We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had the most beautiful 2 bedroom suite. The private hot tub, the view ere and the staff made our anniversary awesome. My wife and I were referred to a beautiful spa in the village and had the best treatments. They organized our lift passes, our snowmobiling tour and our special dinner. Thank you sundial team, Ciara, Niall and Magnus. We will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    179
    48
    8
    6
See reviews for
285
303
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is a small property smack at the base of both ski gondolas. It has a small property feel because it is a small property. But it has all the usual amenities of Whistler properties other than it has no pool. It does have a hot tub and indeed several rooms with their own private outdoor hot tubs. Ski locker storage is quick and easy and well staffed in the am and pm. There are 4 food choices in the same building. We were pleasantly happy that you could not hear any noise from the restaurants and only a bit of the village stroll night time hubbub--but hey it's Whistler that's to be expected. Parking access is excellent; the best we've found in Whistler. A 2 minute walk to groceries and the beer/wine/liquor store.

Room Tip: valley side will be generally quitter than mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBizSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 6nights/7days at the Sundial for our annual winter ski trip. The Sundial is a ski in ski out hotel conveniently located at the base of Whistler mountain and the heart of the village. We were given a corner suite on the top floor. We had a mountain view from all of the windows and balcony of the suite. The view is quite stunning and remarkable at all hours of the day.

The suite is spacious, comfortable and clean. The kitchen has granite counter tops and a breakfast bar that seats two. There is also a round table adjacent to the kitchen that seats four. The appliances are a bit dated, but has everything you need in a kitchen (i.e. Dishwasher, coffee maker, electric kettle, cookware, glassware, utensils, kitchen tools). The hotel also provides dish washing soap, paper towels and tea bags/coffee filters.

The living room includes a sofa which is also a fold out bed, fireplace, television with a DVD player.

The bathroom has a granite countertop and heated floors. The tub is a shower combo but it is deep and wide enough if you wish to take a bath. The shower pressure was not that great and the temperature was not consistently hot. The water temperature was a tad notch above lukewarm. We contacted the staff and maintenance tried to help, but it was reported that this occurs at times, especially when the hot tubs in the adjacent rooms and on the roof are being filled. On a positive note, the hotel provides Aveda products for their toiletries.

The bed was very comfortable and cozy. We had a good night's sleep throughout the week. We were on the 8th floor and could hear some noise from the bars adjacent to the hotel which is on the ground level. It did not bother us much but the music and noise may be bothersome to others, so I'd suggest to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.

I'd like to mention that the hotel has a self service guest laundry facility in the basement. This great detail is not listed on the hotel's website or on the previous reviews. This was essential for us since we were traveling for over a week and needed to wash our clothes, especially our snowboard outfits. The wash and dry machines cost $2 each/load/machine. If we had known that there is self service guest laundry, we would've packed lighter.

Another tip, the hotel charges $20/night plus tax for parking. The Whistler Conference Centre charges $10 every 24hrs for garage parking. It is located a short 5-7 minute walk across the village. If you want to save money and don't mind a quick walk, go for it.

Also, you cannot bring your skis or snowboard to your suite. The hotel provides a complimentary ski valet which is located right behind the front desk.

Lastly, the service could have been better. The staff seemed slow to respond when we inquired for service pertaining to our suite, such as the water temperature and needing additional toiletries. We only called twice during our entire stay but both instances we waited for close to 45 minutes until anybody showed up.

Overall, we like the prime location and easy access to the gondolas and mountains. We hope that there will be improvement for efficient and consistent service from the staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eves V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This hotel is located on the village stroll. It's the best position in Whistler. From our balcony we were able to watch all the comings and going's of everyone. We could check out which lifts were operating and which weren't. It's just the best location in Whistler, close to all the shop's & restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Whistler & especially if you have non- skiers with you. As you walk into the hotel each day the friendly staff take your ski's & put them in your locker for you and then get them out in the morning. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Love this hotel.

Room Tip: Check out their web site for room locations. Very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A1arrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We enjoyed the spaciousness of the hotel suite and having a kitchen is a definite plus. The staff were very attentive and caring. The elevator is not equipped to handle a lot of luggage and equipment needed for a ski vacation so a couple of trips were necessary. We had to remind housekeeping for an extra two pillows three days in a row but it was a very busy time for them. All in all, a nice place to stay with lots of room. The heated bathroom floors were a plus! Very close to the lifts which was a huge bonus.

Room Tip: Mountain view is nice but loud. 603 has a balcony but it also has a weird smell! 601 was great but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rain2643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummoyne, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The Sundial is perfectly located as it is just next to the gondolas to both Whistler and Blackcomb mountains
The hotel has great facilities, including a service where they both take and deliver the skis and poles to and from you in the foyer every morning and evening

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoBunnyNH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This location is central to Whistler Village. Beautiful suites overlooking the village with views of the mountain. The staff was extremely helpful, and even left us a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolates for our anniversary trip! Rooms were cozy and clean, and the beds were comfortable. If we were to travel to Whistler again, we would revisit this hotel!

Room Tip: I suggest calling the hotel well in advance to get a good room at a better price than their website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoBunnyNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#13 of 49 in Whistler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Property: Sundial Boutique Hotel
Address: 4340 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#9 Family Hotel in Whistler
#11 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. Outdoor heated pool access is provided in the summer months (June - September) and the rooftop hot tub is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing