We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of FUN!”

Whistler Sliding Centre
Ranked #3 of 102 things to do in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The non-profit Whistler Sliding Centre is home to the fastest ice track in the world. Since hosting the bobsleigh, skeleton and luge competitions of the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, the venue continues to grow sport as an active training and competition site. Visitors can experience the action first-hand with passenger bobsleigh (winter and summer) and skeleton rides (winter only) down parts of the 1,450 meter-long ice track. All proceeds from public programs go directly towards sport, and make training affordable for the athletes. Public Bobsleigh and Skeleton programs on ice will resume December 16, 2017 until April 1, 2018. Summer Bobsleigh on wheels will run again from late June until September 2018. Year-round, visitors can access the Whistler Sliding Centre's public areas for Sightseeing daily from 9am until 5pm (except public holidays). Don't miss the free interpretive walk and learn about the venue and the sports! Site access is not permitted outside these hours.
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We did the summer bobsled ride. The employees were absolutely wonderful. They did a great job explaining safety procedures, the history of the track, etc. Our driver "Snowy" was so wonderful about answering questions about the sport in general. You could feel his positive energy and passion the whole time. The whole ride took us 54 seconds. They told us we were welcome to stay as long as we wished to watch others and they gave us a photo at the end without charge. You do have the ability to purchase a video (download or hard copy) of the experience which we did. If you think you might want to do that, put your money or credit card in a zipper pocket with you. It is a short walk back to your car from where you finish so it just makes things easier on yourself. We are supposed to have it emailed to us within 24 hours. Overall, it was a great experience. I would love to go back and do it on ice now!

2  Thank mommytoje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bobsleigh experience"
in 29 reviews
"g forces"
in 22 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 33 reviews
"olympic track"
in 18 reviews
"bobsled ride"
in 13 reviews
"rolling thunder"
in 12 reviews
"non profit"
in 11 reviews
"professional driver"
in 9 reviews
"km hr"
in 14 reviews
"athletes training"
in 7 reviews
"money goes"
in 6 reviews
"bob sleigh"
in 6 reviews
"roller coaster"
in 12 reviews
"bucket list"
in 23 reviews
"olympic athletes"
in 7 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 13 reviews
"actual ride"
in 6 reviews
Filter

350 - 354 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We bobsledge the Whistler Olympic Track and it was great, although I'm sure it's better in the winter on ice. The people are great at explaining everything, safety, history, what to expect and background on the track (all very interesting). We got picture certificates at the end of our ride, which was a nice touch.

The actual ride goes by REALLY fast (less than a minute), our group finished in 54 secs and we hit 80 mph. You're snugged in the bobsled and you don't see much, but you feel the bumps and curves. For me is was more of a fast roller coaster ride, but with a chance of going up the side of the track on the turns. Our driver was Adam "Snowy" and he was the best.

We'll definitely try it again, but in winter so we can experience it on ice and closer to the real sport.

2  Thank 2marcopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing tim at the WSC. We went there on the 4th of july weekend to go bob sleighing. Its a mere 5-10 minutes from the village. The staff was really nice. They told us what time to show up (start s ay 1).
Matt was our driver, who spent about 15 minutes with us for orientation....going thru facts about BS and giving Its safety rules. After that he fitted us for helmets and then a van tool us to the peak of the BS track.
Matt sat in the back, while the 3 of us sat in front. The whole.thing.took less than a minute, but was alot of fun. We reached around 88kmh coming down amd out heads were rocking from the left to the right with the sudden turns on the trak.
After we finished, I was a little dazed (lasted about 30 minutes). We then had a free photo opp which was really nice - every participant got a free photo.
They then show you a teaser video so you can buy it for about $30. We had an amazing time. Lots of fun...just like cool runnings.

1  Thank cyberoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went to the opening day of Rolling Thunder - bobsleigh on wheels for the summer! It was fantastic!

The staff were friendly and professional, taking you through the safety aspects first and fitting you with a helmet before driving you up to the start of the track. There were only two of us plus our driver, Matt, but the bobsleighs can take up to four people plus the driver. Another member of staff, Snowy, entertained us at the start while they were 'clearing' the track - checking it for any debris. Then the tannoy announcement came and we were off! The driver sits at the back unlike with the ice bobsleigh so you can get a front row seat with others then in behind. You start off quite slow as you just get a gentle push but after a couple of corners you soon pick up speed and are thundering down the track. At the end, you hear the tannoy again with your fastest speed and time - apparently our top speed was 83.6km/h which felt pretty fast! Finally you get a souvenir photo and can chill out in the tent afterwards. Spectators are welcome to watch and then join you at the end.

All in all, we had a great experience and I would recommend it for summer thrill seekers. We managed to find a Groupon as well so keep an eye out just in case.

3  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Don't know the sliding centre is open to public and they have public bobsleigh and skeleton that you can try and it's fun to try for >100 km/hr run. They have told me they might have bobsleigh on wheel for this summer. Looking forward to try that in summer.

Thank dva7pbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistler Sliding Centre also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Sliding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing