I also noticed they had tennis courts, but did not have time to enjoy. When we were leaving Inderjit one of the staff members was so happy that we stayed at the lodge and wished us well on our journeys and wanted to see us real soon. My family and I felt really at home. We had about 8 kids with us and they truly had a memorable stay. If your looking for fancy, this may not be the place for you. But if your looking for a great spacious family resort, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Tantalus Lodge for an amazing experience for my family and I, I already want to go back!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are suites at this hotel, so you get quite a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi E, General Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Steve,

It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,

Rudi Eiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chilliwack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a disappointment, garbage, filth, dust, hair, dirty socks, should I go on. Never stayed in a worse place. Do not recommend. I'm not looking forward to this 1st and last night, from what we see the standards for cleanliness are horrible. We came up with my work for a team building trip, reviews seemed pretty good. Pictures seemed ok. But the rooms are a huge disappointment to all of us- very dirty

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QBurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rudi E, General Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your experience at our Lodge.
I am very disappointed to read about your stay and that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies.
I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you in person. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience at 604-932-4146 or by e-mail rudi.eiter@deltahotels.com.

Kind Regards,

Rudi Eiter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here while attended Tough Mudder on the weekend of June 20th. we had a two bedroom 2 bathroom room with full kitchen and it was very spacious. It had a queen bed with en suite in one room and then the second bedroom had two singles. there was a "wall cubby" with a set of bunk beds and a double pull out couch and a nice little deck off the back. The rooms overall were very comfortable but a little outdated. I think I was expecting a little more since it was Whistler and I had never been. Staff were very friendly and the pool area was great! Had a great stay and would definitely stay here again if we came back with a group!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 305 and despite being full of Tough Mudder participants who were all in the party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logistics83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

4 older ladies on vacation, we shared a great 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with full kitchen - even a dishwasher! OK, the bathroom was not immaculate but the rest of the place was and the super friendly and helpful staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartments with all the fittings you need - couldn't find anything we needed. Clean and tidy. Friendly and helpful staff. Short walk to Whistler village centre.

Norman F.

Room Tip: Front room on North Wing would be best for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Whistler Village Inn + Suites
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Listel Hotel Whistler
The Listel Hotel Whistler
#18 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adara Hotel
Adara Hotel
#19 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Property: Tantalus Lodge
Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing