We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness
Ranked #7 of 10 Whistler B&B and Inns
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb luxury”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Fantatsic boutique style accomodation. A bit special and out of the ordinary. Lisa was very welcoming and extremely helpful. We didn't mind the no shoes policy - in fact we kept clean sandals for indoors in the shoe cupboard they provide by the front door. No different from home so don't know what others are fussing about. Lisa also encouraged us to drink in our rooms even though the policy said otherwise. We felt right at home and breakfast was lovely. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for something a bit more upmarket.

Room Tip: Book HEMLOCK this is the best room it has a whirlpool bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebrookeKatenChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    18
    10
    7
    13
See reviews for
10
92
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My boyfriend and I bought a Living Social deal and we were very surprised by how AWESOME our stay was! It was our first time buying an Escape deal and we were a little concerned after reading some of the reviews. Needless to say, I would IGNORE all of the terrible reviews about this place.
We arrived promptly at 4 PM and Sophie greeted us. I have never stayed at a place with such a knowledgeable staff member about the area, places to eat, and the best runs to ski down. She gave us a tour of the facility and we enjoyed a cup of tea/coffee, while we unpacked. We stayed in the Fir room and it was lovely. We could not have asked for a nicer room.
We were interested in taking a hot tub, so Sophie put out glasses for wine, bathrobes, and towels outside of our room door. We felt very spoiled during our stay, since we really didn't have to do anything ourselves. The staff took care of everything.
My boyfriend and I are not big breakfast eaters, so we really enjoyed the daily breakfast. This place had the BEST homemade orange juice! We enjoyed lots of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, etc. It was perfect for a long day of skiing.
I thought that the location was just fine. It was a 2 minute drive to the Village and there was free parking. If the weather had been nicer, we would have just walked. It is only about a 20-25 minute walk to the main Village. We enjoyed skiing all day and hanging out at night in the Village and then stepping away from the busy scene for a more quiet and relaxing night.
Overall, we had the best stay at this place. We would definitely go back and I would recommend this place to anyone. I would love to see the area in the summer time, so perhaps it will only be a few months before we are back. THANK YOU, Sophie and Leah!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The owner needs to make sure his policies are clearly visible on the website so people know what their getting into.

When we went, we were surprised by the 'no staff before 4pm', the condescending tone of the note at the front 'We are sorry we aren't here for your unexpected early check in' and of course the 'No food or drinks in the room' policy.

If those 3 items were resolved it would have rated 4-5 stars.

The owner needs to do the following to merit good reviews:
1) Post the arrival time ON the Website. State that there is no staff available for check in until 4pm.

2) Post or remove the rule about no food or drinks in the rooms.

3) Post the information that it is a shoeless facility, I would have brought my own slippers with me.

4) Remove the sign from the window and replace it with something that indicates the hours of service.

5) Stop posting rebuttals on this website. Just acknowledge that perhaps his services aren't what the customer was looking for and apologize for not having the information available to make an informed decision. The common statement is: "I guess only European visitors can appreciate our services" is disingenuous, this facility is in North America, you can cater to whatever target market you want... But you're clientele needs to be treated with respect at all times regardless of their origin.

For ourselves, I have no compunction to obey rules that were not agreed on beforehand so I did not let the rules prevent me from having a good experience.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the rules and restrictions, if your comfortable with that I think all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank luck_vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We came here with a groupon. It's very nice accommodations without being ostentatious. The bed was really great- and we definitely enjoyed the amenities of the Hemlock room, including the Jacuzzi, free healthy breakfast, and a nice gas fireplace. Bonnie did a great job teaching yoga classes in the morning too. The other guests were very nice and it was overall very relaxing place to stay.

It doesn't feel like a hotel so much as a room in someone's house. You park in front and get your own keys for the front and for your room. There is a concierge there from 3:30-9 to help you get dinner reservations. Sophie was very helpful and accommodating when we were slow to leave Vancouver and unsure whether we would make it there before she left.

I would give it 4.5 stars in terms of value. As a graduate student I don't know that I could pay full price.

There was certainly not an 8 pm curfew as another reviewer suggests. We also had a minor issue with our Groupon booking but they did compensate us with some champagne and by being very flexible with our arrival time. One minus was that there is kind of creepy new age music always playing in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I recently stayed at Whistler Alpine and enjoyed a calm and restful retreat. I went with my husband for a quick get-a-away from the city.
The hosts were gracious and welcoming and provided great tips on places to eat and things to do. I found my room very cozy and enjoyed the amenities, including the hot tub and steam room. We enjoyed sitting by the fire place and chatting with other guests after a full day of skiing.
All in all, it was a wonderful stay. I highly recommend it to others and will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The trip starts with you parking your car and then standing in the snow for 10 minutes, knocking at the front gates hoping that someone might let u in out of the cold.

After ten minutes of standing in hypothermic temperatures, the warden arrives at the front door and summons you inside. The mental torture startes as you are forced to remove your shoes, leaving you to either go barefoot, or wear the dirty white used slippers provided in the cupboard.

The warden then begins your tour by slamming the door locked behind you, and advising that your new curfew is 8pm. That's when the door locks, and if you miss it then you can enjoy your night sleeping outside.

You are then shown around and treated like a 6 year old child at your I grandparents, being shown fancy things that you aren't allowed to touch. The oversized yoga studio becomes much more wasteful later, when you realize how small your cell really is.

Once shown to your room, you are told that no food or drinks are permitted inside this oddly white corner of the prison. You are allowed to eat, yes, but only at the table, and only when the warden is feeling gracious enough to provide you with an undercooked meal of imitation seafood.

They tempt you with dreams of a private outdoor jacuzzi and a warm fire place, but yet again the excitement you feel is only momentary. The jacuzzi was made and installed in 1982, which was the last time that it was cleaned and serviced. It feels of overuse and has the aura of parties in the late 80's that went too late, and had one too many people involved. The fireplace is a nice touch, unfortunately having a quiet seat in front of it also means sharing a couch with other cellmates and fighting over the one clean glass left.

After curfew passes and you prepare for bed, you slowly realize that your 'queen size bed' is actually two single beds pushed together. The give away being the single piece of foam used in an attempt hide the gaping hole that separates the two mattresses.

Fortunately for everyone there are volume limits on the television, this assists in causing people so much frustration attempting to hear the tv, that no one minds going to bed while it is still light outside.

The morning meal requires a reservation, strange as there are only 8 people staying the hotel, and 4 tables are in the 'restaurant'. Breakfast is slow and plain. An attempt is made to spice things up with health and nutrition, but as you walk away you can't help but feel empty and somewhat cheated.

As the late morning comes to pass, you begin to feel hope, knowing that his sentence that could only have been handed down by a judge is almost over.

You return to checkout and are pleasantly surprised to find your shoes still sitting on the floor, somewhat shocked thinking you spent a night in jail and no one had stolen your things.

You pull out of the undersized and overcrowded parking lot staring at this odd house in your rear view mirror with a single thought... Whatever I did to deserve that, I'll never do it again.

The sad moment arrived when you return home and realize that you have paid for this unwanted experience. It's then you realize that it is them who belong in prison, not you

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineChalet, General Manager at Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Providing balanced reality. When a discount , price point only driven traveller further indicates a stay was 'expensive', this is the first clue. As well, when check-in is at 4pm and we accomodate people arriving at 1am the next morning, when staff hours end at 9:30pm the previous evening, the stay begins with our gladly going out of our way to assist and orient a guest with plastic wrapped new slippers, a quick tour so they know where things are, and ease them into what most appreciate as a place for peace, serenity, and tranquility. Often, with discount seekers, Hotels/Chalets often must accomodate the 'wrong customer' profile, that typically, are not a good fit for the niche product that they have no appreciation for. Our lovely guest relations manager is always cordial and pleasant. Hotels/Chalet have a no food in the room policy, especially if they have very expensive high thread count Frette linens that, once soiled, will cost the guest high incidental charges, so we are looking out for you and potential mishaps. There is a lovely lounge and dining area which most people appreciate and understand. This is a custom built european chalet built post 2002, very modern and built to commercial grade within a chalet construct. We have oversized queen beds and california king beds (larger than regular king) and accomodate requests for different configuration when needed, just as many other Hotels/Chalets.If you are looking for things to complain about once you arrive, you likely will always find them, at any place. People that leave their ego's and issues at the door, find that they allow themselves to unwind, and appreciate their surroundings, nature, and serenity. Those that choose not to, leave the same way they came.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Hi;
We received a stay at the Alpine Chalet as a gift via Groupon. We made a reservation (and received the confirmation #) and then booked our flights and made other travel arrangements. A few weeks after making the reservation, Whistler Alpine called saying they need to cancel the reservation as they received a booking for the entire chalet during this time. When I told them that all our other travel arrangements were made and asked for a refund, the nice clerk said she would need to check with on owner. At this point, I contacted Groupon who gave us a full refund and apologized. The next day Whistler Alpine contacted me and said they could now honour the reservation!!

Based upon this experience I would not recommend anyone buy a Groupon as you mayl be treated as the "poor cousin." The felt that the Owner does not understand that when someone has a confirmed reservation that just deciding to cancel it for a better booking is very unprofessional and unsettling. Be careful with this offer!! There's tons of other great accomodation in Whistler.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Michele12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.9 mi away
Aava Whistler Hotel
Aava Whistler Hotel
#14 of 49 in Whistler
1,662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 49 in Whistler
1,766 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#8 of 49 in Whistler
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Summit Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
Pinnacle Hotel Whistler
#13 of 49 in Whistler
1,280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness

Property: Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness
Address: 3012 Alpine Cres, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Whistler, British Columbia, Canada. Welcoming International/Local guests who prefer Exclusivity, Luxury, and Privacy. Superbly located 5 minute drive to Whistler Village, and 100 yards to renowned Alta Lake. We offer Whistler's true four seasons capabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat & Wellness Hotel Whistler
Whistler Alpine Chalet Retreat And Wellness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing