We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a skiing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at the Sundial for a week in April for a skiing holiday. We very much enjoyed our stay. Its in a great location 2 minutes from the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. Right in the center of Whistler village which makes going out to eat easy. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a living room and kitchen. The room looked as good as the photos on the hotel's website and had a full kitchen which made cooking the one night we stayed in easy. The staff were super friendly and helpful. This would definitely be a top pick if we were going back to Whistler again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We were two couples who stayed in Sundial boutique hotel last week for 10 comsecutive nights. Our room was called: Two Bedroom Mountain View Suite, if you check on http://www.whistler.com/sundial/.

My partner and I stayed in the master bedroom, our friends stayed in the other bedroom.

Good things:
- Fabulous view from the living room. On one of the weekends, there was a quite big show of snowboard/ski jumping over ring of fire, which attracted loads of people. We got the exclusive view from our apartment, so we didn't need to go out and stand in the cold weather with the other audiences. We could hear the commentator clear enough.
- Best location: any taxi or rental car/driver can drop you off at its lobby, so we didn't need to drag our 7 bags (5 suitcases and 2 snowboard bags) along Whistler village to go to/from the hotel. We saw some people did drag theirs if they stayed in one of the hotels in the middle of Whistler village.
- Spacious apartment, as expected.
- Fire place was modern and clean, as the fire was lit by a switch on the wall. It worked properly during the whole 10 nights.
- Kitchen was complete. On one of the nights, we even cooked curry from scratch and we needed a blender/a food processor, and the hotel could provide the blender for us! Awesome!
- Loads of towels provided by the housekeeping.

Bad things:
- Lack of hanger, hook and rail on which we could use them as cloth hanger or cloths horse. Seriously, our friends used the dining chairs as their clothes horse and we used the "boasted" oversized deep soaker jetted bathtub in the master bedroom, as our clothes horse!! In addition, we moved the two portable suitcase holder/racks provided by the hotel, next to the fire place for our additional clothes horse,especially for the wet clothes.
- We got our room wasn't cleaned/tidied on one of the days. When we asked after 4 Pm, housekeeping had stopped working, and the receptionist guessed that we put the "do not disturb sign" the whole day. We definitely did put the "please clean the room" sign. I, myself, even went to apartment that day, in between my snowboarding time, to get cash in the apartment around 1 Pm, and I saw the "please clean the room" sign and the apartment wasn't clean/tidy. Receptionist handled it pretty well though, they provided us with loads of towels at around 8 Pm and offered to took our rubbish out. Receptionist suggested to tell them to clean the room whenever we were going out for snowboarding in the morning. Something similar almost happened on the week after (it seemed that this bad habit happened in the weekends only). Luckily my partner managed to ask the receptionist to clean the room around 3 Pm (just before 4 Pm!! :) )

The rest.. I couldn't complain about this hotel. It was one of the cozy and yet fabulous hotels in Whistler. I recommended this place!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Astri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Sundial hotel is not really a boutique hotel, to me it's a reasonably good 3 star hotel in a great location (if you like being near the lifts, Longhorns, Blacks and the Dublin gate bars). In other words if you like easy access to the mountains (Whistler & Blackcomb) and a healthy dose of après ski this is the place for you! I think that covers most of the positives but the most positive is the lovely staff at the hotel, mainly youngsters, well trained, thoughtful and very nice. Now the reality check, it is expensive it declares itself a boutique hotel but the rooms and facilities don't reflect this. There is no hotel owned bar ( the restaurants and bars downstairs are owned by other people - so you do get the opportunity to enjoy the band in Blacks at all times of the night - even if you don't want to!). There is no pool, there's a coin operated laundromat if you want to wash clothes - no laundry service, no room service - no mini bar :-(). So it doesn't really have a lot of facilities, the rooms do have some nice views but you also get the privilege of the snow cats ( along with the pumping apres ski keeping you awake around midnight then through the night - take ear plugs, you'll need them). So to summarise the hotel is probably great for people that ski all day, who are not really into spa hotels (some hot tubs with rooms, a hot tub on the roof with a good view of the nice pool and spa in the hotel next door!!). Folks who go straight for the après ski and arrive home late, go to bed (suitably refreshed - still in your ski gear and boots and collapse on bed around midnight). Then get up in the morning - pick your skis up from the ski concierge ( locker room back of reception - because there is no where else for it ) and head right out and ride that horse over the beautiful mountains and tie up at longhorns again for some more après and start it all again! You have been warned - great for 20 something or young at heart cowboys and gals, not great for ski, a little après ski then chill out and relax with spa and real boutique hotel qualities.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank norr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Owner at Sundial Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear norr26,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at the Sundial Boutique Hotel.

I was pleased to read that your interaction with our staff was positive and that the convenient slope slide location was to your satisfaction.

The Sundial is the only owner operated hotel in Whistler, which prides itself on a high level of personalised customer service to our guests. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi, complimentary local calls and complimentary ski and bike valet storage service, accompanied by a 24/7 guest service team. We enjoy being positioned as a boutique hotel with our European style atmosphere, including 49 spacious one and two bedrooms suites plus full kitchens.

The central location of the Sundial provides an array of unique and exceptional dining options for guests to choose from within a very short distance. There is access to 3 restaurants on the 2nd floor of the hotel, with distinct offerings in Mexican, Japanese and Canadian cuisine. A grocery delivery service is also available, upon request.

The Sundial is located at the base of both Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains. At times, in a central location such as the Sundial, noise may be expected from early morning grooming or as guests are strolling through the village.

Your feedback is valuable as it does assist myself and the Sundial team in striving for the best guest experience possible. If at any stage you would like to personally discuss any of this feedback or any other points, I would very much like to hear from you.

Sincerely,

David Demers
Owner and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were here for an eight-night stay in March 2014. The front desk fulfilled my room request and the guys working there were very nice and made us feel very welcoming each and every day of our stay. The room was huge with a whole kitchen (very useful for pyjama-breakfast in the morning). The only complaint was the mattress of the enormous king bed which was too soft for us - but surely that depends on your personal taste. The Hotel is directly benath the gondolas which was very convenient and is also just steps away from good restaurants and nightlife in whistler. If we come back the long way from Germany to Whistler, the Sundial is of course our first choice although the price is not a bargain.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCC1701DATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My favourite Hotel in Whistler, Awesome location seconds from the Gondola and of course Longhorns, comfy beds, private hot tubs heated floors and great service. Always a great experience. David M. Vancouver BC

Room Tip: Private Hot tub suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our first trip to Whistler. The Sundial is perfectly located. Gondolas for both Whistler and Blackcomb are feet away and it's also central to where "everything" is happening, whether a skier or none skier. The staff are extremely accommodating, the amenities, view and conveniences superb, the living is very comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was not luxurious, but the great experience is in the view, location and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

All I can say is Perfect. Our week in Whistler was just wonderful. The Hotel is so central and once you boot your boots on you are a 2 min walk from all the ski lifts and the gondola. The Hotel has a ski valet so there is no stress. We stayed in a Mountain view 2 bedroom and it was just incredible. If you weren't on the slopes you were watching out the window at all the snowboarders and skiers coming down the mountain. The fireplace in the room was great on those really freezing days and the beds were heaven, had the best sleep after a day on the snow. The apartment was very spacious too.Blacks pub in the Hotel was great, amazing food and all the spots for Apres was literally 1 min walk. Whistler is the most amazing place and I can not wait to come back to this place. I will most defnitely stay at Sundial again, it is a great Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a Mountain View, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindselt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.3 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#12 of 49 in Whistler
1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Chateau Whistler Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Address: 4340 Sundial Pl, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#9 Family Hotel in Whistler
#11 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range: £80 - £862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. Outdoor heated pool access is provided in the summer months (June - September) and the rooftop hot tub is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing